English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 March 2015, 00:07   #1
lovinggames
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: moscov/russia
Posts: 44
Terrible usb drive performance?

Hi

I created a folder drive on a usb thumb drive(usb3.0 and usb3.0 plug). I am trying to copy about 500mb to it and man it is taking forever. It copied about 200mb over 3 hours. Is this expected?

I am on Debian 64bit using dev builds and I am using A1200 emulation with wB3.1.
lovinggames is offline  
Old 11 March 2015, 00:12   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,663
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinggames View Post
Hi

I created a folder drive on a usb thumb drive(usb3.0 and usb3.0 plug). I am trying to copy about 500mb to it and man it is taking forever. It copied about 200mb over 3 hours. Is this expected?

I am on Debian 64bit using dev builds and I am using A1200 emulation with wB3.1.
Tried adding buffers?
I know on amiga formatted drives and OS4.1 USB devices, this makes a big difference.
FOL is offline  
Old 11 March 2015, 00:14   #3
lovinggames
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: moscov/russia
Posts: 44
FOL

How do I do that?
lovinggames is offline  
Old 11 March 2015, 00:22   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,663
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinggames View Post
FOL

How do I do that?
in CLI, type addbuffers yourdevice yourvalue

example addbuffers DH0: 2000

This will allocate 2MB to DH0:
Not sure it will work on a folder as they are limited if I recall to around 50.

To remove buffers use this;
addbuffers DH0: -2000

Before I found out about buffers, I remember leaving my computer on all night just to copy 4GB.
FOL is offline  
Old 11 March 2015, 00:32   #5
lovinggames
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: moscov/russia
Posts: 44
FOL thanks it says the folder hd as 50 buffer value ;(
lovinggames is offline  
Old 11 March 2015, 10:06   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,107
Directory harddrive buffer is not real buffer value, it only exists to keep amigados and programs that query it or change it happy, it does nothing. (Why would it need when host OS does all file level buffering/caching automatically?)

Most likely reason is wrong ("too accurate"/slow) UAE configuration.

EDIT: Direct block level access (not directory) is totally different thing.
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 02:41
Performance Issue - ClassicWB Large Hard Drive Support (> 4GB) dabone project.ClassicWB 10 13 May 2010 22:15
USB DVD-Drive DyLucke request.Apps 4 04 June 2009 22:00
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 09:53
How do i use usb drive as HD in winuae? PowerPie5000 support.WinUAE 30 26 February 2009 18:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06466 seconds with 13 queries