English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 May 2011, 21:40   #21
ppill
CON: artist
 
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250
Sorry for no updates but I've started rehearsals for a new play I'm in and haven't had much time to tinker with Hombre.

http://aminet.net/package/misc/fish/fish-0172

Here's a little program called PopInfo (with source in C) that should be helpful with the "volume info" problem (updates).
ppill is offline  
Old 09 May 2011, 18:01   #22
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill View Post
Sorry for no updates but I've started rehearsals for a new play I'm in and haven't had much time to tinker with Hombre.
No rush. I spend an hour a day at most working on this, and it will be a while before it's all finished.

The problem with the volume information wasn't as easy to solve as I thought.

You can just call Lock() and Info() on an arbitrary volume to get the information, and it always works, but if the volume is not available you get a requester on the screen, which obviously is a no-go for this type of app, and the documentation mentions no way of suppressing it.

I've still got more options to look at, and will ask around a bit as well. If there are any AmigaDOS experts here who know the solution, then don't hesitate to post.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 09 May 2011, 18:13   #23
ppill
CON: artist
 
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250
Take your time... no worries.

One issue with the latest version. The title bar seems to be 1 pixel thicker compared to others. Is there a way around that. Also could the text be white and the background black (basically a negative of what it is now)... it's more legible that way.

Thanks
ppill is offline  
Old 09 May 2011, 18:19   #24
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
if the volume is not available you get a requester on the screen, which obviously is a no-go for this type of app, and the documentation mentions no way of suppressing it.
Documented way to disable dos requesters is to set your process' pr_WindowPtr = -1. Remember to restore old value.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 May 2011, 18:21   #25
ppill
CON: artist
 
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Documented way to disable dos requesters is to set your process' pr_WindowPtr = -1. Remember to restore old value.
Is there a way to do this for the whole system (useful for shell sessions over a text terminal)?
ppill is offline  
Old 09 May 2011, 18:53   #26
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill View Post
Is there a way to do this for the whole system (useful for shell sessions over a text terminal)?
Child processes inherit pr_WindowPtr from parent so simply setting parent's (boot shell) pr_WindowPtr to -1 should work. (Of course some programs may clear it for some unknown reason)

Not tested, not guranteed to work
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 May 2011, 18:58   #27
ppill
CON: artist
 
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Child processes inherit pr_WindowPtr from parent so simply setting parent's (boot shell) pr_WindowPtr to -1 should work. (Of course some programs may clear it for some unknown reason)

Not tested, not guranteed to work
Great, will check that. Maybe that's way the patches I've used didn't work.
ppill is offline  
Old 09 May 2011, 18:59   #28
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill View Post
Take your time... no worries.

One issue with the latest version. The title bar seems to be 1 pixel thicker compared to others. Is there a way around that. Also could the text be white and the background black (basically a negative of what it is now)... it's more legible that way.

Thanks
Sure, like this? Or do you want to keep the thin frame around the title bar? What about its looks under 2.0? The vertical bar on the left edge of the window belongs to the close-gadget.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Documented way to disable dos requesters is to set your process' pr_WindowPtr = -1. Remember to restore old value.
Thanks, I'll try that.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hombre.png
Views:	187
Size:	14.5 KB
ID:	28626  
Leffmann is offline  
Old 09 May 2011, 19:09   #29
ppill
CON: artist
 
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
Sure, like this? Or do you want to keep the thin frame around the title bar? What about its looks under 2.0? The vertical bar on the left edge of the window belongs to the close-gadget.
Just like this but with the thin frame

Doesn't matter how it's going to look under 2.x, don't worry about it.
ppill is offline  
Old 10 May 2011, 21:44   #30
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,269
Just remembered why I added 1 line to the window like you noticed, it's because the font connects with the window frame otherwise. The other screenshot shows it as a backdrop without frame and gadgets, which can't be dragged around the screen but looks nicer. Which do you prefer?

Last edited by Leffmann; 27 March 2018 at 20:27.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 10 May 2011, 21:48   #31
ppill
CON: artist
 
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
Just remembered why I added 1 line to the window like you noticed, it's because the font connects with the window frame otherwise. The other screenshot shows it as a backdrop without frame and gadgets, which can't be dragged around the screen but looks nicer. Which do you prefer?
The second one (backdrop) please

Could the text be centered? So you can open a 620 window to fit the entire width of the screen... and not worry about the position of the text (also useful when the values change and whole status message "shrinks")
ppill is offline  
Old 10 May 2011, 21:53   #32
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,269
Ok I'll make it centered horizontally and able to be positioned vertically by command line with an option to force it to the bottom of the screen. To close the app I'll add a check for clicking the text and pressing escape, or something of that kind. I'll see if I can write it all up before end of this week.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 10 May 2011, 21:56   #33
ppill
CON: artist
 
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
Ok I'll make it centered horizontally and able to be positioned vertically by command line with an option to force it to the bottom of the screen. To close the app I'll add a check for clicking the text and pressing escape, or something of that kind. I'll see if I can write it all up before end of this week.
Brilliant Maybe a right-click or both mouse buttons?
ppill is offline  
Old 11 May 2011, 16:12   #34
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,269
Give this one a good test to see if it works properly.

Last edited by Leffmann; 12 May 2011 at 23:34.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 11 May 2011, 16:13   #35
ppill
CON: artist
 
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
Give this one a good test to see if it works properly.
Sure will I'll post any feedback in the evening.
ppill is offline  
Old 12 May 2011, 12:30   #36
ppill
CON: artist
 
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250
Ok, the thing works great only I'm not sure how to set the position via the CLI options.

I use -1 to get it to open on the bottom of the screen other parameters don't seem to work...

Is it 'gauge x y "status"'?

The double button press to exit works and the Volume info as well
ppill is offline  
Old 12 May 2011, 14:12   #37
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,269
I removed the X argument since it's always centered, so it's Gauge Y "Format" now. There's a small description of usage in the source code as well.

I noticed you had almost no disk space left on Hombre so I've removed a lot of sanity checks and compiled it with SAS/C, I can't get the file size any smaller than this.

Here's the final (unless something needs fixing) with source code included, you can apply whatever license you want to the files.

Last edited by Leffmann; 12 May 2011 at 23:34.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 12 May 2011, 21:29   #38
ppill
CON: artist
 
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250


This is absolutely fantastic. It'll make a great addition to the whole package.

The space is not really an issue since you can always use xpkmaster's NUKE library to pack the executable (XLoadSeg takes care of that, so you can execute packed code). It's just over 8kb when compressed so not really a big space filler

There's just one last thing (LAST ONE, I promise ). I got carried away with the whole Backdrop window flag thing. It makes the gauge's window hide under the screen title bar when x=0. Removing the flag should fix that:

Code:
w.Flags       = WFLG_BACKDROP | WFLG_BORDERLESS | WFLG_RMBTRAP |
It'd still be borderless with no title bar so should stay in place

I prefer it on the bottom of the screen but I'm weird that way and others probably would like to choose the top of the screen.

I'll just make sure any new Shell windows open just under the screen bar so you can see Gauge in all it's glory

And yes, SASC certainly helped to reduce the size which is always a bonus when dealing with floppy disks.

Thanks again for all you work. I hope you had fun putting it all together and learned a few things along the way

I'll post some nice screenshots later.
ppill is offline  
Old 12 May 2011, 23:33   #39
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,269
Ok I've removed the backdrop flag and made it to extend the window height to cover the screen title bar whenever it's placed at Y=0.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill View Post
Thanks again for all you work. I hope you had fun putting it all together and learned a few things along the way
No probs!
Attached Files
File Type: lha gauge.lha (10.9 KB, 102 views)
Leffmann is offline  
Old 13 May 2011, 09:14   #40
ppill
CON: artist
 
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250


Looking good
ppill is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Someone wrote a KGLoad type proggie.... Bloodwych Amiga scene 22 12 August 2010 00:58
Looking for old comms proggie bigmac request.Apps 2 28 January 2009 14:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:43.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09980 seconds with 16 queries