English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 December 2017, 20:07   #161
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by DualC View Post
I get crashes in beta9 when i switch to dx11 it crash directly when i press start.
Did previous beta work? Does 32-bit version crash? Try also redownloading the beta because I accidentally uploaded wrong version first (compiled with beta compiler) and this may be the reason because dump file does not match.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 December 2017, 20:26   #162
DualC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Rimbo
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Did previous beta work? Does 32-bit version crash? Try also redownloading the beta because I accidentally uploaded wrong version first (compiled with beta compiler) and this may be the reason because dump file does not match.
I tried to download the 64 bit version again, but it seems to be the same i tried with first. 32Bit do also crash the same way as 64 bit.

I use Windows 7 and have also installed the DirectX 11.1 fix for it.

Last edited by DH; 03 December 2017 at 17:38. Reason: Deleted Direct Signature
DualC is offline  
Old 02 December 2017, 23:48   #163
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,959
Quote:
D3D11.dll=000007FEF6760000 Dxgi.dll=000007FEF6940000 D3DCompiler_47.dll=00000000
D3DCompiler_47.dll appears to be missing. (Of course it shouldn't crash but switch to D3D9). It does not appear to be standard Windows component until 8.1. I think I'll just make built-in default shaders precompiled to fix this dependency.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 December 2017, 10:12   #164
DualC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Rimbo
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
D3DCompiler_47.dll appears to be missing. (Of course it shouldn't crash but switch to D3D9). It does not appear to be standard Windows component until 8.1. I think I'll just make built-in default shaders precompiled to fix this dependency.
Hi Toni.

Now beta 9 seems to work for me, after i installed this under my Windows 7.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...ent-on-windows

It start up like a charm now..

BUT i wonder after i had a look in the logfile if it switch over to DX9 before it starts up, i cant figure it out.

I attach the logfile.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (15.7 KB, 17 views)

Last edited by DH; 03 December 2017 at 17:38. Reason: Deleted Direct Signature
DualC is offline  
Old 03 December 2017, 11:14   #165
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,959
I think you need this: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...er-2008-r2-sp1

There seems to be older way to handle this on non-updated win7 but I am not sure if I want to implement it.

d3dcompiler is not anymore required in next beta.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 December 2017, 12:16   #166
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Venom View Post
Makes no difference indeed, at least for me (tested on Win 10 + NVidia setup).
I couldn't find any reliable solutions so as a workaround, I'll simply close the fullscreen mode temporarily when GUI is open. (GUI is visible on desktop, main emulation window is nowhere to be seen)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 December 2017, 14:16   #167
DualC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Rimbo
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I think you need this: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...er-2008-r2-sp1

There seems to be older way to handle this on non-updated win7 but I am not sure if I want to implement it.

d3dcompiler is not anymore required in next beta.
Well as i said before i already has installed the DirectX 11.1 fix for Windows 7 who this platform update is. But it seems it does not install the missing DLL.

And Toni, did u look at my logfile as i thought the program went back to DX9 before it start's up?

Last edited by DH; 03 December 2017 at 17:38. Reason: Deleted Direct Signature
DualC is offline  
Old 03 December 2017, 16:18   #168
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by DualC View Post
Well as i said before i already has installed the DirectX 11.1 fix for Windows 7 who this platform update is. But it seems it does not install the missing DLL.

And Toni, did u look at my logfile as i thought the program went back to DX9 before it start's up?
It did install the dll because you didn't get the crash anymore
The reason for falling back to D3D9 is failure of CreateSwapChainForHwnd() and one possible reason is missing "platform update".

Try this: http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.7z and attach winuaelog.txt. (if it still does the same)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 December 2017, 16:53   #169
DualC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Rimbo
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It did install the dll because you didn't get the crash anymore
The reason for falling back to D3D9 is failure of CreateSwapChainForHwnd() and one possible reason is missing "platform update".

Try this: http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.7z and attach winuaelog.txt. (if it still does the same)
Hi.

Downloaded it and tried, seems it falling back to Direct3D 9.

Attaching log.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (15.6 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by DH; 03 December 2017 at 17:38. Reason: Deleted Direct Signature
DualC is offline  
Old 03 December 2017, 17:00   #170
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,959
I already found problem before your reply, you have 16-bit mode selected and it wasn't working correctly. Redownload. (Make sure datestamp has changed, sometimes cache returns old version)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 December 2017, 17:17   #171
DualC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Rimbo
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I already found problem before your reply, you have 16-bit mode selected and it wasn't working correctly. Redownload. (Make sure datestamp has changed, sometimes cache returns old version)
Sucess i guess, i changed to 32bit and it seems to work now.

Attaching log.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (15.4 KB, 17 views)

Last edited by DH; 03 December 2017 at 17:37. Reason: Deleted Direct Signature
DualC is offline  
Old 04 December 2017, 13:01   #172
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I couldn't find any reliable solutions so as a workaround, I'll simply close the fullscreen mode temporarily when GUI is open. (GUI is visible on desktop, main emulation window is nowhere to be
seen)
OK..

I did notice something particular with the old behaviour in a multimonitor setup. When you move the GUI to the second monitor, i.e. off the monitor where the main WinUAE screen resides, then opening and closing the GUI is without issues (no WinUAE screen minimization on GUI close).
Dr.Venom is offline  
Old 04 December 2017, 20:23   #173
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,959
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3600b10.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_3600b10.7z

Beta 10:

Direct3D11 support should now work in any Windows 7SP1+ installation without extra manual updates (that D3D9 required) and also work with most older GPUs.

- DIVS/DIVU overflow condition undefined flags emulated. 68000 was already correct (N is also always set). 68020/030 has weird extra conditions. 68040/060 never sets undefined flags.
- Direct3D11 init failing due to missing DLLs caused a crash.
- D3D11 mode now uses pre-compiled shaders, D3DCompiler_47.dll is not needed anymore, which is not system built-in in Windows 7 and 8.0.
- D3D11 fullscreen now temporarily switches to desktop when opening GUI. Opening GUI on top of fullscreen is unreliable, causing random black screens, dropping to desktop with blank emulation window visible etc...
- D3D11 16-bit mode is now working, only main texture should be 16-bit, everything else needs to be 32-bit (GPU does needed conversions internally).
- D3D11 mode minimum supported hardware level is now 10.0 (was 11.0)
- Gigatron Arriba boot ROM support added.
- GUI OSD now ignores very quick floppy select/deselects (for example used to check diskchanges), floppy OSD only lights when drive is selected for more than 1 frames. Reduces number of useless OSD updates.
- Added "CIA 391078-01" advanced chipset checkbox. This CIA revision has a bug, if IO port is in output mode, reading it will always read output mode data state. Other models, including original DIP 8520, 391078-02 and Akiko internal CIAs read IO pin external voltage level as documented. This can affect "bad" mouse left button/joystick fire button reading code if it uses output mode.
- Joystick fire button/mouse left button CIA IO ports in output mode always used 391078-01 behavior.
- 68020/030 instruction cache update, cache read hits were possible even if cache was disabled.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 05 December 2017, 10:10   #174
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Beta 10:

- D3D11 fullscreen now temporarily switches to desktop when opening GUI. Opening GUI on top of fullscreen is unreliable, causing random black screens, dropping to desktop with blank emulation window visible etc...
I'm encountering an issue that after exiting GUI in fullscreen mode the image is displaced. I.e. after GUI exit:
- the image is restored but only about a quarter of the image is displayed in the top left part of the screen
- the part displayed in the top left is the lower right part of the amiga screen..

This is when starting from d3d11.uae config.. Logs also attached.
Attached Files
File Type: uae d3d11.uae (11.9 KB, 18 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (13.2 KB, 12 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (8.8 KB, 14 views)
Dr.Venom is offline  
Old 05 December 2017, 18:25   #175
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Venom View Post
I'm encountering an issue that after exiting GUI in fullscreen mode the image is displaced. I.e. after GUI exit:
- the image is restored but only about a quarter of the image is displayed in the top left part of the screen
- the part displayed in the top left is the lower right part of the amiga screen..

This is when starting from d3d11.uae config.. Logs also attached.
These values are logged when correct screen is shown?:

Quote:
POS (0 0 1920 1080) - (-584 -253 376 287)[960,540] (480 270)
0 0 2 2
-> -752.000000 574.000000 752.000000 -574.000000 2.000000 2.000000
And these are logged after exiting GUI and wrong screen is shown?:

Quote:
POS (0 0 1920 1080) - (0 0 960 540)[960,540] (480 270)
0 0 2 2
-> -1920.000000 1080.000000 1920.000000 -1080.000000 2.000000 2.000000
(If true, something causes screen size/position values to change)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 05 December 2017, 20:50   #176
antiriad76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Westfield
Posts: 67
Quick question. What does DX11 improve over the previous DX9 as far as the emulation goes?

I am assuming we will still be able to run DX9 on Laptops or older machines with low end GFX Cards.
antiriad76 is offline  
Old 05 December 2017, 22:18   #177
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,959
This probably was mentioned previously or some other thread:

- All required files are Windows built-in (not unlike separate annoying dx9 redistributable)
- In D3D10 mode mostly compatible with old non-D3D11 hardware too. (Not ancient, of course )
- It allows much better control of refresh rates, latency, timing etc.. (most of this is not yet in use)
- Windowed variable refresh rate support (gsync/freesync)
- D3D9 is simply obsolete today, support is getting worse and worse.
and more.

D3D11 (actually DXGI which runs under D3D11 and handles all the lower level display stuff, sort of modern DirectDraw) is simply better and more flexible and more.

D3D9 support is not going anywhere.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 05 December 2017, 22:49   #178
antiriad76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Westfield
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This probably was mentioned previously or some other thread:

- All required files are Windows built-in (not unlike separate annoying dx9 redistributable)
- In D3D10 mode mostly compatible with old non-D3D11 hardware too. (Not ancient, of course )
- It allows much better control of refresh rates, latency, timing etc.. (most of this is not yet in use)
- Windowed variable refresh rate support (gsync/freesync)
- D3D9 is simply obsolete today, support is getting worse and worse.
and more.

D3D11 (actually DXGI which runs under D3D11 and handles all the lower level display stuff, sort of modern DirectDraw) is simply better and more flexible and more.

D3D9 support is not going anywhere.
Great. Thanks for the quick response.

So I just run DXDIAG on my Atom Z5-8300 Tablet and it seems that with the Intel HD Graphics it should support DirectX 12 and Direct3D DDI 12. So I should be ok.
antiriad76 is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 12:47   #179
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
These values are logged when correct screen is shown?:



And these are logged after exiting GUI and wrong screen is shown?:



(If true, something causes screen size/position values to change)
Yes, correct.
Dr.Venom is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 02:34   #180
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 140
Having an issue where when I create a new config, all the descriptions on all of the configs disappear.

WinUAE issue or something else?
Saghalie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Ebanite
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE Development. Better than the real thing...yet? antiriad76 support.WinUAE 6 18 May 2017 15:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28735 seconds with 15 queries