English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 July 2014, 19:34   #1
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 455
A1200: PCMCIA card does not go in!

Hello, I would like to connect my A1200 to the Internet. I have a wireless PCMCIA card; KCORP Lifestyle KLG-520 802.11g.

However when I try to physically push the card in to the PCMCI slot it get stuck!! It cannot go all the way. I have looked inside the PCMCI slot and it looks good.

Is this because only a particular type of PCMCI cards match this particular slot?
Sim085 is offline  
Old 13 July 2014, 19:55   #2
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
it looks like you've bought a Cardbus card, this is the next generation up from PCMCIA, it is a 32 bit interface and has a different shaped notch on the side to prevent insertion into 16 bit slots.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 13 July 2014, 20:36   #3
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
it looks like you've bought a Cardbus card, this is the next generation up from PCMCIA, it is a 32 bit interface and has a different shaped notch on the side to prevent insertion into 16 bit slots.
Thought it must have been something like that. What cards will work (for Wireless) on an A1200? Ideally the ones that give less problems even from a software perspective?
Sim085 is offline  
Old 13 July 2014, 20:42   #4
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 764
Netgear MA401 works, but you might have update the firmware (in a PC) if you like to use WPA(2).
fryguy is offline  
Old 13 July 2014, 20:47   #5
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
I use a 3COM 3C589D-COMBO but it is not wireless
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 13 July 2014, 21:01   #6
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by fryguy View Post
Netgear MA401 works, but you might have update the firmware (in a PC) if you like to use WPA(2).
Thanks for both replies. I was wondering; would an ethernet connection be feel faster than wireless? Or on an A1200 it does not make a difference if the speed is 11 megabits per second (as the Netgear MA401) or 1 Gbps? I am asking to see if I should buy an ethernet card or a wireless card.

Last edited by Sim085; 13 July 2014 at 21:08.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 13 July 2014, 21:13   #7
r.cade
Registered User
r.cade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to r.cade Send a message via MSN to r.cade Send a message via Yahoo to r.cade
I think either one is much faster than the A1200 card interface and CPU. You will never reach saturation of the network.
r.cade is offline  
Old 13 July 2014, 22:04   #8
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 764
I don't think there is much speed difference. But if you're going to use WPA(2) you're gonna a need a fast CPU.
fryguy is offline  
Old 13 July 2014, 23:56   #9
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by fryguy View Post
I don't think there is much speed difference. But if you're going to use WPA(2) you're gonna a need a fast CPU.
Like what? What CPU is needed for a "decent" browsing experience?
Sim085 is offline  
Old 14 July 2014, 00:17   #10
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 421
You are not going to get a "decent" browsing experience on a normal a1200. I run a 68060 over a wired network and would not call it a decent browsing experience. It's ok for aminet and downloading files from my Nas but most else is painful.
crazyc is offline  
Old 14 July 2014, 00:38   #11
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
yeah i just use mine to FTP to my PC, don't even need to do that now i've got a PCMCIA SD card reader.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 14 July 2014, 00:41   #12
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 946
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...=wireless+card

on a 040/25 is OK for Amiga friendly sites (None/Minimal Flash/CSS) and FTP.
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 14 July 2014, 16:38   #13
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...=wireless+card

on a 040/25 is OK for Amiga friendly sites (None/Minimal Flash/CSS) and FTP.
Thanks for the link. Another question on the subject. Is internet possible on Workbench 3.1? Or I need to upgrade to Workbench 3.9? As much as I know AmigaOS 4.0 is out of the question on an A1200 unless you have a PPC card right?
Sim085 is offline  
Old 14 July 2014, 17:02   #14
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,755
Internet works fine with 3.1. I use AmiTCP but MiamiDX is also very common. I would recommend wired network (but then I always do since it is safer and more stable). I think many WPA2 solutions for the Amiga uses software based encryption which is not very good since a browser already needs all the cpu power you can throw at it. And obviously, you should not use WEP or WPA encryption.
demolition is offline  
Old 14 July 2014, 21:36   #15
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 946
Still on 3.0 here.

I use a Wired Card + PC with my 600
Can't browse (no browser for 2.1)
But FTP and IRC are fine.

Quote:
you should not use WEP or WPA encryption.
I use WAP-PSK authentication, with TKIP encryption.

Quote:
Transfers were really slow on my 060-50
Figures Please !
I get about 100-150 K/sec

Last edited by Nobby_UK; 16 July 2014 at 00:21.
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 15 July 2014, 12:25   #16
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 626
I made a list of compatible cards some time ago.
fgh is offline  
Old 15 July 2014, 20:52   #17
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by fgh View Post
I made a list of compatible cards some time ago.
Thank you for that.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 15 July 2014, 22:27   #18
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 37
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Internet works fine with 3.1. I use AmiTCP but MiamiDX is also very common. I would recommend wired network (but then I always do since it is safer and more stable). I think many WPA2 solutions for the Amiga uses software based encryption which is not very good since a browser already needs all the cpu power you can throw at it. And obviously, you should not use WEP or WPA encryption.
Is there any card that does hardware encryption?
ancalimon is offline  
Old 15 July 2014, 22:43   #19
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sim085 View Post
Like what? What CPU is needed for a "decent" browsing experience?
To get a decent (there's no CSS capable browser though which works ok on real 68k Amiga) browsing experience i would recommend a gfx board. I believe you want a fast 040 or 060 when using WPA2. I have only tried it using 060.
fryguy is offline  
Old 15 July 2014, 23:11   #20
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 37
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by fryguy View Post
To get a decent (there's no CSS capable browser though which works ok on real 68k Amiga) browsing experience i would recommend a gfx board. I believe you want a fast 040 or 060 when using WPA2. I have only tried it using 060.
I once made it work with wpa but a few years after that I have to use wireless again (the wired card no longer works) and now I can not make it work with prismv2. What is the command line needed and should I also create any env variables?

By the way. Transfers were really slow on my 060-50

By the way... there is a css capable browser on Amiga AGA. It's Netsurf AGA Still not fully usable and very slow but it works.
ancalimon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCMCIA ethernet card on the A1200 Fabie support.Hardware 10 29 November 2009 04:10
PCMCIA network card for a1200/600 DoogUK MarketPlace 17 04 February 2009 19:42
A1200 PCMCIA GFX Card by GVP fc.studio support.Hardware 5 27 July 2007 22:39
a1200 pcmcia nic card Crackersixx support.Hardware 11 30 September 2006 21:43
This PCMCIA card ok for A1200 ? whiteb MarketPlace 2 26 October 2003 14:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09081 seconds with 15 queries