English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 July 2008, 23:46   #1
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 401
Cadaver Save Disk

we have a contributor whos unable to save his game of Cadaver when using the IPF version.

its an interesting issue, he's tried creating a custom disk but it refeuses to save to it, is this a known issue, is there some specific disk that was distributed with this game solely for the purpose of saving on to?
Interceptor is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 July 2008, 00:13   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,486
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
not at all, well maybe a coder should check the save routine, but even the whdload coder didn't find any bug on save.

Does this guy own a version that we don't have already ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 00:15   #3
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 401
its SPS ID 103.
Interceptor is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 00:55   #4
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
The subway-spreadpoint crack says that there's a bug with the original games save routine.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 01:00   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,079
It's probably better to use v1.03. Just checked the WHDLoad Readme.

Quote:
Game versions:

There are 3 versions I know of:

- v0.01: Imageworks release. Buggy, copy-protected, uses MFM savegame disk.
- v1.03: Renegade/Bitmap bros release. Buggy, copy-protected, uses MFM savegame disk.
- v1.03: Renegade/Bitmap bros release. Not copy-protected, not buggy, uses DOS tracks
for savegames (much better). The tool provided to rip the saves from floppy disk
only works for this version.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 09:51   #6
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,486
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
It's normal then ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 10:58   #7
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 401
nothing here says the savegame doesnt work though, just that it uses mfm.

in theory, it still worked on the real thing. so is this a winuae issue not being able to create the save disk in the correct way?
Interceptor is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 11:08   #8
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,486
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the guy must use the custom ADF option in winuae to create the MFM save disk.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 11:09   #9
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 401
check the first post
Interceptor is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 11:33   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,486
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
if it works on a real machine it should work on winuae.

If this guy has a save disk already done on his amiga, then he should use RAWREAD,
to generate an extended ADF of the disk.

Something must be wrong somewhere....
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 11:49   #11
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,486
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Hello again, i have found what the reason is !

In fact, under winuae, the custom track length max when writing is $317C when Cadaver seems to need longer tracks than that (like $1800 in length or something).

You'll see that my extended ADF savedisk uses $3390 instead of $317C

Please find a WORKING save disk in custom ADF in the zone. I have tested it myself, it works like a charm !!!
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 12:00   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,373
This means game requires slower real floppy drive rotation speed than standard or saving may fail?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 July 2008, 12:37   #13
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 401
thanks for the save disk....

i was kinda hoping to highlight and resolve a problem though, according to this thread right now if you owned an original release of cadaver you couldnt save your game at all, (since amiga drive speeds are not adjustable)

can anyone confirm this? seems a bit unlikely....but strange things do happen.
Interceptor is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 12:39   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,373
I'll check the save routine "soon". (maybe today, maybe not)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 July 2008, 14:48   #15
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,486
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Toni, the standard max track length ($317C) used in winuae is not enough to create some save games. The save loading routine tries to format tracks longer than winuae in standard allow. It means that when loading back, the game sees $317C in length, when it should find $3390 or maybe a bit less if the process went right.

I have created this custom ADF with the custom floppy_write_length value setted to
0x3390 instead of 0x317C.

And it works. It means maybe that the nice option you have included when i asked you for it must be incorporated as "standard".

It works very well and doesn't make the games bugging when loading.
I have use your option on games like Killing game show, allowing me to create extended ADF and propose it when the IPF of it is not yet available for the reason we know.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 15:00   #16
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,373
No. Standard 300RPM drive can't write more than the current max. Bigger value WILL break other programs.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 July 2008, 15:11   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,486
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Do you mean that the cadaver save disk, which is created by a standard amiga drive
is impossible to copy ?

I can't agree with you Toni here. Or then please disassemble the save routine and tell what it does to the drive, and we'll be aware of what is really going on.

I stay on the fact that it's not normal that a standard amiga drive can CREATE the disk,
and that winuae CAN'T in standard.

Just look at cannon fodder save disk, a standard amiga drive write $1800 per track,
with a $4489 sync !!

The save routine can't work with the standard length used by winuae ($317C both sides or $18BE which is too small. That's why the guy says it doesn't work when he try to save !.

My guess is this : the save routine before saving datas in MFM encoding, must prepare the track structure. the routine try to
set more than $3190 + ~ - in length, or the problem with winuae is that it cuts at 317C. When loading back the routine finds
tracks with 317C$ in length instead of the size it has bought to save and create before. The result is that it's failing.

Winuae makes clearly the difference between a standard save routine, and a custom one. a program made to use a standard routine will use winuae standard track length and it will work.

When 0x3390 is enabled in the config file, it simply break the barrier of writing, it doesn't bug anything in standard DOS writting scheme.

At last, you know like me that's it's impossible to slow down a drive on amiga by software means, interceptor do you confirm this ?

Your system is working Toni, i have tested it carefully, and it works with all programs DOS or NDOS without breaking anything. thanks to you we have now unavailable games !!!

Last edited by dlfrsilver; 30 July 2008 at 15:21.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 15:25   #18
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,373
I only say the routine is buggy (or it uses NTSC max which is slightly more due to higher clock) if it tries to write more data because standard drive + Amiga can't write that much data (some drives run faster, some slower so it can work in some cases)

I won't change this.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 July 2008, 15:32   #19
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,486
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
There is nothing to change in winuae Toni. the system works very well.
My amiga with a standard drive can CREATE cannon fodder savedisk and cadaver too.
Winuae can't because $317C is not enough in size.

My drives can write $3180 with wwarp for example. See ?

Or it could mean that the amiga drive CAN be slowed down to write more.
317C is less than a real amiga drive can write.

Please check the save disk i put in the zone, and check the size of data written per track.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 July 2008, 15:45   #20
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
There is nothing to change in winuae Toni. the system works very well.
My amiga with a standard drive can CREATE cannon fodder savedisk and cadaver too.
Winuae can't because $317C is not enough in size.

My drives can write $3180 with wwarp for example. See ?
So? It still is faulty save routine, you should always leave enough spare (gap) when writing because no drive is same. There will be real drives that can't work with this routine.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Save disk question diablothe2nd support.FS-UAE 7 10 April 2013 11:10
Save disk Eng_RS support.Games 0 04 April 2008 17:15
Cadaver and save, help! Aery support.Games 7 14 March 2007 16:42
Trained save game or kick-butt RPG party save disk for Pool of Raidiance 7-Zark-7 request.Old Rare Games 1 16 June 2003 01:51
save disk on winuae corchians support.WinUAE 0 10 March 2003 00:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09974 seconds with 13 queries