English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Green Amiga Alien GUIDES

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 October 2020, 06:26   #1481
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 715
And posting from my Virtualbox Amithlon system I just built new after getting my older ones working again. Working on the installation guides and putting things in a clearer order as well as making some updates/corrections....having a virtual setup makes it easy to walk through what I'm writing.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 06:29   #1482
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 715
And for grins.....grabbing a screen shot of me just posting...

Click image for larger version

Name:	Amithlon2020.png
Views:	58
Size:	185.2 KB
ID:	69410
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 15:09   #1483
mikk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Italy
Posts: 8
I'm glad you made it work again! I didn't know there was a 6.0.24, I installed it now and it works for me. I never used the hypervisor because my CPU doesn't support VT-x.


Incidentally, has anyone found the (in)famous OpenPCI Radeon driver? I know it is a controversial piece of software, but it would be a breath of fresh air for my lousy Radeon 7000 AGP card.
mikk is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 22:13   #1484
amigamia
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Chesapeake USA
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikk View Post
Did you update VirtualBox to 6.1? I've recently updated Windows 10 x64 to 2004 but kept version 6.0.22 of VBox and my Amithlon VM still works.



Also, it is possible to install AmigaOS XL (the QNX-based solution) inside VMware, though it isn't as fast and funcional as Amithlon.

Here are some screenshots. Video is very limited so I am stuck with VESA modes. There is only Cirrus and VMWare SVGA, the rest I have never heard of.


Sound and Network however, seem to be supported types but I have been struggling with the drivers.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2020-10-21_14-47-56.png
Views:	44
Size:	71.8 KB
ID:	69424   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2020-10-21_14-48-52.png
Views:	37
Size:	83.5 KB
ID:	69425   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2020-10-21_14-49-39.png
Views:	35
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	69426   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2020-10-21_14-50-18.png
Views:	34
Size:	14.5 KB
ID:	69427   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2020-10-21_14-50-47.png
Views:	35
Size:	13.2 KB
ID:	69428  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2020-10-21_14-51-49.png
Views:	43
Size:	426.6 KB
ID:	69429  
amigamia is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 23:26   #1485
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,506
Any all in one patchers out there that can update my original Amithlon install to a working VM version? I don't mind if it checks for my original CD, thanks cool with me.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 23:50   #1486
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 715
It's not so much needing a new or patched system it's adding a command line option to the unit file 'amithlon' that launches Amithlon. You need to add nosleep at the end of the string as Virtual box doesn't return an interrupt to the process and prevents Amithlon from booting. Adding that ignores waiting for that return and allows Amithlon to continue.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 26 October 2020, 22:36   #1487
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 68
I am testing the amithlon-cd:

FSC-C5 D1025 MATROX-MYSTIQE P233MMX => Emulation hangs, does not start. https://www.eastcomp.de/fsc/d1025.html https://www.flickr.com/photos/948392...57712522940812
FSC-C6 D1026 MATROX-MGA100 CEL433 => System has graphical glitches https://www.eastcomp.de/fsc/d1026.html
FSC-M6 D0981 V3-3000 P2-233 => System starts with 640x480x8Bit (seems to be OK) https://www.eastcomp.de/fsc/d981.html

Any chance to get it to boot with mystique or mga100? I also have a MiniPC with Voodoo5 AGP.
It should have the same 2D Core than the Voodoo3 but I get no picture at all while booting the amithlon CD.

My R7000 is dead, I have to get a new one and I will test this mini pc: https://www.flickr.com/photos/948392...57704435152934
Hopefully the R7000 does work with amithlon.

Doc

Last edited by dr.zeissler; 26 October 2020 at 22:46.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 06:10   #1488
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 715
The overall best cards for Amithlon are the nVidia geforce cards. They have the most hardware supported functions of all brands. The Voodoo have the least and aren't recommended at all. The kernel on the CD, typically newemubox.gz is limited in what it supports, with kernel 3.10 and kernel4 adding more brands and models to the supported list.

For your Matrox cards, are you using the default kernel on the Amithlon CD? You'll most likely need to either build a new CD with kernel 3 or 4 or use the steps in my guides to copy the files to your boot volume and launch Amithlon from there instead of the CD and it's older files. This would also allow you to modify the init string and try different resolutions for the VESA boot in case your monitor doesn't fully support all the VESA modes. I tend to use vga=773 for a 1024x768 mode to use while installing and configuring Amithlon before I have the patches installed for selectable video resolutions.

I would try a different vga=xxx choice and try removing video=dovesa

You can also see a breakdown of what hardware acceleration features are enabled for each of the card manufacturers on my blog.

https://amithlonblog.snkbitten.com/c...-for-amithlon/

As for supported cards, a lot of cards have been listed as supported (but never tested) by the kernel developers, I have not found a PCIe nVidia card that works even though they are listed and use the same chipsets as the PCI variants.

I also believe that most of the Matrox support was introduced in Kernel 4 so you would want to start with kernel 4 for your initial boot.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 14:20   #1489
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 68
Thank you, so it's not as easy as I thought. I already used different kernels, but I am note sure if have have understood how it works (boots and what is needed)


- It never works out of MSDOS with "loadlin ...."
- Some machines do not like Freedos 1.0 or 1.2 either "opcode failure... (booting the Amithlon-CD works up to a certain point)
- I have made some batches because loadlin @textfile which starts with the kernel does not work too. making a batchfile does work.

"mga_kern.bat" => loadlin mga_kern ......." https://aminet.net/package/misc/os/newkernel => I renamed it to "mga_kern"
"ati_kern.bat" => loadlin ati_kern ...." https://aminet.net/package/misc/os/newkernel2 =>I renamed it to "ati_kern" (is it a working kernel? I don't think so)
"310_kern.bat" on the CD
"204_kern.bat" on the CD (nforce stuff)
"400_kern.bat" on the CD

It mostly make no difference at all which kernel I load. Am I correct, that not all required drivers are "in" the kernel?
Which leads to: I have to find a kernel for a specific configuration like a notebook? or I do have to build my own kernel for my specific machine?

Kernel4 does not work at at, it never boots on any of my (retro)machines. The readme teels me that it requires patches etc... but then this means I have to get a working basic-system with the "basic-kernel" and after that I have to install install patches and change the kernel afterwards. In german we call that "henne ei problem".

Thx
Doc

Last edited by dr.zeissler; 27 October 2020 at 14:27.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 15:21   #1490
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 715
Make sure you are using loadlin @NameOfInitFile, ie. Loadlin @amithlon or Loadlin @small

Also make sure nothing is set in config.sys or Autoexec.bat, you want no DOS environment configured, just the boot to the command line. You'll want those when copying files from the CD, but when you are ready to launch Amithlon you do not want those set. My autoexec.bat contains @echo off and my config.sys is an empty file.

Both of the kernels referenced from Aminet are old, I would use only kern3.10 or kernel4.

Kernel4 can be used to launch Amithlon fresh, there are some edits you have to make.

If you have the dos boot HD and access to the CDROM, copy the ISOLINUX folder to your DOS C: drive. Burn a CD or other method to also copy kernel4 to the ISOLINUX folder on your c: drive.

edit the amithlon small file so it looks like the below:

kernel4 init=/linuxrc console_level=0 root=/dev/ram1 mem=512M initrd=bigird.gz vga=773 ramdisk_size=12010 leavepages=7400

make note that root=/dev/ram0 was changed to root=/dev/ram1 for kernel 4 as well, this is important.

This will allow you to launch Amithlon as how it launches from the CD but using kernel4 instead of emubox.gz (which my Amithlon CD uses).

Or however you can boot other than the CD, edit your files so it calls the kernel4 init string as edited above.

Let me know your results.

You can do the same, making sure kernel 3 is used if you want to try that one...with the below.

kern310 init=/linuxrc console_level=0 root=/dev/ram0 mem=512M initrd=bigird.gz vga=773 ramdisk_size=12010 leavepages=7400
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 28 October 2020, 21:36   #1491
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 68
Because I always have Multiboot-Systems I am able to copy files from CD and also from my NAS. I always have a FAT16 Partition with XFDISK and VC (VolkovCommander) available, So no problem to change the boot-device and edit files and folders.

Normally I use:

2000MB Primary FAT16 MSDOS/WIN3X
0100MB Primary FAT16 Freedos1.0
1900MB Secondary "76" Amiga Partition Map (not used/tested on any setup)
2000MB Secondary FAT16 SETUP/DATA (Drivers/Win3x/Win9x Setup-Files, HDD-Images) VC and XFDISK
6000MB Primary FAT32 Win9x/ME or something else

loadlin @textfile (textfile starts with the kernel and everything else) or start.bat "loadlin kernelxxx..." behaves exactly the same, so creating batchfiles is much more handy in my opinion.
I do not have anything installed in FreeDos (no fdconfig, no autexec...), mem=512 does lockup every of my machines, because I mostly have less than that installed. So using this feature leads to a blackscreen.

Kernel4 does not work on my machines, even when changing to "root=/dev/ram1", on the P1-MMX Kernel 310 and 400 resolve in an instant reboot when starting amithlon via batch.

Changing from VGA 769 to 773 does not change anything.

I am stuck and tested the next machines. It seems that my Tualatin 1400 with PCI R9250/256MB does boot in Amithlon.

I do not use Nvidia Cards because as a retro-fan I hate a blurry image-quality and Matrox, IntelIGP and ATI are FAR more superior than Nvidia.

But I do have FX5200 PCI somewhere so I can switch to that if there is no other way...but I also have to lookout for audio and lan. Both things are essential for me. I have to checkout which sound- and lan-chipsets will work. I mostly use thin-clinets/Desktops, They mostly have intel pro100 onboard lan solutions and chrystal audio-codecs or soundman-codecs.

Thank you for any help.

Thx!
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 28 October 2020, 22:11   #1492
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 715
I would start testing with kernel 3.10 then and remove the mem=512M line if you have less. This is typically used to reduce the amount of memory for Amithlon from the total physical system memory, though physically there can only be a maximum of 1 GB installed on the motherboard. Depending on installed ram you could also adjust the line to match, ie mem=128M or mem=64M etc..

When you said changing VGA=769 to VGA=773 does nothing, is this just stating that you still have issues with this change or that you don't even see a change in the initial Amithlon boot "ball" screen from a 640x480 to 1024x768 screen change?

I'm out of ideas myself. I started investigating Amithlon and then finding the best hardware for it vs. trying to get it to work on specific hardware I was already using.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 29 October 2020, 14:36   #1493
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 68
On some machines/configurations I see the bouncing ball.
I'll make a listing how amithlon behaves on the tested machines.

Thx!
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old Yesterday, 21:09   #1494
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 68
http://amithlon.snkbitten.com/files/...edHardware.pdf

Thank You for this list!
dr.zeissler is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My first guide - Drakkhen leveling guide Fragger Nostalgia & memories 2 08 April 2010 22:35
Amithlon / AHI Sound Configuration Guide? dframeli New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 11 September 2009 23:51
Amithlon-Guide / PDF-version Paul News 0 10 March 2006 16:43
Amithlon Peter Leyland Amiga scene 1 11 February 2003 03:43
Amithlon eldiablo10 support.WinUAE 6 20 September 2001 20:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.20267 seconds with 15 queries