English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 November 2017, 11:55   #1
Alen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich / Switzerland
Age: 45
Posts: 18
Using MUI in WinUAE

A while ago I installed Workbench 3.1 on WinUAE 3.4 and asked what to do to get higher resolutions:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=86537

After that I followed the instructions how to install MUI:
http://guide.abime.net/wb3.1/chap6.htm

So my workbench looks now like this:
Click image for larger version

Name:	01_workbench.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	94.3 KB
ID:	55412

My resolution is 1024x768 (32bit):
Click image for larger version

Name:	02_screenmode _1024x768.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	173.6 KB
ID:	55413

This is the MUI Folder (after installation of MUI):
Click image for larger version

Name:	03_mui_folder.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	156.9 KB
ID:	55414

And here a screenshot of the MUI Preferences:
Click image for larger version

Name:	04_mui_preferences.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	352.3 KB
ID:	55415

Questions:

1.)
Why I don't see the "Magic WB" Icons?

2.)
Why are the Icons for example for "Ram Disk" and "System" only "half height"?

3.)
Why only the Icon "Programs" seems to have the correct height?

4.)
Why some Icons have that strange "violet/blue" color?

Do I have to configure something else to get the Magic Workbench Icons/Look?

(Just want to figure this out first time for myself, as back in the early 90's my A2000 had only Kick 2.1 with WB2, so I never tryed out the MUI/MagicWB... - so curious now to see how it works)
Alen is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 12:07   #2
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,048
you need magicwb additionally to mui, if you want to have magicwb icons. this will also fix your colour problem.
if you don't want to install magicwb, you can also fix these icon colours using fullpalette tool. see this thread.
honx is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 12:17   #3
Alen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich / Switzerland
Age: 45
Posts: 18
Ah - thanks for the link Honx! Let me try that...
Alen is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 12:44   #4
Alen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich / Switzerland
Age: 45
Posts: 18
Ah, stupid... It was already explained here:
http://guide.abime.net/wb3.1/chap8m1.htm
(with a link to "magicwb2.1p.lha")

Ok, this is how it looks like now:
Click image for larger version

Name:	05_magicwb.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	151.2 KB
ID:	55416

2 Questions:

1.)
Is it possible to change (or remove) the background in the unregistered version of MagicWB?

2.)
In the above tutorial in point 10 (would you like to have the "Dock Images" registered) I clicked on "N" (as it stands in the tutorial).
Lets say now I want to see anyway how they look like - can I just run the installer again and in Point 10 choose "y" or is there a better way?
Alen is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 13:17   #5
Alen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich / Switzerland
Age: 45
Posts: 18
Found the answer to question 1 myself:
PREFS - WBPATTERN, change Type "Picture" to "Pattern" and SAVE.

Looks like this now:
Click image for larger version

Name:	06_wbpattern.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	159.9 KB
ID:	55417

Problems with the unregistered Version:

a.)
Splashscreen everytime you boot the virtual Amiga Workbench:
Click image for larger version

Name:	07_splashscreen.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	127.1 KB
ID:	55418

b.)
See the Icon for "WBPattern" in my first screenshot - each icon displays that "Unregistered MagicWB register!" when clicked


Well I see that registering the MagicWB is not possible anymore:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=86148

I saw something about free replacements:
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=21415
(but seems there "no replacements for the icon set").

Hm... that means we have to get used to the unregistered version or is there any workaround?
Alen is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 13:28   #6
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,048
the one i have linked (2.0r) was the latest registered version. 2.1p is incomplete and not registered.
honx is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 14:29   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alen View Post
2.)
Why are the Icons for example for "Ram Disk" and "System" only "half height"?

3.)
Why only the Icon "Programs" seems to have the correct height?
Because they were stored in that location, on AmigaOS every single icon can be saved in the desired position.
I like to keep them down on the right
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 15:33   #8
Alen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich / Switzerland
Age: 45
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
the one i have linked (2.0r) was the latest registered version. 2.1p is incomplete and not registered.
Oh Man, awesome - thanks!
Is it maybe possible to reinstall the 2.0r over the 2.1p?

(otherwise not a big deal, I have a copy of the harddiskfile before I installed 2.1p...)
Alen is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 15:49   #9
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,048
i'm not sure. never had this situation before. to be sure i recommend using backup of hdf.
honx is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 15:56   #10
Alen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich / Switzerland
Age: 45
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
i'm not sure. never had this situation before. to be sure i recommend using backup of hdf.
Thanks for everything honx!
(I'll first try for fun what happens with an Installation of 2.0R over 2.1p and if it doesnt work, will do it on the backuped hdf...)
Alen is offline  
Old 15 November 2017, 09:41   #11
Alen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Zürich / Switzerland
Age: 45
Posts: 18
Just in case somebody else is interested later on:
When installing 2.0R, you get this info during the installation:
Click image for larger version

Name:	reinstall.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	55432

So I guess its NOT a good idea to install 2.0R over 2.1p
(I cancelled the installation and used the backup of my hdf where it wasn't installed yet, so I could do a proper fresh installation of 2.0R)
Alen is offline  
Old 15 November 2017, 10:52   #12
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 365
Using MUI in WinUAE

MagicWB really only is
- a set of icons
- a program to set the palette
- a script to initially exchange the original icons.

Once the icons are replaced you may use other programs to set or fix the palette.
MagicWB is not much of a program that keeps running.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 15 November 2017, 11:43   #13
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,541
MagicWB it can also work well on a modern RTG screen, i am created a Themes for Workbench

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 15 November 2017 at 19:25.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 15 November 2017, 19:14   #14
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 365
Why would an icon have any advantage over another on an RTG???
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 15 November 2017, 19:26   #15
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
Why would an icon have any advantage over another on an RTG???
Nobody advantage just a different theme

AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workbench 3.1 with MUI on WinUAE 3.4 Alen support.WinUAE 3 28 March 2017 18:53
Horizontal Group Has Content Partially Hidden in MUI v4, Not MUI v3.8a tygre support.Apps 6 29 February 2016 03:27
Mui 3.8 HymnsomniaK New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 23 June 2006 05:02
MUI problems with WinUAE 0.8.22.R8 Tolismlf support.WinUAE 5 26 November 2004 21:05
Installing MUI on a WinUAE - probs Dave support.WinUAE 2 26 April 2002 16:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08057 seconds with 14 queries