English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

Old 12 May 2012, 21:42   #1
mancity

I want to learn about Workbench

Hi guys,

Just wondering where's the best place to find out everything on WB?

Im new to Amiga and just want to understand everything. Iv'e tried having a play around with it, but im struggling to understsnd alot of it.

Are there any good Youtube videos worth watching or vidoes on any other sites? Iv'e had a look on Youtube, but cannot really find anything of much help .

Cheers,
Old 12 May 2012, 21:55   #2
Peter
Still an Amiga user

Look out for Workbench beginners guides on ebay - there are some good books that cover WB by Bruce Smith I recall.
Old 12 May 2012, 23:14   #3
mancity

This one - http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mastering-Am...6857230&sr=8-1 ?
Old 12 May 2012, 23:23   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

Yes, that would be a good choice, but you'll get a far better deal on eBay if you're patient.
Old 14 May 2012, 04:52   #5
syd

Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Yes, that would be a good choice, but you'll get a far better deal on eBay if you're patient.
On that page there is a link to '5 used' from £1.00.
*Edit: There are only 4 now

Last edited by syd; 14 May 2012 at 04:58.
Old 14 May 2012, 09:44   #6
mancity

I dont suppose there are any videos anywhere? I appreciate the link to the book and might get one, but I learn alot better from videos than text
Old 14 May 2012, 09:55   #7
Steve
I Identify as an Ewok

Amiga Format began a series of very good beginners tutorials on Workbench 3 in their January 1994 edition. That's where I learnt about WB:

http://amr.abime.net/issue_211_pages

Unfortunately those pages haven't been scanned but you can pick these magazines up very cheaply off ebay. Sorry I don't think there are any video tutorials out there.
Old 14 May 2012, 11:24   #8
daxb