English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Old Rare Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 June 2008, 17:34   #1
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
DOOM Amiga WANTED!

Hello Amigans,

I never had or played DOOM on Amiga and never found it in the past, I only know that is open source now.

Where can I find it?

What hardware do I need? ( I own a Bliz'030 and a BPPC 160@MHZ)


Thanks in advance


D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 01 June 2008, 17:39   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Hi dannypet,

one port for the Amiga is ADoom. It can be found on AmiNet.
You need the WAD files for registered Doom or Doom2 if you want to play it complete, but the Shareware WAD works too. It is available here.
I think your hardware is quite okay to play Doom.
TCD is offline  
Old 01 June 2008, 17:57   #3
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 11,044
Yep, an '030 can run it pretty well (not sure if there is a PPC version)... it runs very well indeed on my '040 and if you have enough Fast RAM you could copy the WAD file to RAM for it to load extremely quickly.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 01 June 2008, 18:03   #4
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
what's a fu WAD file? Sorry but I really dunno!

D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 01 June 2008, 18:11   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannypet View Post
what's a fu WAD file? Sorry but I really dunno!

They are packed files with the game data (level, gfx, sfx and all the rest ). For the full version of Doom or Doom2 you'll need these.
TCD is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 02:01   #6
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 38
Posts: 1,119
@dannypet

make sure to play with CD32 pad,works awesome
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 04:12   #7
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 766
runs damn great on my 030@50 at half screen just download the ADoom file from aminet and then make sure you put the .wad file into the same directory..thats it and its an awesome amiga port..big thanks top the author
klx300r is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 05:13   #8
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,098
There are at least 5-6 versions of doom for amiga and some work better then others, you should try some of the others to compare speed!!

Doom runs very well full screen on 040/40 and i think adoom was the best on this machine, but there migth be a version with better 030 optimisation!!

i could only see 2 on aminet, im sure there were more, at the amiga started doing doom every amiga mag come out with a newer better doom every month.

Adoom
Doom attack

just noticed there is a PPC version of Adoom, that must fly!!!!
mihcael is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 07:30   #9
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
just noticed there is a PPC version of Adoom, that must fly!!!!
There were several, either with PowerUp or WarpUp support; I think the warp ones were finally less problematic.
zipper is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 09:39   #10
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 38
Posts: 1,119
Doom Attack works with only 4mb fast(even with Doom 2) and the loading times almost don't bother.ADoom crash a lot with only 4mb fast and impossible play Doom 2,besides there are many pauses for loading data.
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 14:42   #11
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 2,447
The version of Doom i had years ago ran AWESOMELY on my 030/50. Actually, at the time, my brother in law couldn't get enough of it on my Amiga and i remember being astounded at how smooth it ran with almost maximum screen size !!
blade002 is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 14:45   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,140
Why would anyone want to play Amiga Doom?? (Other than as a demo)

Everyone has a PC/Mac these days in addition to their Amiga. Rather than be a masochist, if you want to try the game Doom, you install one of the GL Doom's out there and enjoy the fluid 50 fps refresh and filtered GFX.

I can totally understand wanting to play "Alien Breed 3D II : The Killing Grounds", "Genetic Species", "Nemac IV", Fears, Gloom or Breathless but DOOM??

Last edited by alexh; 02 June 2008 at 14:50.
alexh is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 14:51   #13
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 38
Posts: 1,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Why would anyone want to play Amiga Doom?? (Other than as a demo)
Doom works great in 1280x1024 50 fps in Amiga.
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 14:56   #14
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 2,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I can totally understand wanting to play "Alien Breed 3D II : The Killing Grounds", "Genetic Species", "Nemac IV", Fears, Gloom or Breathless but DOOM??
I do agree with you here, especially with Genetic Species which is FAR superior. Sure, GS only has 1 floor per level as opposed to Doom's multi level with stair cases, but for sheer variety, superior graphics and greater speed, it leaves Doom in the dust!.
blade002 is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 15:13   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,140
And more importantly (to me) they are Amiga native titles.
alexh is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 15:30   #16
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Regarding GL ports : Doomsday is awesome for all Dooms, Heretic and Hexen. It runs in 1280x1024 @ 60hz with lots of effects If you want to use PWAD's that were released after 1998 most of them require the ZDoom engine. There is ZDoomGL which is not as good as Doomsday, but has all the great enhancements
I too think playing it on an Amiga when you got a PC is pretty pointless, except that it is... well... an Amiga
TCD is offline  
Old 02 June 2008, 16:42   #17
CongealedWallrs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SCOTLAND
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Regarding GL ports : Doomsday is awesome for all Dooms, Heretic and Hexen. It runs in 1280x1024 @ 60hz with lots of effects If you want to use PWAD's that were released after 1998 most of them require the ZDoom engine. There is ZDoomGL which is not as good as Doomsday, but has all the great enhancements
I too think playing it on an Amiga when you got a PC is pretty pointless, except that it is... well... an Amiga
It could'nt hurt to try it. I think I would love to do it just so that I could say (probably just to myself) that I had done it.

Until I came onto the EAB I didn't even know Amiga + Doom was doable..
CongealedWallrs is offline  
Old 18 March 2009, 10:45   #18
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 373
Well this is an old thread I happened to Google! Yes I too have the 3D FPS on Amiga bug and wondered what was the fastest of all the AGA Amiga FPS games?

Doom just happened to be the game that showed us how out of touch C= were by adding 3 extra bitplanes to AGA a decade later to make a stupid 8 bitplane 256 colour mode that absolutely kills performance for this kind of thing. Not having byte per pixel on AGA was painfully obvious by its omission with these games.
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DOOM on Amiga, if you haven't tried it yet get it here. Cammy Retrogaming General Discussion 67 29 December 2013 10:02
Possible to port Alien Breed 3D maps to Doom? (I know AB3D has features Doom can't) dex Coders. General 2 21 January 2012 22:06
GL Doom for Amiga fitzsteve support.Games 1 09 November 2010 12:52
Amiga Doom. RMK support.Games 19 02 November 2008 20:52
Amiga Doom: huge lag problem Mojo2000 support.Games 18 03 February 2003 01:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08512 seconds with 13 queries