English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 April 2013, 22:53   #1
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 1,204
Question what made you buy an external drive?

Curious question
Me personally was to play disk swapping games like Rocket Ranger play at ease, although my first noisy A1010 broke down in a week! The replacement was quieter and never failed since.
Other reasons were faster copying at copyparties, and the SCA Miami Vice demo. When I bought a 5-1/4 drive to save on floppy costs, the mandatory hardware boot switch was installed on my A500.
So what about you lads?
dirkies is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 April 2013, 23:03   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
My external drive was Roctec. I was worried that there was something wrong because led was off after connecting to Amiga Drive was more silent than internal, copying with X-Copy was much faster. I liked Street Fighter II and second drive was helpful - game was on 4 disks.
s2325 is offline  
Old 21 April 2013, 23:06   #3
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,605
I never had an external disk drive back in the day, as I had practically no money back then. My A500+ also only had 1MB RAM, so I used D-Copy which could copy a full floppy without switching multiple times (the X-Copy I had could not).

I bought my first external drive last year since I always wanted one (and now I have money for it), but must admit that I have never really used it for much.
demolition is offline  
Old 21 April 2013, 23:09   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
I bought a Cumana external 3½-inch drive for my Escom AT1200 because the internal floppy drive had been giving read errors from new and I could not be certain whether the drive or the disks were at fault (I was an Amiga n00b at the time ).

It was the drive which had been faulty; all the disks read perfectly in the Cumana (I had been trying to create ADF files from the disks for use in emulation). That was ten years ago and that Cumana drive is still one of the best Amiga floppy drives I have.

I bought the Escom machine from Eyetech, whose customer support was notoriously bad, so decided it wasn't worth it to pursue with them the matter of the bad floppy drive.

(I recently purchased a couple of replacement internal floppy drives for my Commodore and Escom A1200s, but haven't yet got around to modifying the AT1200 motherboard to accept the drive.)
prowler is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 01:55   #5
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
Pretty sure it was Dragons Lair made me buy a 2nd disk drive..


Lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 11:10   #6
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,440
To get rid of disk swapping when doing something that needed Workbench files. Soon a 2nd drive was added.
zipper is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 11:26   #7
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,762
Dune 2.
Predseda is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 11:50   #8
clebin
Registered User
clebin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
My external drive was Roctec. I was worried that there was something wrong because led was off after connecting to Amiga Drive was more silent than internal, copying with X-Copy was much faster. I liked Street Fighter II and second drive was helpful - game was on 4 disks.
Yes, the Roctec was a very good drive as my mate delighted in telling the two of us who owned Cumana drives! Aside from the metal construction and slimness, the speed it honed in on tracks with X-Copy was one of the things he went on about. Still, the Cumana never really let me down!
clebin is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 13:54   #9
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
i got one to play monkey island 1 and 2 and fate of atlantis mainly.

but it was for the other multi disk games as well before i got a harddrive.
roy bates is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 14:23   #10
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 1,204
I remember Sinbad and the Throne of the Falcon which became a much more cool experience (actually virtually all Cinemaware games, as most were quite frequent swappers)
However was disappointed some 2 disk games refused to accept a DF1 drive and kept stubbornly asking for disk 2 in DF0 only (rare to find trackdisk games which took into account a 2nd drive).
And of course it made life a lot easier for hacking and productivity, it increased the lifetime of the internal drive and eject button due to less swapping.
back in the days a HDD was way too expensive for me, and my A501 expansion gave me a RAD drive but not big enough to fit a full floppy in it.
when I got my A4000 a HDD and 2x1.76 floppies were immediately part of the package, although I must also admit I did not use as intensely my DF1 in my A4000 as I did with the ext on the A500. Instead I copied those Cinemaware games onto HDD (or even in RAM!) and after some fiddling they ran great, sometimes too fast as Cinemaware used the disk swap request delays to time the conversations (eg in Sinbad), and when you ran the game from HDD or even RAD it would result in the conversations disappearing so fast as the next scene starting. Always bugged me on that one
For the moment I still have the A1010 (!), an ext 3 1/2 Cumana (very good ones indeed), a noname ext 5 1/4 drive (faulty me thinks) and lost another 5 1/4 drive (prob lend it to someone and forgot to ask it back!). Also have a spare new original internal A500 Commodore drive (original one from 1988 started to get very noisy) and last but not least the 2xFDD Kryoflux and the USB and SD editions of the Lotharek "drives".
Enough removable storage for my A500
dirkies is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 14:56   #11
laffer
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 1,335
I bought one to avoid all the floppy switching, I was very much into adventure games and they came on a ton of floppies sometimes.

I also got it to make it easier to.... ehem, make backups!

I remember external floppy drives were pretty cheap... back then, I found it extremely cheap as I was used to the price of the C64 floppy drive... which I could never afford (was more expensive than the C64 itself, at least later on!).
laffer is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 17:25   #12
John Pillow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 37
Had a A1010 external floppy disk drive for a while, can't remember if it was because of Monkey Island or Dragon's Lair, and then "of course" used it extensively with good old X-Copy ("maraude it professional"!)… A few months later a friend of mine wanted to swap his A2000 for my A500 + drive, quite the deal :-)
John Pillow is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 17:58   #13
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,173
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Pirating games.
DDNI is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 19:06   #14
quahappy
Born again WinUAE user

quahappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 1,661
Once games started having more than one disk and disk-swapping started to get on my ti... nerves, that's when I invested in the Cumana 3.5" External Disk Drive which had never let me down. Can't recall the year. Must admit the external DD was invaluable during my AMOS programming days.
quahappy is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 19:28   #15
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 751
I bought it mostly to able copy games faster. I first bought 512kb extraram which made the copying faster, but an external floppy made it even faster.
Also remember that Wings was more enjoyable with two drives.
fryguy is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 23:47   #16
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
Another couple games that drove me nuts for swapping was rocket ranger and roger rabbit... swap 10 times to play 30 sec's and die and then another 10 swaps! (felt like it anyhow lol ) .. Remember also buying the commodore 512k up grade just to play dungeon master 1 meg version at the time. Then came falcon! opps k off topic.

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 00:23   #17
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,223
Yes those crazy annoying games that needed an insane amount of disk swaps!! OMG it was sooo nice to get that 2nd drive!!

I had a A1010 and later got a California Access CA-880. It was my favorite drive, I have two of them today, my original from 1988 and one I got on eBay several years ago!


Last edited by TjLaZer; 02 May 2013 at 05:59.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 01:29   #18
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 42
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
X-Copy

First one I bought was a Cumana and have I stuck with the brand ever since
Djay is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 17:40   #19
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,912
Games - copying and playing
But useful for apps as well

Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
I liked Street Fighter II and second drive was helpful - game was on 4 disks.
This is when Floppys had realy reached there end
Although you could backup superior SNES or MD version on 2 Disks - Ok maybe not fair comparison but................

Last edited by prowler; 01 May 2013 at 22:14. Reason: Split 5.25" media discussion to another thread.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 17:44   #20
Rob 1
The Original Domainiac

Rob 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Stafford/UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,291
I have to agree with most of you guys making "back ups"

Games wise there are certain games aren't there where you would need to swap and swap back again. I think most of these games I played were Cinemaware games Wings, ICFTD etc....

Has anyone ever asked the similar question...

Why did you first upgrade to 1mb?

(I suppose you have to be a bit older for that question)
Rob 1 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC Drive in an External Amiga Drive mr_magnell support.Hardware 15 29 August 2013 00:48
Are you interested in DIY hardware or would you rather buy ready-made solutions? Jope support.Hardware 88 19 March 2013 14:44
Can I use external floppy drive as internal drive? Mrs Beanbag support.Hardware 6 12 December 2012 19:15
External drive question Old Fool support.Hardware 6 22 November 2011 18:01
External 3.5 Drive Sparticle support.Hardware 7 19 June 2009 22:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09054 seconds with 13 queries