English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Old Rare Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 October 2011, 17:02   #1
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 511
Working image of Second Samurai demo (Amiga Format 51a)

I've tried both of the ADFs on the file server (in /Collection/Coverdisk/Amiga Format) and the ADF from AMR, but can't get either to work with any WinUAE config - A500, A600, A1200 at different compatibility settings.

It's a copy-protected disk (i.e. it appears in Workbench as 'DF0:NDOS') so I guess it would have to be an extended ADF or an IPF (except I can't request IPFs here, so forget I mentioned it...)
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 06 October 2011, 17:34   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
Can you see some error?
s2325 is offline  
Old 06 October 2011, 17:46   #3
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 511
Well I get a screen like the one attached (but scrolling) or sometimes it's just red and blie vertical lines, depends on the config settings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	error.png
Views:	174
Size:	14.6 KB
ID:	29572  
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 06 October 2011, 17:48   #4
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
Sometimes it's sign to change disks, what is on disk 51b?
s2325 is offline  
Old 06 October 2011, 17:51   #5
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 511
A demo of Skidmarks and TurboPrint 2. That one is a standard AmigaDOS disk, and there's nothing on it relating to this as far as I can see.

I get the weird screen just a couple of seconds after starting the emulation. I've looked at the relevant coverdisk pages - they are scanned in on AMR - but there are no special instructions.
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 06 October 2011, 17:53   #6
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
I can try this evening if you need but results may be the same.
s2325 is offline  
Old 06 October 2011, 17:55   #7
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 511
Thanks, it's worth a go if that's alright.
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 06 October 2011, 17:59   #8
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
If it's after few seconds and not later I think it's something in bootblock, not startup-sequence. Or maybe it's a copy and result is just weird lines.
s2325 is offline  
Old 06 October 2011, 20:18   #9
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
Sorry but I have same effect with my configurations with WinUAE 1.6.0
s2325 is offline  
Old 06 October 2011, 20:23   #10
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
For what its worth, I remember having this very disk when I was younger (not anymore though) and it eventually decided to stop working, getting the same red and blue vertical lines as you describe. Also a (cracked) copy of the full game did much the same thing so I think it's merely a corrupt disk image.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 06 October 2011, 22:41   #11
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 511
Okay, thanks for trying s2325. Well, I'll keep on hoping someone has it. I'm trying to recreate my old coverdisk collection and so far this is the only one I can't get hold of.

(Interestingly Fiath's post from years back here suggests that someone did dump it for SPS but it was never released, but I don't want to sail too close to the wind here in terms of talking about IPFs on EAB!)
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 12 November 2011, 19:32   #12
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,132
I dug mine out of my collection of original AF disks and this works on my A1200, checked it with X-Copy and it's just a plain DOS disk, no files, so ADF'd it with transdisk on my A1200, copied it to my PC and tried it on WinUAE and it won't work, same problem as post #3!!

Tried various combinations of A500, Rom 1.2/1.3, CHIP/FAST Ram and also A1200 but still won't boot! Has Toni had a look at this by any chance?
BarryB is offline  
Old 12 November 2011, 19:41   #13
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,455
Its copy protected, more than likely using the same John Twiddy disk format as Aladdin, Cool Spot etc.

Hidden information in the gap which means to a copier it looks like a normal AmigaDOS disk, simply replacing the loader for a standard sector loader will bypass this useless copyprotection, or simply hack the loader to remove the internal check.
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 12 November 2011, 22:15   #14
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,132
Yep, you're right Galahad!

I just did a DOSCOPY with X-Copy and the copy exhibits the same type of failure while loading on my A1200. Tried NIBBLE mode and the copy now works, just have to disable CPU caches on bootup to stop the graphics glitches.

Unfortunately my HDD on my A1200 has just died and I can't try anything else, like use NIBWARB and then copy it back to an ADF on WinUAE!! Now I've got to mess about trying to recover my HDD
BarryB is offline  
Old 12 November 2011, 23:10   #15
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 511
@BarryB - sorry to hear about your A1200.

Would be great if you were able to get this on to a usable ADF for WinUAE though!
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 12 November 2011, 23:55   #16
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,132
Well I managed to get a nibwarp image over to my PC using a Workbench 3 disk, 2 drives and a few CLI utils. Fired up WinUAE but nibwarp didn't seem to want to write to my blank ADF in DF0:? It went through the process of writing but the ADF was still blank?

Can nibwarp actually write back files to an ADF under WinUAE??
BarryB is offline  
Old 13 November 2011, 00:01   #17
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Won't it copy to an extended ADF (~2MB)?
prowler is offline  
Old 13 November 2011, 00:05   #18
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,132
Dunno, never used that format before? Better go find out how!!
BarryB is offline  
Old 13 November 2011, 00:11   #19
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
WinUAE allows you to create and then mount a blank extended ADF.

Hint: Select Floppy drives under Hardware in the GUI, and then hit the 'Create Custom Disk' button.

Last edited by prowler; 13 November 2011 at 00:19. Reason: Added hint.
prowler is offline  
Old 13 November 2011, 00:29   #20
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,132
Darn, saw that in Floppy Disk options and never twigged!! Anyway, it still won't work. It copied it to the extended ADF but still has the same failure on loading, so nibwarp didn't copy over the protection. To verify I wrote the nibwarped image back to a disk on my A1200 and it wouldn't load, so Galahad is right, it has some copy protection that can't be transfered to an ADF.

I couldn't get TSGUI working on my A1200, it just hung at the Read disk box and wouldn't read the disk. Might try rawread next, and another beer
BarryB is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone image the Amiga Power (#44) demo of Aladdin? antonvaltaz request.Old Rare Games 3 21 March 2012 19:36
Amiga Format coverdisk 53b (Uridium 2 demo) antonvaltaz request.Old Rare Games 38 15 August 2010 00:17
amiga format #30. Function keys not working on menu lost_lemming support.Apps 6 24 February 2010 15:51
Robocod & *working* First Samurai JohnnyWalker request.Old Rare Games 20 16 June 2007 18:50
First Samurai (100% working) andreas request.Old Rare Games 28 16 June 2003 00:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09323 seconds with 16 queries