English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 July 2001, 07:08   #1
Gryphon
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Eye of the beholder

Sorry it write yet another quiery
but i cant load eye of the beholder all it does is go to the kickstart screen then stops any help
(do i need to do any dos type promps)
 
Old 25 July 2001, 09:44   #2
ethylene
Registered User
ethylene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 87
Send a message via ICQ to ethylene Send a message via AIM to ethylene Send a message via MSN to ethylene Send a message via Yahoo to ethylene
Are you using a real Amiga or an emulator?

Please specify configuration.
ethylene is offline  
Old 25 July 2001, 12:25   #3
Steve
Don't be a sheep. Baaaa!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,304
You need to type something like "eob" to get it to load. Obviously without the "". Let me know if it works.
Steve is offline  
Old 25 July 2001, 13:06   #4
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
This behavior is known to me very well. It can happen if ...

1) ... you have a SCREWED-UP startup-sequence
2) ... you use a Kickstart whose version is too _high_ for the game. (using Kick 3.0 for a real old game, possibly from 1986 / 1987 is _not_ a good idea by any means)

Try to use Kick 1.3 -- hope this helps.

Last edited by andreas; 25 July 2001 at 17:54.
andreas is offline  
Old 25 July 2001, 15:18   #5
Steve
Don't be a sheep. Baaaa!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,304
Cool Screwed Up

I have a bit of a screwed up startup-sequence.
My attempts at fixing it didn't work so I'm forced to type "eob" to get the darn thing to run. Does anyone here have a self booting/loading disk 1 for eye of the beholder?
Steve is offline  
Old 25 July 2001, 15:29   #6
Walker
Junior Member
Walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 595
My copy (Skid Row crack) loads, but after the Westwood logo it Guru:s

This could be a WinUAE config problem, though.
Walker is offline  
Old 25 July 2001, 17:02   #7
Steve
Don't be a sheep. Baaaa!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,304
Startup-sequence

Can someone post working startup-sequence code so EOB will boot straight off without having to type in eob. I remember spending ages trying to get it to work but to no avail. I've edited loads of startup-sequence files but this one is a bit of a bugger!
Steve is offline  
Old 25 July 2001, 17:25   #8
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Thumbs up

I have done it. I have posted the disk with working startup-sequence in ADF-Zone.
Paul is offline  
Old 25 July 2001, 17:33   #9
Steve
Don't be a sheep. Baaaa!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,304
Smile Thanks

I'll give it a go a bit later on. Thanks.
Steve is offline  
Old 25 July 2001, 19:20   #10
Steve
Don't be a sheep. Baaaa!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,304
Smile Works Great

Cheers!
Steve is offline  
Old 26 July 2001, 02:08   #11
Gryphon
 
Posts: n/a
got it

Now my problem is saving
it says to insert disc 2 (which is in the df0) whats the problem now?
 
Old 26 July 2001, 17:16   #12
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Wink

I recommend installing the game onto your emulated or amigas hard disk. To install this game, create a new directory with a sensible name. Open the new dir and copy install file from disk1 into the empty new dir. Finally close floppy window and run the install script (which you copied inside the new dir) following the on-screen instructions.

This should solve your saving problems.

Hope this works as I never tried saving. I never heard of or played this game until yesterday.
Paul is offline  
Old 26 July 2001, 17:37   #13
Steve
Don't be a sheep. Baaaa!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,304
Big grin Huh

Let me get this straight. You've never heard of Eye of the Beholder before. You must be either very young or you've lived on a far off desert island somewhere in the south pacific.
Eye of the Beholder is an absolute Amiga classic. As is it's sequel Eye of the Beholder II: The Legend of Darkmoon. They're two of the best RPG games on the Amiga. They both lose out (just) to the awesome game Dungeon Master.
Steve is offline  
Old 26 July 2001, 17:52   #14
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Yes I know steve_b. What have I missted out on

Least I can play it now.
Paul is offline  
Old 26 July 2001, 18:23   #15
Steve
Don't be a sheep. Baaaa!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,304
Smile :)

In many ways I envy you. You lucky fella. You get to play EOB for the first time. Ah I remember the first time I played.....

oh the memories

PS. Play Dungeon Master as well. It's even better than EOB. It's my fave Amiga game of all time.
Steve is offline  
Old 26 July 2001, 19:41   #16
ethylene
Registered User
ethylene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 87
Send a message via ICQ to ethylene Send a message via AIM to ethylene Send a message via MSN to ethylene Send a message via Yahoo to ethylene
steve_b,

I played a game called Dungeon Master: Theron's Quest on my TurboGrafx CD. It was a lot like EOB but the graphics were not as nice. It had a cool spell interface, you were presented with a list of runic symbols and you could cast a spell by clicking certain runes in order.

Heh, I still remember, "LO FUL BRO NETA" was a fireball.

Is this the same game you're talking about?
ethylene is offline  
Old 26 July 2001, 19:45   #17
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
steve_b The game Dungeon Master reminds me a bit of the game ‘Nightmare’ and ‘Dungeon Quest’ I played on my A600.
Paul is offline  
Old 27 July 2001, 11:52   #18
Steve
Don't be a sheep. Baaaa!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,304
Smile Dungeon Master: Therons Quest

Yes it's essentially the same game. I think Therons Quest is like DM Enhanced for a CD. Similar graphics. Therons Quest is one game I'd love to get my hands on and play. Unfortunately it's a Turbo Grafix CD game so it's a little bit hard to get hold of
Apparently it works on some Turbo Grafix emulators.

Dungeon Master Rules
Steve is offline  
Old 27 July 2001, 20:18   #19
ethylene
Registered User
ethylene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 87
Send a message via ICQ to ethylene Send a message via AIM to ethylene Send a message via MSN to ethylene Send a message via Yahoo to ethylene
Ah, but it isn't so, my friend...

Go to http://www.tzd.com.

Bask in the Turbo glory
ethylene is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Party Eye of the Beholder II from Amiga in Eye of the Beholder III on PC vrascio support.Games 20 16 August 2012 11:52
Eye Of The Beholder Andy 01 request.Old Rare Games 0 05 October 2008 16:52
Eye of the Beholder... Dizzy Nostalgia & memories 7 13 July 2006 03:32
Eye of the Beholder AKH support.Games 2 28 December 2003 21:55
Eye of the beholder Djay request.Old Rare Games 1 07 September 2003 22:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10036 seconds with 13 queries