English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2013, 20:38   #1
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Zorro III memory card... now with Ethernet

There's been some free space on the PCB anyway



First I have tried CS8900 chip, which was great to start with, but later followed Jason's advice and switched to a DM9000B from Davicom. The registers and EEPROM can be read and written just fine, now I'm the proud owner of a network card with 64M of packet buffers... or a network-enabled RAM card, whichever sounds weirdest.



Tailoring the (non-working) CS8900 driver for the DM9000 will be another saga.
tnt23 is offline  
Old 15 November 2013, 23:10   #2
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 41
Posts: 1,577
Just saw that thread.
Always amazed by your work and ideas tnt23! Keep up surprising us

/respect
mfilos is offline  
Old 15 November 2013, 23:50   #3
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Thanks mfilos More pics for the topic.

Checking the LEDs.


Dumping network packets.
tnt23 is offline  
Old 11 December 2013, 22:16   #4
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Hey ho!

tnt23 is offline  
Old 12 December 2013, 00:36   #5
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,744
Cool, love your work
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 12 December 2013, 02:29   #6
Reynolds
Alien Breeder
Reynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szigetszentmiklos / Hungary
Age: 42
Posts: 552
When can I buy a few?
Reynolds is offline  
Old 12 December 2013, 08:14   #7
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
As soon as I assemble another one
tnt23 is offline  
Old 09 March 2014, 19:44   #8
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Enter card #2 (lower one). Will go to a local amigan who agrees to suffer the consequences of running freshly brewed drivery on top of hand-soldered hardware.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12985166863_7995fd439c_c.jpg
Views:	584
Size:	389.8 KB
ID:	39331  
tnt23 is offline  
Old 13 March 2014, 06:13   #9
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 379
Are you planning on selling this card? If so I can likely get support added for it so it will work with AmigaOS 4.1 Classic. Can you post the showconfig debug output of it?

Thnx
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 13 March 2014, 06:16   #10
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 3,632
incredible stuff !!!!
turrican3 is offline  
Old 13 March 2014, 08:04   #11
cgugl
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: italy
Posts: 46
seems there is enough space for a fast ide interface !!
cgugl is offline  
Old 13 March 2014, 10:27   #12
Reynolds
Alien Breeder
Reynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szigetszentmiklos / Hungary
Age: 42
Posts: 552
...and a gfx chip... and a sound chip... and a cpu... and a new motherboard

Seriously, great stuff, like it.
Is it hard to make it for ZorroII? would be a cool thing for A2000s...
Reynolds is offline  
Old 13 March 2014, 11:48   #13
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenHD View Post
Are you planning on selling this card? If so I can likely get support added for it so it will work with AmigaOS 4.1 Classic. Can you post the showconfig debug output of it?

Thnx
Attached is the showconfig output.

Sorry, this particular board has already been reserved. I am going to assemble 2 more boards shortly, PCBs and most of components are on their way. Will be happy to sell them to 'early adopters' for joint testing/bugfixing/development. Luckily there won't be any soldering involved

Also, there is no Zorro II support yet. And a few things beg to be improved in future revisions, if there be any.

Having IDE onboard would be nice for A3000, right now I have to boot using Buddha or Deneb.

For Zorro II, everything has been routed into FPGA, it is a matter of writing some Verilog code and flashing it using cheap USB Blaster dongle (and having A2000 around).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	card_test.JPG
Views:	554
Size:	197.3 KB
ID:	39368  

Last edited by TCD; 18 March 2014 at 00:34. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
tnt23 is offline  
Old 14 March 2014, 16:20   #14
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt23 View Post
Attached is the showconfig output.

Sorry, this particular board has already been reserved. I am going to assemble 2 more boards shortly, PCBs and most of components are on their way. Will be happy to sell them to 'early adopters' for joint testing/bugfixing/development. Luckily there won't be any soldering involved

Also, there is no Zorro II support yet. And a few things beg to be improved in future revisions, if there be any.
Thanks, I've confirmed with the developers that the card should work under OS 4.1 Classic. It would need to be tested of course

So there is only 64MB of RAM on the board ?

Last edited by DarrenHD; 14 March 2014 at 17:13.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 21:21   #15
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenHD View Post
Thanks, I've confirmed with the developers that the card should work under OS 4.1 Classic. It would need to be tested of course

So there is only 64MB of RAM on the board ?
Yes, there's only 64MB available. Sometimes I think of adding another chip, or even three. That requires some routing work. So far I don't see any advantages of having anything more than 64MB in an unexpanded A3000 or A4000. Fitting peripherals on the same board is more fun

I think the RAM part should work under OS 4.1, it's plain Zorro RAM. Ethernet probably is another story. There's a 3.x driver for DM9000 chip, perhaps OS 4.1 would call for a native one. I don't know how different 4.x is from 3.x.
tnt23 is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 21:37   #16
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 405
Hi Tim,

I'd like to add your card(s) to boards.library - are the product IDs final and do you already have some names for the babies?

Kind regards,

Marcus
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 22:05   #17
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Marcus, you are certainly welcome. The product IDs won't change (23 for Zorro memory board since 2010 I believe, 24 for the dm9k network card since 2013). There's no fancy names yet, the board is labeled 'z3sdram v1.2'.

If I go for another redesign twist, the result could probably be named something like 'Sputnik' or 'Gagarin', waddaya think?
tnt23 is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 22:16   #18
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 405
I think fancy names are good Amiga tradition.

Do you plan to do hardware mods or just update the sources of the fpga? I'm asking because I'd like to distinguish between prototype boards and later versions. If you want to keep ID 23/24, we could do achieve this through the Autoconfig serial number.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 22:18   #19
Reynolds
Alien Breeder
Reynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szigetszentmiklos / Hungary
Age: 42
Posts: 552
"Tetris ZIII"?
Reynolds is offline  
Old 17 March 2014, 04:54   #20
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt23 View Post
Yes, there's only 64MB available. Sometimes I think of adding another chip, or even three. That requires some routing work. So far I don't see any advantages of having anything more than 64MB in an unexpanded A3000 or A4000. Fitting peripherals on the same board is more fun

I think the RAM part should work under OS 4.1, it's plain Zorro RAM. Ethernet probably is another story. There's a 3.x driver for DM9000 chip, perhaps OS 4.1 would call for a native one. I don't know how different 4.x is from 3.x.
As long as it's system conforming, the 3.x driver should work. Several older Zorro ethernet cards (eg. the C= 2065) work fine on OS4.1 classic, with the 68k driver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt23 View Post
Marcus, you are certainly welcome. The product IDs won't change (23 for Zorro memory board since 2010 I believe, 24 for the dm9k network card since 2013). There's no fancy names yet, the board is labeled 'z3sdram v1.2'.

If I go for another redesign twist, the result could probably be named something like 'Sputnik' or 'Gagarin', waddaya think?
I like Sputnik, since I'm a space geek ;-)

Last edited by TCD; 18 March 2014 at 00:33. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
DarrenHD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zorro III not working... :( DarrenHD support.Hardware 19 27 January 2011 06:41
Guaging interest in a Zorro II Ethernet Card aperez MarketPlace 21 28 January 2010 00:45
AD516 Zorro II \ III ? THX1138 support.Hardware 6 16 February 2009 01:23
WANTED: Zorro Ethernet card; Ariadne, XSurf etc. d0pefish MarketPlace 8 01 December 2006 13:48
Zorro II Card - Zorro III Slot ? THX1138 support.Hardware 4 03 May 2003 12:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09336 seconds with 16 queries