English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 August 2015, 17:16   #41
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
Both old and new need 9V AC.
You are right, I am an idiot, I always forget the propping up to 12V is done inside the machine.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 August 2015, 17:32   #42
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
They get hot and slowly cook themselves. To make it worse some are filled with epoxy trapping the heat in even more. When they fail they usually send around 12v down the 5v rail and kill the C64. To make it even worse again, people tend to assume the C64 is broken and not think about the PSU, so they plug it into a another C64 and kill that one as well.

They are ticking time bombs.
Wow that doesn't sound good. How much would you expect to pay for a decent replacement?

The answer you give will probably determine whether it is worth doing or not.
Mounty is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 20:17   #43
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,366
Have a look at Ray Carlsens C64 Saver: http://personalpages.tds.net/~rcarlsen/cbm/c64/SAVER/
BarryB is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 21:00   #44
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Have a look at Ray Carlsens C64 Saver: http://personalpages.tds.net/~rcarlsen/cbm/c64/SAVER/
Thanks. That obviously confirms there is a common fault with these power supplies.

Hard to believe that Commodore would make such a bad job of them.
Mounty is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 21:06   #45
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 565
Please dont leave the AMIGA CD32 Community behind.
Nibbler is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 21:32   #46
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nibbler View Post
Please dont leave the AMIGA CD32 Community behind.
Don't tell me, the CD32 power supplies were badly designed as well!!
Mounty is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 22:18   #47
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mounty View Post
Don't tell me, the CD32 power supplies were badly designed as well!!
CD32 PSUs are basically 1581 PSUs, so same shit.
Akira is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 22:20   #48
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mounty View Post
Wow that doesn't sound good. How much would you expect to pay for a decent replacement?

The answer you give will probably determine whether it is worth doing or not.
That's hard to know exactly. For a high quality replacement I would play 20 to 25 I think.
john1979 is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 22:58   #49
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I agree with John for a C64 psu. For an Amiga one with a sensor to deliver 5v and to feed my power hungry Amiga I can't say how much, all depends 50€-80€-100€?)

I'm surely willing to pay more than others as I need this PSU to get perfectly powering my fully-fully loaded A1200 as I'm planning to sell it and I don't want to be trying the Pico-Psu way if possible, I want it simple if it can be.

Of course I could use one of my ATX Psu's shortening the cable and avoid resistance, but I don't like the idea.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 23:02   #50
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
That's hard to know exactly. For a high quality replacement I would play 20 to 25 I think.
I payed 30 + 25postage from UK to Sweden to get a replacement CD32 PSU.
Yesterday one CD32 PSU went on "Tradera" (Swedish ebay for about ~50)

Id's say, there's some demand for decent replacements for both c64 and various Amigas.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 23:18   #51
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,455
Thats correct. The ammount of good C64 / Amiga PSUs is decreasing and the demand is rising. A lot of people dedicate their effort to accelerators / accessories etc., but the basic thing is to get the computer a power. I think it is a good opportunity to you, Mounty and I am really interested at your work.
Predseda is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 23:19   #52
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 861
for cd32 i have buy a similar of this for 5€ and changed plug for 1€

http://www.ebay.it/itm/Cargador-Corr...item3cca64b9d7

Last edited by cpiac64; 12 August 2015 at 00:17. Reason: add link
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 12 August 2015, 00:13   #53
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,366
My CD32 PSU also powers my 1541-II disk drive
BarryB is offline  
Old 12 August 2015, 00:33   #54
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Well, let's be clear. You'll find demand for all of them. I also want/need a C64 one, but you better design/develope one at a time, so I think it's nice and good if you take as much info about the market as possible (I would guess minimum two hundred buyers for the Amiga and surely more/double for the Commodore one) and info about what we need/what has been done/what can/should be improved/added, but then you first start with the Amiga one.

Also, it won't be easy, fast or cheap to get the parts I believe. And no, I don't mind to use one of my Psu connectors, in fact I have an unfinished ATX project with it (I've got three working ones). BTW yes, I know I told it took only 2 seconds to find a replacement, but it gets about 14€ to get one delivered (!!).

I must say that the only PSU that actually can power on my fully loaded A1200 is Amigakit's psu, but it can't always boot it and when it boots it isn't delivering 5 volts to the Amiga psu socket, that's why a sensor is needed as Jens has planned.

I know about nothing of electricity. Does the voltage at the connector also drops because of the draw of the things connected or it shoudn't? I guess it shoudn't and the lack of volts there only depends in the lenght and thick of the cable (this part for sure).

And a last thought: Jens has a lot of work for the next 6 months with a lot of things in development, and Amigakit also has it with his Prisma soundcard, Ian doesn't produce the ATX adaptors anymore and Kipper is too busy with his boards and with the Fpga accelerator with Majsta. Also, look at Ebay, there is almost nothing new about Amiga/C64 psu's.

You've got the chance now to be selling what people has been asking for a while.

Last edited by Retrofan; 12 August 2015 at 01:20.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 12 August 2015, 01:25   #55
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
BTW I use to read a lot and remember interesting things, and this is the most insteresting reading about Amiga's PSU:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ope#post837066
Retrofan is offline  
Old 12 August 2015, 08:09   #56
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
That's hard to know exactly. For a high quality replacement I would play 20 to 25 I think.
Well that's killed the idea stone dead, and this highlights the retro accessory developer's biggest problem.

Everyone wants to pay "mass-produced" prices. A Chinese factory could make a million power supplies for a couple of quid each.

I would be lucky to sell 100 units over a year. At those quantities it costs me more to make than people will pay so looks like the idea is a no-go I'm afraid.
Mounty is offline  
Old 12 August 2015, 10:09   #57
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 748
Has it really?? How can my one extremely rough guess be the voice of everyone? To go off one persons opinion and call it everyones seems a bit, err, crazy.

If the PSU was very good quality and I was expecting it to last many years I'd probably pay more. How can I say what it's worth, I haven't even seen it yet? Don't put the blame on me for not going anywhere with this idea.

Last edited by john1979; 12 August 2015 at 10:14.
john1979 is offline  
Old 12 August 2015, 10:14   #58
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
+1
Arnie is offline  
Old 12 August 2015, 10:48   #59
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Developing a new A500/1200/600 power supply. -12V needed?

I'd suggest why nobody has made one is because unlike low voltage dc stuff any main power supply needs to obtain certification before its sold or its illegal. Dodgy mains power supply design can kill people
Vot is offline  
Old 12 August 2015, 10:55   #60
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mounty View Post
Well that's killed the idea stone dead, and this highlights the retro accessory developer's biggest problem.



Everyone wants to pay "mass-produced" prices. A Chinese factory could make a million power supplies for a couple of quid each.



I would be lucky to sell 100 units over a year. At those quantities it costs me more to make than people will pay so looks like the idea is a no-go I'm afraid.

Half of the Chinese ones very dodgy too. Inadequate air gaps between primary and secondary, insufficient creepage distances, non mains rated caps (not x class etc).
Vot is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Power Adapter/Connector for A500/600/1200 mikettl MarketPlace 0 05 July 2015 15:04
New Amiga 500/600/1200 HD power supply mech MarketPlace 11 28 December 2010 22:05
WTB: A500 power supply or A1200 power supply (USA model) CMA Death Adder MarketPlace 7 01 October 2010 15:10
Power Supply for 600/1200 stulec52 MarketPlace 1 22 June 2009 14:26
Amiga 1200 motherboard needs -12v power? doble07 support.Hardware 5 30 January 2009 23:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22728 seconds with 14 queries