English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 March 2018, 11:17   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,826
How many games were rendered unplayable on the A600?

Because, you know, no numeric keypad?

Or was there some kind of key combination that fixed that?
Foebane is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 11:27   #2
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,286
There are no key combinations like on laptop keyboards, mostly because games read the keyboard directly rather than through the higher levels of the OS where such translations could be implemented. Instead they usually read the rawkey codes.

Some flight simulators lost some functionality - in Birds of Prey, the numpad was used for altering the camera viewpoint. It was still playable but I would miss that function. Others might have more critical functionality on the numpad, but I don't know myself.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 11:29   #3
TroyWilkins
Registered User

TroyWilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 417
I don't know if there's a definite number.

Also, the missing numeric keypad wasn't the only possible snag, some software that assumed kickstart 1.x could have issues, and I believe the ECS chipset wasn't also 100% compatible, depending on software. So it would have to be broken down into what software specifically required a num pad and didn't have issues with the other changes.
TroyWilkins is online now  
Old 15 March 2018, 11:30   #4
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,033
Its a good topic, not sure if its been covered properly before, but a list of games would be useful for some people who own an A600, i imagine it would be mostly be flight sims, though i heard some let you redefine the keys so those ones wouldnt be a problem.
Amigajay is online now  
Old 15 March 2018, 11:43   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,969
Did nobody ever create an external numeric keyboard for the A600 which connected to the KB controller? I guess a converter for PS/2 could work, but not sure they existed in the 90s?
Although if people wanted a numeric KB, they would probably just get a 1200 instead..
demolition is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 11:50   #6
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,927
Civilization and Colonization can be played, but at a disadvantage.
idrougge is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 11:59   #7
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,603
Dungeon games are made more difficult, f.e. I wouldn't play Captive without a numpad.
meynaf is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 12:02   #8
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,278
- Gobliiins (1st one) as the language selection requires numeric keypad input...
malko is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 12:25   #9
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,033
Goblins has an A600 sticker on the Uk box at least so it must be compatible in one version at least, the other games mentioned are still playable to some degree which is not the original question asked, same for kickstart compatibility thats a different topic altogether!

Unless a game required a keypress on the numpad then it shouldnt be listed here.
Amigajay is online now  
Old 15 March 2018, 13:01   #10
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,366
There were some good numeric keypad simulators utilities that worked with system friendly games so you could play them.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 13:45   #11
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 40
Posts: 3,055
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Advanced Destroyer Simulator:
http://hol.abime.net/3192

You need the numpad keys to aim the cannon turrets especially (also for the binoculars for instance but it is less a disadvantage).
Shooting other boats is very difficult and you have almost zero chance to hit a plane.
lilalurl is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 14:17   #12
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 544
Not a game (but took up a LOT of my time), Imagine utilised the keypad extensively. Used to be a nightmare having to alter views, etc through menu selections!
LuMan is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 14:51   #13
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 827
I think you could zoom in with numpad in Flashback, not a must have feature though.
fryguy is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 15:09   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,484
Interesting fryguy; I did not know that
DamienD is online now  
Old 15 March 2018, 15:22   #15
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,314
Dpaint had features missing without numpad
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 15:37   #16
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
I have used USB numkey pad with my A600 (subway). You can also connect a keyboard from an A500 (or even A1200) onto the CIA chip of the A600 and enjoy full Amiga keyboard.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
kolla is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 15:56   #17
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,202
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by fryguy View Post
I think you could zoom in with numpad in Flashback, not a must have feature though.
I thought it was F9 x2 zoom and F8 x4 zoom with F10 full screen.
Maybe the numpad did same though.
DDNI is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 18:36   #18
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Dpaint had features missing without numpad
The A600 packin version of DPaint III has the Virtual Numpad Commodity with it. No doubt it worked with any other OS friendly production software, maybe the odd microprose game.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 19:15   #19
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Dpaint had features missing without numpad
Quite true. Most notably the 3D-ish perspective brush tool IIRC.
LuMan is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 21:39   #20
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Goblins has an A600 sticker on the Uk box at least so it must be compatible in one version at least [...] Unless a game required a keypress on the numpad then it shouldnt be listed here.
So is Gobliiins . You can try it also with the version Damien has configured in his collection : First user interaction, unless you use the keypad, you won't access the game .
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unplayable music - modules that don't work wanderer support.Other 36 23 July 2012 11:03
AmigaDOS rendered images copse Nostalgia & memories 10 09 January 2010 12:55
Uridium 2(is this game unplayable or is it just me?) NfernalNfluence support.Games 3 23 March 2007 06:00
California Games on A600? Help! Fingerlickin_B support.Games 23 02 February 2007 02:21
A600 Games Question THX1138 support.Hardware 3 30 October 2005 22:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09280 seconds with 14 queries