English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 April 2013, 11:06   #1
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,529
As a new Amiga A1200 owner - Tip Guides -

My Amiga A1200 is due to arrive on monday, it's supposed to be clean inside and out and a 4GB CF installed partitioned into 2x2GB.

What would you recommend I do first? Any tips?

(Apart from load it up)
Neil79 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 April 2013, 11:27   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Check out Classic Workbench:

http://classicwb.abime.net/

It contains all you need to get the most out of your Amiga, enhancements, programs, etc and is ready for WHDLoad Games/Demos to be added with some launchers.

There is a Classic Workbench pack suitable for virtually every Amiga!

You will want a means to transfer files from PC to Amiga & Amiga to PC, either a PCMCIA CF adapter or networking kit would be ideal, Classic Workbench had the PCMCIA CF drivers so you can just grab an el cheapo adapter from eBay:


http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CF-compact...item2c674a14c0

You can get them from China half the price if you don't mind waiting 2-3 weeks...

If you don't have any Fast Ram you might want to invest in one of the new ACA1220/1232's (available from Amigakit) or just a bog standard 4mb Trapdoor Ram which is sufficient for WHDLoad.

If you want to keep the hardware classic you can't go wrong with the Blizzard 1230MkIV

For the time being if the budget doesn't stretch to the Ram/CPU upgrade you can use the PCMCIA adapter to transfer ADF's to real Disks to play. Classic Workbench has TSGui included for writing the images back.

Oh and have fun & enjoy your new A1200
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 27 April 2013, 11:37   #3
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,529
Wow fitzsteve, that's exactly what I was looking for!


We should have a sticky on EAB regarding new owners of Amiga's, like what they should get, configured, the best stuff e.t.c

p.s I'm using classicWB on my pc(Winuae) hah
Neil79 is offline  
Old 27 April 2013, 23:01   #4
RetroPaul
Registered User

RetroPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Coventry/UK
Posts: 62
I recently got back into Amiga's and started with an A1200. Firstly I bought a 4GB CF drive for ClassicWB and WHDload. I then realised most games won't load due to lack of memory. So I bought the following:-

ACA1220 25MHz from Amiga kit
3.1 Roms (Allows the Amiga to automatically see all the ram from the 1220)

Now it plays all the classic games with ease, some of the 3d games are too slow to play (Doom/AB3d2) but I'm only interested in the classic games anyway.

Be warned though Amiga's are addictive (and expensive!), Ive just bought my 2nd CD32 a Honeybee joypad and missed out on an SX1 by a couple of quid on eBay. I'm barely have any time to use any of it and I'm not sure why I even want it. Just doing the things I could only dream of a kid I guess
RetroPaul is offline  
Old 27 April 2013, 23:05   #5
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,223
fitzsteve - I actually thought ClassicWB was an alternative to usual WB, but am I right in assuming it is WB but with pre-configured files (although it uses real WB disks to 'set it up'?)...

"Required
•Emulator to run the HDF provided (WinUAE is assumed)
•3.0/3.1 ROM
•Workbench 3.0/3.1 ADF
"

I wanted to use on A600 which is 2.05. BTW the ClassicWB UAE is beautiful! Is this what AIAB used?!

EDIT: Should have just read the documentation first. Sorry! Yes it is just that ...

Last edited by lesta_smsc; 27 April 2013 at 23:16.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 28 April 2013, 00:15   #6
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,529
I could've had the extra ram,fpu speed but that would've pushed it to 300 and I was limited to 140 or so
Neil79 is offline  
Old 28 April 2013, 13:43   #7
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 42
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
Get a registered copy of WHDLoad http://www.whdload.de/reg.html
I bought easyADF from Amigakit for transferring files from Amiga to PC and vice versa http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=440
Djay is offline  
Old 29 April 2013, 22:25   #8
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,529
EasyADF PCMCIA Compact Flash Transfer Kit, is this what I need to install ClassicWB/WHDload and all the games into the 4GB CF HD?
Neil79 is offline  
Old 29 April 2013, 22:30   #9
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Nope, you just need a USB CF card reader for your PC and follow my guide:

http://www.fitzstevesamigaworld.co.uk/?p=65

Of course you need the CF and IDE adapter/cable for your Amiga
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 29 April 2013, 22:35   #10
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
I wanted to use on A600 which is 2.05. BTW the ClassicWB UAE is beautiful! Is this what AIAB used?!

EDIT: Should have just read the documentation first. Sorry! Yes it is just that ...
They do make a ClassicWB for 2.x Amigas....
http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/gaae.htm
I haven't used it so I don't know what it does/doesn't have...

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 29 April 2013, 22:35   #11
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Nope, you just need a USB CF card reader for your PC and follow my guide:

http://www.fitzstevesamigaworld.co.uk/?p=65

Of course you need the CF and IDE adapter/cable for your Amiga
Yeh
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=44275

USB CF Card Reader, interesting... Though that means taking the CF out of the Amiga taking it apart?


Think the roms are 3.0 btw, was looking at the replies
Neil79 is offline  
Old 29 April 2013, 22:53   #12
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I don't recommend you do the whole install over PCMCIA it will take forever!

The transfer rate is pretty slow, ok for a few files at a time like ADF's or a few games, etc but not on bulk.

It's really simple to take it apart if you're careful there's very little chance you will damage anything.

Last edited by fitzsteve; 29 April 2013 at 22:59. Reason: typo
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 29 April 2013, 23:02   #13
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,529
Cheers Fitz!
Neil79 is offline  
Old 29 April 2013, 23:14   #14
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,176
Is kipper2k out of his CF card adapters?
If you aren't afraid of modding your case a bit, his adapter puts the CF card right above the PCMCIA slot for easy removal/insertion of the CF card. (Of course, while the system is off)

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 29 April 2013, 23:18   #15
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,529
I need to learn how to open the Amiga again anyway, I used to build PC systems and built this pc so...

Last edited by Neil79; 29 April 2013 at 23:24.
Neil79 is offline  
Old 29 April 2013, 23:45   #16
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
If you're anywhere near Sevenoaks you're welcome to pop over some time, I can image the CF card in about 20 mins with all the Games

By the way, I just found this!

http://www.2e0zak.co.uk/amiga/strip-down.html

Might help
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 30 April 2013, 00:11   #17
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,529
Canterbury, only 1hr away
Neil79 is offline  
Old 30 April 2013, 00:35   #18
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,529
I notice you said 10 for the service, which I feel is pretty decent

When can you set it up? I'm available Tomorrow and Friday but not Wednesday as it's our pets funeral

And this includes every Amiga WHDLOAD game on the 4GB? I have my own WHDLOAD.key

My Amiga 1200 is of the Standard 2MEG, so probably classicWB Lite would be the one.. I'll be upgrading at some point
Neil79 is offline  
Old 30 April 2013, 00:39   #19
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Don't need the money I'm just happy to help out

Drop me a PM and we can arrange a time for you to drop by
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 30 April 2013, 00:42   #20
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,529
Thanks man!

pm incoming
Neil79 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tips for a new A1200 owner Clym5 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 47 09 February 2013 12:46
Help for a new Amiga owner using a CF please mancity support.Hardware 18 27 April 2012 17:29
Amiga Lore Site Guides CodyJarrett project.Amiga Lore 0 13 April 2012 12:16
Newbie A1200 owner questions Old Fool support.Hardware 26 27 August 2010 15:43
Green Amiga Alien Guides Update Paul News 0 03 August 2004 12:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25540 seconds with 13 queries