English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 September 2018, 16:51   #221
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
Most excellent news - so I assume for those of us with existing 3.9 setups we can swap the ROMS and then just use SetPatch and SKIPROMUPDATES to utilise the new 'in ROM' versions?
The updated Kickstart ROM contents are designed to work with the OS 3.9 components.

The ROM update mechanism (which requires a reboot) present in OS 3.9 hinges on the fact that the updates bear a higher version number than their respective counterparts in ROM. The new Kickstart ROM contents version numbers have changed, so the OS 3.9 ROM update mechanism will end up skipping what it cannot change.

In any case, you should not stick with the old SetPatch if you can help it. The SetPatch version which ships with the operating system is the one you need, even if it does very little.
Olaf Barthel is offline  
Old 18 September 2018, 16:52   #222
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Otoh if it's released "when ready", there shouldn't be anything left for the 3.1.4 setpatch to patch. ;-)
If only this were true more often... Some things you cannot robustly patch until the system has reached the "boot from disk" stage. The whole battery of NSD patches is such a case.
Olaf Barthel is offline  
Old 18 September 2018, 18:52   #223
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,198
Will the new SetPatch be freely downloadable, like older versions in the past?
Leffmann is offline  
Old 18 September 2018, 19:24   #224
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
as I have signed an NDA
sigh.. here we go again..
wawa is offline  
Old 18 September 2018, 19:29   #225
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 316
Really looking forward to this update. It will be an immediate purchase for me when available. The fact it is also on Floppy disks is great. Hopefully images will be available too.
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 18 September 2018, 19:34   #226
OlafSch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nuernberg
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by wawa View Post
sigh.. here we go again..
you must understand that

Hyperion is working to become a world power again so they have to defend their secret plans

for sure

*was offtopic*
OlafSch is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 02:32   #227
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olaf Barthel View Post
The 3.1.4 update reuses and updates as many OS 3.5/3.9 components as were available for reuse and updating.

The workbench.library is derived from the OS 3.9 version, which among other things features an ARexx port (added by yours truly back in the day).
All right, where do I send the money?
idrougge is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 15:16   #228
coder76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 69
Has there been a fix to these guru meditation boxes and early bootup screen that you activate with both mouse buttons, that they also work with ~30 kHz displays? Now it looks to me under AmigaOS 3.1 that the OS opens up a PAL hires screen always, which corrupts display, if you have a VGA monitor only, that can't sync to 15 kHz screenmodes.
coder76 is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 15:30   #229
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olaf Barthel View Post
The workbench.library is derived from the OS 3.9 version, which among other things features an ARexx port (added by yours truly back in the day).
Which means ToolsDaemon users need to use the 2.2 patches, and not 2.1, so Gullivers testing must have been rather shallow

http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/ToolsDaemon22
kolla is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 15:38   #230
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade View Post
Is this update going to fix the PCMCIA with 8MB ram? I read that some people can use 8MB ram with PCMCIA on kick 3.0 but not on 3.1.
Because 3.1 fixes the issue with PCMCIA and 8MB RAM? If I recall correctly, it was a bug in 3.0 that allows 8MB of FastRAM + PCMCIA to "sometimes work"
kolla is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 16:19   #231
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Because 3.1 fixes the issue with PCMCIA and 8MB RAM? If I recall correctly, it was a bug in 3.0 that allows 8MB of FastRAM + PCMCIA to "sometimes work"
Yep, that's my understanding of it too: 3.0 allowed the PCMCIA card to be used with RAM occupying the same space, resulting in all sorts of nastiness when using SRAM cards (instant guru). 3.1 fixed this issue by disabling the PCMCIA port when installed memory conflicted with it. However this doesn't take into account I/O only cards - the intention was for using SRAM memory cards (PC Memory Card IA), and I doubt they foresaw people primarily using it as a mass storage or network port.

So, for a proper fix to be implemented, the OS would somehow have to disable the memory card space without disabling the I/O space. I'm not sure if that's actually possible as the memory address decoding is done in hardware, but maybe some more knowledgeable people here might... Maybe it's something that needs MMU support?
Daedalus is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 20:43   #232
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 679
I hope we can build a custom ROM with the new modules
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 21:32   #233
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
I hope we can build a custom ROM with the new modules
There shouldn't be any reason why you cant @Spacemonkey posted a link back on post 112 to an updated Remus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacemonkey View Post
kgc210 is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 22:04   #234
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 292
@kgc210 - yes, but you either need the modules from OS 3.1.4 developers (it would be really nice if we could get them this way... even if this would mean paying extra), or someone will have to update RomSplit/Remus splitfiles to be able to extract the modules from ROM images.
Romanujan is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 22:29   #235
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 432
I am sure it will get updated, it already supports Hyperion 40.72
kgc210 is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 23:13   #236
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
I hope we can build a custom ROM with the new modules
Yes, you will be able to build custom ROMs, but we wont be able to support those custom ROMs.
gulliver is offline  
Old 20 September 2018, 15:37   #237
amigo1
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Cork/Gallia
Posts: 2
I'm very likely to buy this too.. )
amigo1 is offline  
Old 20 September 2018, 15:53   #238
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
Yes, you will be able to build custom ROMs, but we wont be able to support those custom ROMs.
"we"???

Btw - is Tuko also a beta-tester that have signed NDAs? If so, double the lolz... guess I will just wait for updated Vampire cores including kickstart, and CoffinOS which I am sure will contain all the new OS 3.1.4 stuff.
kolla is offline  
Old 20 September 2018, 17:22   #239
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,844
@kolla; your above post has been reported by numerous people...

Why does it always seem to be you derailing threads like this?

Take this as a warning; next time some comment from you like the above occurs, you'll be going on a vacation from EAB.
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 September 2018, 19:53   #240
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 292
Going back to feature/technical discussion:

- does 3.1.4 contain a 'cardreset' fix for A1200 Gayle/PCMCIA?
- there are gossips that Shell-Seg from 3.1.4 got tab autocompletion - is it true? does it work BASH-like way (cycling by available objects), or KingCON-like way (requester)?
Romanujan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Available now: AmigaOS 3.1.4 bubbob42 News 587 12 November 2018 08:01
Would AmigaOS 3.9 be ok for me? stu232 support.Hardware 12 02 October 2013 19:20
AmigaOS 3.9 PoLoMoTo support.WinUAE 8 27 August 2011 19:06
AmigaOS 3.5 or 3.9 maddoc666 support.Apps 12 22 February 2010 09:02
AmigaOS XL sturme New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 15 January 2002 03:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10243 seconds with 16 queries