English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 July 2010, 12:05   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
WinUAE 2.3.0 beta series (was 2.2.1)

2.2.1 (maybe 2.3.0) beta series.

Quick rules:

Allowed posts in this thread:

- bug reports but make sure bug is NOT in previous offical version. (Old bug -> separate thread)
- comments and suggestion about new features in betas or changed feature in beta. (missing feature or old feature which has not been changed in latest beta series -> separate thread)

Everything else will be deleted, no questions asked. (includes offtopic posts, discussion about pros and cons of public beta testing etc..)

Misc notes:

- always include name of the program. "Everything" or "most games" fail is not a bug report!
- always use quickstart settings. Non-QS setting reports will be ignored unless there is reason why quickstart isn't good idea but still test using quickstart just to confirm! (unless it needs some HD highend config)
- always check logs (both winuaebootlog.txt and winuaelog.txt, don't forget to enable logging in misc-panel) for possible error or warning messages.
- remember to include PC specs + Windows version (if asked)
- graphics error -> include screenshot.
- disk based program -> include CRC32 (mouse over disk history arrow down button will show CRC32) of the image(s) (or SPS ID or full tosec name if from latest set). Plain name of the game is NOT generally enough! (usually there are different cracks, trainers etc..)

As usual, betas may destroy your PC and your sanity

This thread is for general discussion (bad/good/stupid idea/whatever, no trolling or flaming) about public beta testing.

Beta test related PMs or emails will be generally ignored.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 05 July 2010, 12:05   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2210b1.zip (do not downloaded, too broken)

Beta 1:

- fixed Z3/RTG RAM leaking when restarting
- D3D scanlines can be (finally) enabled on the fly
- blank right border after approximate hsync position instead of filling it with border color that extends far outside of displayable area
- ECS Agnus bitplane DMA state machine update, state machine advances on OCS when DDFSTRT matches hpos and display window is open. ECS only requires DDFSTRT match. (yaqube)
- triple/double/single buffer option was never saved to configuration file
- autovsync was broken
- "old" overlays are now masks in plugins\masks, "new" overlays are in plugins\overlays. (rename overlays -> masks and create new overlays directory)
- both overlays and masks can be selected using GUI (overlay position can be only modified by editing configuration file)
- added Automatic center option to autoscale select menu, centers image using autoscale parameters
- audio state machine emulation rewrite, now it is fully cycle-exact, including correct DMAL DMA request line delays. (DMAL logic examined by yaqube, I was too slow and lazy..)
- disk emulation DMA accesses are now fully cycle-exact, emulates DMAL and Paula 3-word FIFO
- fixed ancient bug in disk emulation that emulated remaining cycles in current line twice when disk event triggered (index, word sync), basically made disk rotate twice the speed for about 20 or so bits of data from disk
- above disk events didn't work correctly if multiple drives were selected at the same time (very rare situation)
- added CDROM drives to quickstart CD32/CDTV "autodetect" select menu (works on the fly too)
- cdimage0=<drive letter>:\ at startup didn't work (only worked if changed on the fly)
- rawkeyboard hardcoded F12 check ignored focus
- drive sound emulation crashed if specific sound files were missing
- non-accurate sound enabled -option removed, difference compared to 100% accurate was practically non-existing, also now totally useless chipset sound options removed, disabled but emulated is now also 100% accurate
- files inside plugins-directory will be checked from 3 locations (until found): plugin_path, data_path and exe_path. (fixes some path issues introduced in 2.2)

In cycle-exact mode DMA fetches happen in exactly correct positions (need more CPU power), in non-cycle-exact modes all DMA fetches use audio channel 0 position (faster, less timing events needed). Complete custom chipset should be fully cycle exact now (in theory at least)

All "too fast cpu" audio hacks removed except audio.device AUDxDAT write with AUDxPER=8 and then waiting for interrupt, in JIT modes interrupt code may run fast enough to enable DMA before audio state machine has returned back to idle state. This hack forces AUDxDAT writes with AUDxPER less than 10 to finish immediately.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 08 July 2010 at 09:07.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 09:37   #3
bagpipes
Registered User

bagpipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 80
Problems with new beta

Hi Toni! I noticed that the latest beta hang up. For example in the game "Brian The Lion" (CD32 version), when I push action buttons on XBox360 controller or keyboard. In this title there is also graphics bug on the upper screen line/border (in the game).

In the Lotus II from "Lotus Trilogy" (CD32) I noticed sounds problem, specially in title music. Left channel is broken sometimes (the music cut off).

Sorry for my bad English!
Attached Files
File Type: uae Config.uae (9.5 KB, 338 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog (Brian The Lion).txt (13.1 KB, 359 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog (Lotus 2).txt (12.8 KB, 321 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog (Brian The Lion).txt (6.1 KB, 314 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog (Lotus 2).txt (6.0 KB, 335 views)
bagpipes is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 09:47   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by bagpipes View Post
Hi Toni! I noticed that the latest beta hang up. For example in the game "Brian The Lion" (CD32 version), when I push action buttons on XBox360 controller or keyboard. In this title there is also graphics bug on the upper screen line/border (in the game).

In the Lotus II from "Lotus Trilogy" (CD32) I noticed sounds problem, specially in title music. Left channel is broken sometimes (the music cut off).

Sorry for my bad English!
If you'd used older version, you'd have noticed "graphics bug" isn't nothing new (and it isn't emulation bug either)

Does the problems disappear if you use CD32 quickstart most compatible option? (at least sound issues are most likely due to temporarily removed fast cpu hacks)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 09:52   #5
bagpipes
Registered User

bagpipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 80
No, I using quickstart mode with most compatible option and the problem also appears.
bagpipes is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 09:54   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by bagpipes View Post
No, I using quickstart mode with most compatible option and the problem also appears.
Perfect, thanks
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 18:15   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip should fix both, please confirm.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 19:56   #8
bagpipes
Registered User

bagpipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 80
Yeah, now both works fine! Thanks
bagpipes is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 21:22   #9
msayed1977
Better than the Original
msayed1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 145
In the previous version thread, someone said that some game runs too fast (in a wrong manner). Later I found what he wrote disappeared.
Please make it clear for me.
msayed1977 is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 21:29   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by msayed1977 View Post
In the previous version thread, someone said that some game runs too fast (in a wrong manner). Later I found what he wrote disappeared.
Please make it clear for me.
"Do not post non-beta related problems in beta thread". (this is going to disappear too)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 July 2010, 00:29   #11
msayed1977
Better than the Original
msayed1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 145
OK, Toni. Sorry.
A new issue in beta 1: (in "Kick Off 2")
I use Horizontal and Vertical Centering, and starting from this beta I find garbage and black areas in the borders.
Here is my configuration.
Attached Files
File Type: rar Configurations.rar (14.2 KB, 327 views)

Last edited by msayed1977; 08 July 2010 at 00:37.
msayed1977 is offline  
Old 08 July 2010, 09:47   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by msayed1977 View Post
OK, Toni. Sorry.
A new issue in beta 1: (in "Kick Off 2")
I use Horizontal and Vertical Centering, and starting from this beta I find garbage and black areas in the borders.
Here is my configuration.
Attach screenshots (I probably can duplicate it but you never know..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 July 2010, 10:30   #13
msayed1977
Better than the Original
msayed1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 145
Here are 2 screenshots.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled1.JPG
Views:	518
Size:	10.3 KB
ID:	25770   Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled2.JPG
Views:	530
Size:	49.2 KB
ID:	25771  
msayed1977 is offline  
Old 08 July 2010, 16:53   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
I can't duplicate.. Disable everything unnecessary first (centering, use windowed). Still happening?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 July 2010, 17:37   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2210b2.zip

Beta 2:

- CD32/CDTV image mounting broke in b1 (can still be broken in some situations)
- new audio state machine emulation froze in some situations
- re-added "too fast CPU" hack that fixes missing sounds with sound routines that use CPU loops in DMA waits (also needed in 68020 "CE" mode because short loops are currently too fast)
- automatic audio switching detected idle audio when playing long samples
- CD32 statefile restore ignored possible CD image file path in statefile
- CDTV CD led flicker was practically non-existing when reading data
- (I also noticed CDTV statefile support is still missing..)
- old CD audio timecode relative track position bug fixed (CDTV audio CD player slow time display)
- built-in image mounter cd audio timecode relative track position had 2 second offset
- real cd audio cd playback asked for exclusive CD access when shared also works fine
- do not parse mounted images (cue files) twice when booting in CD32 or CDTV mode
- path update in b1 broke D3D related paths
- CDTV processing thread stalled if no drive was detected when exiting
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 July 2010, 14:58   #16
msayed1977
Better than the Original
msayed1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 145
With Windowed and no centering, the bug is gone.
With Fullscreen and no centering, some screens are fine and others still have the bug.
msayed1977 is offline  
Old 09 July 2010, 20:38   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by msayed1977 View Post
With Windowed and no centering, the bug is gone.
With Fullscreen and no centering, some screens are fine and others still have the bug.
Do you mean you don't see the garbage even if you select very wide windowed mode? and it appears if you switch (on the fly) to fullscreen? Or only if you start in fullscreen?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 July 2010, 22:12   #18
msayed1977
Better than the Original
msayed1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 145
Centering does NOT work in Windowed Mode even in 1440x900 mode (maybe another bug), and there is no garbage (or black areas).
The garbage I mentioned before happened if you start the emulator in Fullscreen Mode.
Now, I tried to start the emulator in Windowed Mode then switch to Fullscreen Mode on the fly. The garbage (or the black areas) returns.
PS:
Some black areas are gone in 32-bit color mode.

Last edited by msayed1977; 10 July 2010 at 03:09.
msayed1977 is offline  
Old 10 July 2010, 00:51   #19
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 161
I just noticed that the emulation cannot read data from mounted PC drives.

I can supply more information if needed.

- Bogdan
UncleSpam is offline  
Old 10 July 2010, 01:33   #20
kkgarbod
The Human/Gray Hybrid

kkgarbod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Elizabeth Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleSpam View Post
I just noticed that the emulation cannot read data from mounted PC drives.

I can supply more information if needed.

- Bogdan
I get the same

With directory added as dh2: WinUAE doesn't read *.info, both wb3.1 install and amisys 4. also wb1.3
kkgarbod is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 22 December 2012 11:22
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 16:48
WinUAE 2.3.2 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 79 31 May 2011 20:39
WinUAE 1.5.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 58 09 November 2008 14:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11557 seconds with 14 queries