English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 January 2017, 00:31   #201
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,998
As I guide, I have the fastest (ever) 030, the ACA 030/56, and I can get 12,50 MIPS. It doesn't have FPU though, which is a shame.

Edit: I've had to boot the miggy now, and it's 12,57 MIPS

Last edited by Retrofan; 22 January 2017 at 00:59.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 00:33   #202
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgc210 View Post
Worse case you could use the existing 040-060 adaptor. Or depending on the traces below the socket you can quite easily incorporate it into the design.
Would also need to decide on whether to mod the exec library like you do for the above adaptor or build it into hardware code.

But it's down to how plasmab want's to direct his project.
So cosmos has written an 040 library for this board and a 29F010 will be on the board for it. 68060 is not on my radar yet. The 040 board will simply be about getting AmigaOS to boot.
plasmab is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 00:38   #203
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
As I guide, I have the fastest (ever) 030, the ACA 030/56, and I can get 12,50 MIPS. It doesn't have FPU though, which is a same.
I'd be very happy with that level of speed. I've not found anything that uses the FPU..... At least no games or unique apps.
plasmab is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 00:43   #204
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 671
Indeed. The only reason I have a FPU on my 030 is because there was an empty socket and a 68882 was £3 from China.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 00:45   #205
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I'd be very happy with that level of speed. I've not found anything that uses the FPU..... At least no games or unique apps.
All of the ones that need Amiblitz for example. https://sourceforge.net/projects/amiblitz3/
Retrofan is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 00:46   #206
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
So cosmos has written an 040 library for this board and a 29F010 will be on the board for it. 68060 is not on my radar yet. The 040 board will simply be about getting AmigaOS to boot.
The 'mod' that is being referred to is some initial startup code that disables the FPU.

The 3.1 Exec is from before the 060 came out and doesn't handle its extended stack frame, by disabling the FPU during init it will boot to the point that it can load setpatch and 68060 lib from disk.

This then patches the Exec in memory to support the 060s stack frame and reenables the FPU.


Edit: also Cosmos? beware :-D
Locutus is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 00:46   #207
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
All of the ones that need Amigablitz for example. https://sourceforge.net/projects/amiblitz3/
Specific Game? Skidmarks [II] ran just fine on my A600 in the 90s.
plasmab is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 00:53   #208
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,998
Not games but apps. For example all that Thilo Köhler has written. Amiblitz is a powerful tool and it needs FPU
Retrofan is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 00:59   #209
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Not games but apps. For example all that Thilo Köhler has written. Amiblitz is a powerful tool and it needs FPU
AmiBlitz is a programming environment like blitz basic right? Thats been ported to PC already?
plasmab is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:02   #210
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England
Posts: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Really the only reason i'm doing A500 boards is because i found a bunch of them in a skip and if they die i havent lost... once i have learned enough to make a board of worth i'll make A1200,A4000 and CD32 boards... or even standalone motherboards... but i want to crawl first...
Sorry for disrupting the current trend of conversation but I just saw this. I'd like to lobby for an Amiga motherboard that supports PC cases if you ever get to the point of making motherboards. Rough specs are as follows:

ATX/MATX/ITX form factor (the smaller the better really)
Real(?) Amiga custom chips
2MB of chip memory
ATX power connector (for ATX PSU and PicoPSU support)
PC keyboard support (PS2?)
Floppy connector (for up to 2 PC drives with trackloader support)
40 pin IDE connector (HDD & CDROM)
Joystick/Mouse port
3.5mm Audio output
Maybe some other bits I've missed...

I'm sure you're too busy and have entirely different plans anyway so I'll just go back to dreaming.

Either way it's great to see new Amiga hardware being designed, keep up the good work.
Mick is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:04   #211
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick View Post
Sorry for disrupting the current trend of conversation but I just saw this. I'd like to lobby for an Amiga motherboard that supports PC cases if you ever get to the point of making motherboards. Rough specs are as follows:

ATX/MATX/ITX form factor (the smaller the better really)
Real(?) Amiga custom chips
2MB of chip memory
ATX power connector (for ATX PSU and PicoPSU support)
PC keyboard support (PS2?)
Floppy connector (for up to 2 PC drives with trackloader support)
40 pin IDE connector (HDD & CDROM)
Joystick/Mouse port
3.5mm Audio output
Maybe some other bits I've missed...

I'm sure you're too busy and have entirely different plans anyway so I'll just go back to dreaming.

Either way it's great to see new Amiga hardware being designed, keep up the good work.
You want a GBA1000 motherboard.
plasmab is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:05   #212
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 868
Maybe you can also ask for a Pony
Locutus is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:06   #213
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,998
I think so, but sorry I only have tried to run some wonderful programs and I've seen they need FPU as they where using it. Yes, as a newbie I believe that's a programming environment that has been adapted and improved to be used on the Amiga.

Quote:
Description
Amiblitz is the furtherdevelop of BlitzBasic 2 from Amiga.Acid Soft was so friendly to release the BB2 source as opensource. BlitzBasic is port to PC and furtherdevelop here too.We choose the Name Amiblitz for Amiga Version to make clear its diffrent now
Retrofan is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:09   #214
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I think so, but sorry I only have tried to run some wonderful programs and I've seen they need FPU as they where using it. Yes, as a newbie I believe that's a programming environment that has been adapted and improved to be used on the Amiga.
The Hardware FPU instructions can be emulated.... Its slow but they can be.

If blitz is written in C i'd recompile it with softfloat and be done with it.
plasmab is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:18   #215
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
The Hardware FPU instructions can be emulated.... Its slow but they can be.

If blitz is written in C i'd recompile it with softfloat and be done with it.
Well, this was his latest answer:

Quote:
I cannot compile without FPU because I would need to change Amigablitz first. Bernd Roesch added FPU even if you compile non-FPU executables, because he thought every Amiga should have an FPU nowadays :-(

Regards,

Thilo
There are (at least) two programs of him that I like: PostED and TKPlayer. Both need FPU.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:37   #216
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Well, this was his latest answer:



There are (at least) two programs of him that I like: PostED and TKPlayer. Both need FPU.
Well that sucks...

Never seen PostED. Has the stupidest name ever for search engine optimization.
plasmab is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:43   #217
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Well that sucks...

Never seen PostED. Has the stupidest name ever for search engine optimization.
http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/PosTED

What does it make? It sticks a note on your screen with something you write... Very usefull. (...) 3M never would be that rich without these things

Edit: And just to comment that in fact he tried and sent me a No-Fpu version, but it didn't work, it kept needing it.

Last edited by Retrofan; 22 January 2017 at 01:51.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:44   #218
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/PosTED

What does it make? It sticks a note on your screen with a note you write... Very usefull.
I dont use Amiga's for productivity.. just fun.
plasmab is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:54   #219
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I dont use Amiga's for productivity.. just fun.
Ok, then release an improved 020
Retrofan is offline  
Old 22 January 2017, 01:55   #220
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Ok, then release a 020
Already have.

https://github.com/terriblefire/tf520/
plasmab is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 07:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 10:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 02:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 21:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 09:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14405 seconds with 14 queries