English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.SPS (was CAPS)

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 March 2008, 13:33   #1
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,824
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Game with GCR track found !

Hello,

I just got The plague from rainbow arts / innerprise this morning,
and i have checked the disk format with powercopy parameters.

It appears tracks 07 and 42 are using GCR track (macintosh format)
with a sync of $FAF3.

May i dump it ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 01 March 2008, 17:55   #2
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 47
Posts: 1,838
We have it, and it's not gcr.
IFW is offline  
Old 01 March 2008, 19:32   #3
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,031
* snigger *
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 01 March 2008, 20:01   #4
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by IFW View Post
We have it, and it's not gcr.
So is there a FAQ or Tech page on the custom disk formats used from various publishers ?!?

I just checked for this on the SPS pages, some mention of custom disk formats is there but no details as such.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 02 March 2008, 04:49   #5
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 47
Posts: 1,838
No, we do not have the time to write books
IFW is offline  
Old 02 March 2008, 09:56   #6
NOB
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 424
Added to my most wanted books list.
NOB is offline  
Old 02 March 2008, 15:46   #7
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,824
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
The parameter i used for copy was done by Powercopy creator (Geoff Lohrere).

I can put here the whole disk 1 layout :

Please check screenshot n°4 what do you see on track 42 ? Am i blind or something ?

Last edited by dlfrsilver; 23 May 2013 at 14:39.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 March 2008, 18:11   #8
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 47
Posts: 1,838
You are not blind, but don't believe everything that a copy program says

It's incorrect.
IFW is offline  
Old 02 March 2008, 18:23   #9
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 47
Posts: 1,838
Here is some help...
http://www.freepatentsonline.com/5384790.html

The data on that game is normal MFM encoding, not GCR. It just happens to use 4us cells, and perfectly decodes in the analyser.
Trust me if it was GCR it wouldn't work as the encoding scheme is completely different for GCR
IFW is offline  
Old 02 March 2008, 18:38   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,824
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Oh well, ok ! then i will change that in the parameter and erased Geoff's one.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 15 April 2008, 23:07   #11
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Just curious, mate:

Did you check the disk on a *REAL* Amiga too?

It might also show "GCR" if WinUAE interprets one - typically undocumented - bit wrongly.
With significantly older WinUAE versions, I was sometimes surprised how good my "hardware" was like
(although I did not make special settings). Not until recently, Toni has managed to interpret 95% of the bits the correct way.
andreas is offline  
Old 18 April 2008, 16:22   #12
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 50
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by IFW View Post
Here is some help...
http://www.freepatentsonline.com/5384790.html

The data on that game is normal MFM encoding, not GCR. It just happens to use 4us cells, and perfectly decodes in the analyser.
Trust me if it was GCR it wouldn't work as the encoding scheme is completely different for GCR
One (main protection) track from The Plague game is not standard MFM track. If I remember right (info from Mr.Larmer and Harry) this track was called GCR by they.
Don_Adan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Found: Rhythm King] Amiga Game ID (Music Management Game) Kickback Looking for a game name ? 8 27 June 2012 20:02
Game loader stuck on certain track after save state restore andreas support.WinUAE 2 26 March 2011 20:59
[Found: Turrican] There is this game I remember as a child, a Metroid type game. PiesAreBlueGuy Looking for a game name ? 15 18 September 2009 15:35
[Found: Biplane Duel] Plane Flying Game, 2D, Shoot each other (Compilation game?) EssKung Looking for a game name ? 7 19 May 2007 00:37
GCR Format on Amiga NOB Coders. General 24 20 August 2006 03:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07617 seconds with 13 queries