English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 September 2018, 23:11   #41
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,892
Ill make a new iso tomorrow using isocd and add the intro and post it here and see if that makes a difference or not.
Amigajay is online now  
Old 19 September 2018, 02:52   #42
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
And no, I'm not going to replace the intro music by some custom music. Just because the track is perfectly synchronized with the credits visual. Also, this is more work to remove the music play, that would require an option to use cd tracks or not, and I've got more important stuff to do, sorry.
No problem,
I understand that making it run on a real cd32 is well more important.
Thanks for the reply.
I hope it will work on the real thing.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 12:15   #43
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,559
I tried to recreate the ISO with MasterISO also added the "Rock Ridge" extension, but I have not tested the CD on a real CD32 works

Test Video
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 13:51   #44
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
@AMIGASYSTEM: don't use MasterISO it sucks and fails to work with RN loader. It works with WHDload CDs or OS-compliant games, but not with games using this particular hardware routine. Only ISOCD allows to make working discs.

@Amigajay: good idea. Toni is not replying, maybe it means: "shut up and try it " I can't wait for the results (and I'll refund each burned CD by adapting one game by wasted CD )
jotd is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 14:52   #45
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,559
Thanks for the info jotd, technically i do not know what "RN loader", i have always created my compilations for my two CD32 and I have never had problems, all the CDs burned with my Yamaha SCSI burner have worked perfectly and never thrown a CD.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 15:21   #46
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,892
I've made a quick new iso using isocd and adding the cdxl intro on Earok's previous disc from a couple of years ago

Tested on quickstart cd32 with and without fastram on winuae 4.01 without problems, of course we need to test on real hw which is the point of a new iso build using isocd instead.

I'm decorating the house atm so i cant until the weekend, but the build is here for anyone who likes to live dangerously!

https://mega.nz/#!Fc9UhYAY!yjjdBf6X5...7UcoungAca0t1w
Amigajay is online now  
Old 19 September 2018, 17:06   #47
Mrz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 209
ISOCD is the best and easy tool to create isos for the cd32
you can choose there the boot files: cd32.tm or CDTV.tm
I recommend always use CDTV.tm because the iso boot faster in the CD32 and is compatible with CDTV
Mrz is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 18:15   #48
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
CDTV.TM will work with this setup. AFAIR don't use it when you're relying on AGA being set by the system. CD32 ROM disables the caches & AGA IIRC.

@Amigajay the suspense is unbearable
jotd is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 18:33   #49
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,559
@Mrz
Excluding the problem "RN loader", even MasteISO allows you to choose CDTV.TM or CDTV.TM, it can also add extensions Rock Ridge end Joiliet and make the CD compatible on any platform.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 21 September 2018 at 08:14.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 20:09   #50
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
yes, the OS can read those discs, but CDs created with ISOCD can be read by OS and RN loader. So this is unusable for CD32load
jotd is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 20:25   #51
Mrz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
CDTV.TM will work with this setup. AFAIR don't use it when you're relying on AGA being set by the system. CD32 ROM disables the caches & AGA IIRC.
right, CTDV.tm turns off caches+aga but I think you could activate them if you add "setpatch" in the startup-sequence
Mrz is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 20:52   #52
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
yes, you can reenable it. It's designed so CDTV titles (which may not be 680EC20/AGA compatible) work with CD32.
jotd is offline  
Old 20 September 2018, 07:28   #53
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,319
I get the red screen of death on real NTSC CD32.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 25 September 2018, 10:06   #54
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 44
Tried it under macOs 10.3, FS-UAE, stock cd32 settings (2MB chip only).
Title comes up with music, crashes while loading first level. Leaves a greenish bar on the bottom of screen.
wairnair is offline  
Old 25 September 2018, 16:51   #55
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
FS-UAE isn't ready to support CD audio + CD data fully. Only recent WinUAE allow to make it work.
jotd is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 10:24   #56
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 44
cd audio does actually work nicely for Shadow Fighter, but I've certainly not a lot of experience with fs-uae to comment in general. will give it a shot under Windows as well. thanks for your time putting the disc together.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
FS-UAE isn't ready to support CD audio + CD data fully. Only recent WinUAE allow to make it work.
wairnair is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 13:58   #57
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
Shadow Fighter uses ROM CD playing routines. That would explain a lot.
jotd is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 14:16   #58
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,908
CD routines in all existing CD32 games do work fine, this is the only special case, it uses Akiko non-DMA feature that enables very simple way to play CDs.

Fix should be almost as simple as copying winuae's akiko.cpp over fs-uae's version and recompiling.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 29 September 2018, 12:48   #59
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
This version doesn't work on real hardware yet. Please save the planet, dolphins, and all... don't burn a disc until it's fixed
jotd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wonderdog with sfx & audio tracks jotd project.CD32 Conversion 45 19 September 2018 21:42
Audio Tracks Seiya support.WinUAE 2 04 May 2017 19:23
Trauma Zero 1.1 CD Audio tracks hexaae support.WinUAE 12 12 December 2010 23:00
T-zer0 and CD audio tracks PopoCop support.Games 11 25 July 2009 16:27
Best CD32 audio tracks jotd Retrogaming General Discussion 28 15 May 2008 11:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08723 seconds with 15 queries