English Amiga Board   Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > EAB's competition

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2008, 12:53   #1
john4p
Registered User
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,776
Alien Breed Problem

I just watched a vid of Alien Breed and Alien Breed II on Youtube. The games don't seem to have a scoring system and thus aren't suited for competition, are they?

If no, I suggest a poll where we can choose between X/Z-Out, Lotus and Pinball (place counts shouldn't be considered because if Alien Breed is invalid people would have voted very differently!).
john4p is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 June 2008, 12:57   #2
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 28
Posts: 10,137
I'm pretty sure they do have scores - you just don't see them until it's game over. There is a high score table if I remember rightly. I'll check properly later...
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 22 June 2008, 14:09   #3
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,831
Hi john,

it's like Graham said : You don't see the score while you play, but the score is counted and displayed on the game over screen. You can also view the highscores from the main menu. Here is a screenshot with the highscore table :

TCD is online now  
Old 22 June 2008, 14:30   #4
john4p
Registered User
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,776
Ah, okay - thanks!
john4p is offline  
Old 22 June 2008, 14:35   #5
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 28
Posts: 10,137
Actually you can see the score during the game too - but only if you log on to the terminals and choose 'Statistics'.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 22 June 2008, 14:40   #6
john4p
Registered User
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,776
But with its infinitely respawning enemies do you think this game is really suited for competition? I mean I can imagine there will be a very thin line between playing correctly and score leeching...
john4p is offline  
Old 22 June 2008, 14:47   #7
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 28
Posts: 10,137
You do have limited ammo however (obviously you can collect more, and buy more too as long as you have enough credits) so you can't really do that unless you fancy running out of ammo really quickly

Otherwise it would have been a problem.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 22 June 2008, 14:48   #8
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,831
Thanks for the info Graham. It's been some time since I played Alien Breed for the last time. The computer terminals are a cool feature in Alien Breed and the Pong game is just hilarious
TCD is online now  
Old 22 June 2008, 16:08   #9
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 35
Posts: 2,129
Which Alien Breeds are we going to play? AB, ABSE'92, AB2 or ABTA?
mailman is offline  
Old 22 June 2008, 16:18   #10
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 28
Posts: 10,137
I think you need to have a look in the voting thread my friend

Although when it comes to Alien Breed 2, I think the ECS and AGA versions are actually a bit different to each other. I had a look on AMR and it appears that the AGA version has more enemies on screen compared to the ECS version and therefore is more difficult. I've just briefly been playing both versions myself and maybe it's just my imagination but the AGA version is a lot harder - there's definitely more going on...
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 22 June 2008, 17:09   #11
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 35
Posts: 2,129
OK, got it Sorry for bothering...
mailman is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 06:16   #12
TodaysForgotten
Registered User
TodaysForgotten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Jersey USA
Age: 33
Posts: 392
Unfortunately, for those who do not score 10,000 or more - will not have a score to submit.
TodaysForgotten is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 09:17   #13
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
I think you need to have a look in the voting thread my friend

Although when it comes to Alien Breed 2, I think the ECS and AGA versions are actually a bit different to each other. I had a look on AMR and it appears that the AGA version has more enemies on screen compared to the ECS version and therefore is more difficult. I've just briefly been playing both versions myself and maybe it's just my imagination but the AGA version is a lot harder - there's definitely more going on...
If this is the case, what shall we do ?.. stick to only the ECS version of AB2 or do we all have access to AGA machines and AGA through emulation??

Just for sake of it though, AB2 is easier than part 1. I could NEVER finish part one, but found myself finishing part 2 back in 93 because it really was far more playable, and that was the AGA version. Actually i haven't played any Alien Breed game ( apart from AB3D ) since 93, so this certainly will be a bit difficult.

How are we going to work this?
blade002 is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 09:35   #14
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,831
Hi blade,

this is what Graham have written in the thread for Alien Breed 2 :

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
- Use the ECS version only.

So we have to use the ECS version, but I think it's not much of a difference. I don't know, but is it a problem to play the ECS version on a AGA machine?
TCD is online now  
Old 29 June 2008, 09:44   #15
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post

So we have to use the ECS version, but I think it's not much of a difference. I don't know, but is it a problem to play the ECS version on a AGA machine?
Narr, the ECS version of AB2 should work fine, but i just have one problem!... i don't have the ECS version on my machine and my CD Rom software on my A1200 is all up the shit because my Workbench install is also all up the shit ( has been for a long time ) and i don't really have time to fix it up.

And the only way i can transfer files as big as ADF's or WHDLoad games to my HD are through a CD .. ..

looks like i will need to spend some time getting it all going properly again...
blade002 is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 09:56   #16
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 35
Posts: 2,129
How about using disks and CrossDOS to read them? I do it sometimes. If files are big you need to split and join them but it is not impossible.
mailman is offline  
Old 29 June 2008, 09:57   #17
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,831
Looks like you are a bit out of luck recently blade
I really hope you can solve this problem and that it's not to stressful. Until then you can at least play Alien Breed right?
Good luck mate!
TCD is online now  
Old 29 June 2008, 12:54   #18
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 28
Posts: 10,137
It is a small difference between the two versions but obviously it can be a significant one, given the nature of the competition - we couldn't really play both as it's won't exactly be a level playing field. I can't imagine there being too many situations like this but it's not as if you don't get a chance to vote for the AGA version...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
If a game comes in ECS and AGA versions, please state if you want to play the AGA version or not in your vote. If you don't specify we will assume you want the ECS version. If that game wins the vote we will count up the number of ECS and AGA votes and go for the version with most votes - unless the two versions of the games are exactly the same gameplay-wise, then we will use both.
Anyway Blade, hope you get your problems sorted out soon!
Graham Humphrey is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Alien Breed 1 spannernick support.Games 11 17 July 2013 20:14
Memory problem with Alien Breed 3D 2 (WHDLoad17+) lordofchaos support.WinUAE 2 20 September 2011 21:29
Working WinUAE config for Alien Breed and Alien Breed II takeobass support.WinUAE 2 22 July 2008 15:48
Alien Breed 2 : Problem under AmigaSYS 3 k2uphill support.Games 9 25 February 2007 19:02
Alien Breed SE92 Problem genogear support.Games 3 21 January 2004 19:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19094 seconds with 11 queries