English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 January 2005, 16:04   #1
Tolismlf
Junior Member
Tolismlf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 237
Exclamation Mc68000p10/12?

Lately i bought 2 coin op boards. The first has 3 CPUs: a Motorola MC68000P10, a Z8400B, and an MC68705R3P and the 2nd board has an 68000P12 but its not a Motorola. Could somebody tell me more about these CPUs? I mean frequences, etc and if i can change the MC68000 of my A500 with one of the above mentioned MC68K?
Tolismlf is offline  
Old 29 January 2005, 16:20   #2
derSammler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 927
MC68000P10 -> 68000 with 10 MHz
MC68000P12 -> 68000 with 12 MHz
Z8400B -> That's a Zilog Z80B CPU as used in the C128 (6 MHz I would guess)
MC68705R3P -> This is a 8 bit microcontroller for I/O stuff.

Quote:
and if i can change the MC68000 of my A500 with one of the above mentioned MC68K?
Yes, but why do you want to do that ?
derSammler is offline  
Old 29 January 2005, 16:48   #3
lloyd
Mehh :D
lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bristol, SW UK
Age: 57
Posts: 242
The Z80 CPU wasn't used in the C128 as far as I know, that used a 6502 variant as did the C64. I think it was the 6510. The Sam Coupe used the Z80B and the ZX Spectrum used a Z80A.

I would think you could change the CPU of your A500 as long as the one you replace it with is pin for pin compatible, but you won't get any extra speed unless you "perform a hard-hack". I seem to remember something on Aminet years ago about using a 68010 10MHz chip in a 500........
lloyd is offline  
Old 29 January 2005, 17:12   #4
derSammler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloyd
The Z80 CPU wasn't used in the C128 as far as I know, that used a 6502 variant as did the C64.
The C128 has two CPUs. The Z80 CPU is used for the cp/m mode.
derSammler is offline  
Old 29 January 2005, 17:15   #5
lloyd
Mehh :D
lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bristol, SW UK
Age: 57
Posts: 242
Really? Well I stand corrected, thanks for that dude!!
lloyd is offline  
Old 30 January 2005, 01:18   #6
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 55
Posts: 584
68010 is pin compatible, but only give speed boost with certan s/w operations like loops. It is possible to get a 14MHz clock to double the speed of the 68000, but you need the 16MHz version, higest rated 010 was 12MHz, so you might get it to work if you slaped a heatsink on it to keep it cool... unfortunately some WB1.3 and older s/w will guru with the 010 without a s/w hack/patch to trap the routine
Syko is offline  
Old 30 January 2005, 03:28   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloyd
The Z80 CPU wasn't used in the C128 as far as I know, that used a 6502 variant as did the C64. I think it was the 6510.
As WindowKillers said regarding the Z80, and the 6502 "compatible" chip that used the C128 is the 8502. This one was used in some late C64s too (something that brought compatibility issues)
Akira is offline  
Old 30 January 2005, 03:33   #8
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira
As WindowKillers said regarding the Z80, and the 6502 "compatible" chip that used the C128 is the 8502. This one was used in some late C64s too (something that brought compatibility issues)
Just one more correction here Akira, the CPU used on the C128/C128-D was in fact the Mostek 8510 which was a 6502 compatible cpu

MORE info...
jmmijo is offline  
Old 30 January 2005, 04:52   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmijo
Just one more correction here Akira, the CPU used on the C128/C128-D was in fact the Mostek 8510 which was a 6502 compatible cpu

MORE info...
Absolutely right, I fucked up. Thanks!
Akira is offline  
Old 30 January 2005, 10:11   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by WindowsKiller
The C128 has two CPUs. The Z80 CPU is used for the cp/m mode.
It is also used for the very initial power on bus setups, etc..

The C-128 won't boot without the Z80. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 05:17   #11
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 375
I thought there was a 16Mhz 68000 for sure, the confusion with them was that their serial num was wierdly also along the lines of 68000P12 (anyone shed light on this one?). The 16Mhz 68000 were used in the Mac Classic so they definitely exist and are not an overclocked 12Mhz 68000. The Amiga 500 uses the 68000P8, so yes you should be able to exchange them. Just check to see if the P12 is a 16Mhz if so maybe you could try to carry out the 14Mhz hack on the Aminet. I tried it with a 12Mhz 68000 with no luck though.

gotta love playing with retro hardware
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 12:19   #12
derSammler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 927
A 16 Mhz 68000 would have 68000P16 written on it, because the number after the P is the frequency.
derSammler is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 16:40   #13
Tolismlf
Junior Member
Tolismlf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 237
Wrong, MC68000P12F is 16 Mhz
Tolismlf is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 17:03   #14
derSammler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 927
Not wrong. A normal 68000 CPU with 16 Mhz is a MC68000P16. There are MC68000P12F's as well which can work with 16 Mhz, but that's a different story...
derSammler is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 23:13   #15
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 53
Posts: 598
There was a 14 or 16Mhz 68000. Circa 1992/3, at the Amiga Format (?) show at Olympia, I bought an ICD AdSpeed, for the princely sum of about £5 (ask no questions, and I'll tell no lies, or rather bore y'all with another long story from yesteryear).

The AdSpeed was a double-clocked 68000, which gave about a 40% speed increase over a standard 68000 based Amiga. I thought I still had it in the B2000, but it aint there, although the external hard switch is (for switching it between 'normal' and 2x speed). Not sure when I got rid of that then, though as I think about it I seem to remember using that switch for many a thing, switching a 2mb SuperAgnes adaptor between 1mb and 2mb; the AdSpeed; an additional KS switcher (1.2, 1.3, and 2.0 KS).
alewis is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 11:05   #16
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,559
Not to forget the HC version with different form factor used in SupraTurbo 28 running at 28 MHz - and wild stories that somebody overclocked those to run at about 40 MHz....
zipper is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 11:27   #17
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,449
Was the Supra Turbo asynchronous?

An interesting hack, nevertheless. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 12:50   #18
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
Was the Supra Turbo asynchronous?

An interesting hack, nevertheless. :-)
I think it was synchronous and got the timing from the mobo - but that's just teasing somebody to hack it...

Found a comment here:
http://www.amiga.org/modules/newbb/v...post_id=258607
zipper is offline  
Old 02 February 2005, 02:43   #19
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by WindowsKiller
Not wrong. A normal 68000 CPU with 16 Mhz is a MC68000P16. There are MC68000P12F's as well which can work with 16 Mhz, but that's a different story...
Great.. P16! Now I remember.. I opted for a P12 for the 14Mhz hack, because the P16 was hard to find (I tried the hack only a few years back) I guess it must not have been a P12F... hmmm might have to have another look at it
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09040 seconds with 14 queries