English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 March 2007, 11:36   #1
AmigaBoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 19 Jump Street
Posts: 238
Decent debugger?

Hi.

Is there any debuggers on the Amiga which are comparable to OllyDBG (or even SoftICE) for the PC? ( http://www.ollydbg.de/ )

Basically I'd like something where I can load in an Amiga executable and step through each line of code. Registers will be displayed in realtime as well as memory, the stack, allows me to make breakpoints, maybe show whether a jump will be made or not, maybe allow me to look for all references to a certain address, etc.
I used to use MonAm which is decent, however it's extremely unintuitive. I'd like something a little more modern and feature filled.

I don't want something like Action Replay or Hrtmon as I want something which only debugs the specific program that I've loaded.

Does anything like this exist?

Thanks!
AmigaBoy is offline  
Old 02 March 2007, 11:44   #2
Duke
HOL-Team
 
Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 520
Send a message via ICQ to Duke
Did you try the debugger built into WinUAE (Shift-F12)?

EDIT: Read your post properly, so the WinUAE one is probably not for you.
Duke is offline  
Old 02 March 2007, 12:00   #3
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Yes, there is something like this. It's the debugger that came with the OMA assembler, simply called Dbug. You can either catch the next task that is run or you can let it catch the next file you load. I guess it's what you want? It only works for system-friendly stuff though, as it uses normal intuition windows for output etc.

You can also use Thrill Kill which is an AR/HRT-Mon like freezer that allows you to debug only the program you loaded ("Catchfile" command).

Last edited by StingRay; 02 March 2007 at 12:31.
StingRay is offline  
Old 02 March 2007, 12:29   #4
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
You can also use the debugger that comes with SASC. From what I have heard it has a zillion+1 features and is the best of any Amiga debugger. It is called cpr which is short for CodeProbe.

1> run cpr MyBuggyProgram
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 02 March 2007, 14:00   #5
AmigaBoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 19 Jump Street
Posts: 238
Duke:
Yup. The WinUAE one isn't what I need. I use it frequently for general debugging, but it's not much use in this case. Thanks for the suggestion though.

StingRay:
Thrill Kill is very Action Replay like, which is good and bad. Good because it probably does everything. Bad because I was hoping for a sort of GUI like interface. Thanks though. I'll keep it in mind for future.
What's the OMA assembler? I've not heard of it before. I found a debugger on Aminet called "Dbug" but I didn't like it much.

StrategyGamer:
cpr was ok (not great). However once something is running, it pretty much freezes itself until that process dies. That's not exactly what I'm after. Thanks for suggesting it. I didn't know it existed.

I found one which is probably the best available on the Amiga. It's on Aminet. It's called "Disect" ( http://aminet.net/search?name=disect&path[]=dev/debug ). It seems to be very much like what I want, which is great. However, it's only a demo
Anyone have the full version? I'll create a request thread for it, in hopes that anyone that missed this thread may have it

Thanks for the help guys!
AmigaBoy is offline  
Old 02 March 2007, 18:35   #6
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Hmm, why would you a need a GUI for a debugger? After all, debugging usually consists of singlestepping through the code and watching the output in the debugger window. Anyway, I don't know which Dbug can be found on Aminet, the one from the OMA package opens some windows on the current screen and you have pulldown menus etc. Once you get used to it, it's pretty useful! I can upload it to the Zone if you want. No docs or anything though as I don't have them. The debugger is not hard to use though.

Last edited by StingRay; 03 March 2007 at 00:12.
StingRay is offline  
Old 02 March 2007, 22:48   #7
AmigaBoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 19 Jump Street
Posts: 238
You're absolutely right StingRay. I don't need a debugger. I guess it's just what I'm used to.

What I do need (which Action Replay, the WinUAE debugger, etc didn't have) is the ability to see everything on screen at once, in realtime.
Also, I'd like if each "section" doesn't change size or position, so as I step through code, I can see what's changing exactly (eg. the registers).

Take a look at a screenshot of OllyDBG to see what I mean: http://images.google.com/images?q=ollydbg . Obviously I don't mind using the command line to set breakpoints, or telling the memory "window" to show a specific section of memory. That's why "Disect" looks to be the front runner on the Amiga. It works well with a consistent screen view (although, I did try to "promote" the screenmode to 1024x768, but the coder seems to have hardcoded each of the window positions and sizes to a smaller resolution. Darn!).

Anyway, if you could upload the debugger, that'd be great. I appreciate yours (and everyone else's) help

Thanks guys
AmigaBoy is offline  
Old 02 March 2007, 22:53   #8
AmigaBoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 19 Jump Street
Posts: 238
um. Whoops.

Quote:
You're absolutely right StingRay. I don't need a debugger. I guess it's just what I'm used to.
I meant GUI. I need a debugger
AmigaBoy is offline  
Old 03 March 2007, 00:15   #9
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Hehehe don't worry, I understood it. I think you may like Dbug as you can arrange the windows totally freely and stuff, a bit like OllyDbg though not really comparable. I'll upload it to the Zone. If you have questions about how to use it, feel free to ask.
StingRay is offline  
Old 03 March 2007, 04:13   #10
AmigaBoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 19 Jump Street
Posts: 238
StingRay:
The DBug that you've uploaded is great. If you have a manual for it, or anything that can help me use it, I'd appreciate it. At the moment, I'm trying to do simple things like change to a different address in the "Memory" window, but I can't figure that out
I discovered typing ? brings up a list of commands:

d - Devices
i - info about current task
i $x - info about task at address $x
l - Libraries
p - Ports
r - Resources
s - Interrupt servers
t - Tasks
? - Help

however none of those are related to changing any of the content in the windows.
Also, it doesn't seem to catch all tasks. I find myself having to start a task, find out its address, and manually enter it. I don't mind this so far, but I may come into some executables where I'd need to catch it from the beginning. Any idea how to achieve this?

It's looking good. I just need a little help.

Thanks!
AmigaBoy is offline  
Old 03 March 2007, 08:02   #11
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
I have heard that the Barfly debugger is really good also. You should probably check it out.
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 03 March 2007, 11:14   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason
Also, it doesn't seem to catch all tasks. I find myself having to start a task, find out its address, and manually enter it. I don't mind this so far, but I may come into some executables where I'd need to catch it from the beginning. Any idea how to achieve this?
Yes I have. Here's how I usually do it: Open Dbug and a shell. With Dbug active, press either Amiga+W or select "Catch WB / CLI" from the menu. Then switch back to the shell and enter the name of the program you want to debug. Et voilá, you will see Dbug has catched it and you can debug it from the very beginning.
StingRay is offline  
Old 03 March 2007, 12:37   #13
kamelito
Zone Friend
 
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,801
Hi
There's also Adebug its very similar to Monam but use low level screen etc. To me its the SoftICe of the Amiga.
It should have been opensourced years ago but its not
Googled Adebug to find out more about it.

Kamelito
kamelito is offline  
Old 03 March 2007, 12:37   #14
kamelito
Zone Friend
 
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,801
Did you checked PowerVisor ?
kamelito is offline  
Old 03 March 2007, 13:03   #15
kamelito
Zone Friend
 
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,801
Re,
The source code of Adebug has been released but only for Atari ST.
I sent a mail to the guy who released it to know if an Amiga version of the code is available or not.
I'll keep you posted
Kamelito
kamelito is offline  
Old 03 March 2007, 18:46   #16
AmigaBoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 19 Jump Street
Posts: 238
StingRay:
Yes. That does indeed work. Thanks for the pointer!

kamelito:
I tried PowerVisor, but didn't like it much. Thanks for suggesting it.
I searched for ADebug and found the sourceforge site (as well as the www.brainstorm.fr site), but I can't find any downloads. The screenshot I saw however is very much like SoftICE. Very cool.

StrategyGamer:
You win the prize. Hooray! I chose Barfly's debugger.

For those that haven't tried it, it's great. It's got a lot of power with a simple to use interface. The only thing I can't figure out how to use properly is memory watchpoints. For example, I want to set a watchpoint at an address and watch for when that byte changes. I just can't figure it out. Oh well.

Thanks for all the help everyone! I appreciate it.
AmigaBoy is offline  
Old 03 March 2007, 20:37   #17
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
Memory watchpoints are easy in SASC debugger.
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 24 March 2007, 15:12   #18
kamelito
Zone Friend
 
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,801
Hi I spoke to the ST guys who released the source code of Adebug for AtariST and he told me that it can be compiled for Amiga by setting a flag.
Kamelito
kamelito is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are there any decent Amiga stores??? th4t1guy Amiga scene 20 01 October 2022 20:41
Any decent Amiga IDE? commodorejohn Coders. General 14 22 May 2013 22:37
Decent Price for The Settlers? Dreedo Amiga scene 7 12 November 2010 09:05
Looking for decent servers in the UK Sober project.WinUAE - Kaillera 1 24 April 2007 01:58
WTB: 2 decent mice Dalai MarketPlace 9 06 March 2002 12:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:29.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13597 seconds with 13 queries