English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 December 2014, 15:12   #1
butfluffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: In the Hills
Posts: 341
warp by thalion

does anyone know the best way to play this game using winuaex?
i see the cracked adf is badly cracked and only one level is playable does anyone have a fully working extended adf of this game?
the ipf set i found had over 400 missing titles and warp is one of the missing ones unfortunatly.
the only version i came across here which appears to be working 100% is the whdload version. i have never tried whdload for games and it seems that whdload works with winuaex so i coukld try that version i guess.
i would prefer a working cracked adf or a working extended adf if they exist though.
butfluffy is offline  
Old 25 December 2014, 15:56   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,247
Does winuaex support IPF?

Ive never seen an extended ADF for this game

Can you not use a hard drive image with WHDload?
alexh is offline  
Old 25 December 2014, 16:09   #3
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,442
Yes the latest beta does support ipf.
Clicky.

Warp extended adf in the zone.
Retroplay is online now  
Old 25 December 2014, 17:00   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,881
Maybe it's possible to convert the whdload "disk.1" file into an extended ADF.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 25 December 2014, 17:15   #5
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,442
No need to as it's in the zone already.

I got it from this board a long time ago and I think Denis was the one who uploaded it if I'm not entirely mistaken.
Retroplay is online now  
Old 25 December 2014, 17:20   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,881
You're right. I've looked in my wrong Amiga folder. There is even a second extended ADF. Not sure why. Can't remember.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 25 December 2014, 17:42   #7
butfluffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: In the Hills
Posts: 341
thanks for the extended adf Retroplay. christmas is great on this board
does anyone know if the extended adf of this game is completable or do i need the second extended adf that Retro-Nerd mentioned?
i've never really researched a lot of amiga stuff so i don't know how everything works. for example does extended adfs and whdload versions bypass game protections or do they copy the protections intact like the ipf files?
is it possible to convert whdload files to extended adfs and if so is there a tutorial?
i was planning on just sticking with adf and ipf images but it seems i may be missing out if i don't use whdload so i think i'm going to try and get get the whdload thing working on xbox winuaex. hopefully it ain't going to be too complicated to get working. .
there seems to be a few whdload versions of warp available. i got one from the thalion website but then there was a Dlfrsilver's Whdload Disk Images/MFM/Warp_MFM_ok!.zip whicdh i also downloaded. this version has a mfm file inside the zip and i'm not sure how to use this file cos i have no clue with the whdload side of things yet.

edit - i just clicked retroplay's link to the latest winuaex beta and it is winuaex_v18b08 the latest one i had was winuaex_v18b06. seems like winuaex is still getting updates then

Last edited by butfluffy; 25 December 2014 at 17:47. Reason: update
butfluffy is offline  
Old 25 December 2014, 19:01   #8
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 44
Posts: 769
There is a message on my cracked version saying the original game itself was bugged so you couldn't advance levels. Unless it got fixed at some point you may still have the same issue no matter what version you use.

Superman is offline  
Old 25 December 2014, 19:43   #9
butfluffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: In the Hills
Posts: 341
oh i did not know this. i read in some other threads that it was a bad crack. what a fail releasing such a game breaking bugged game
butfluffy is offline  
Old 25 December 2014, 20:09   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,333
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
wait a sec they had a problem, it was maybe related to copy protection ! The whdload version installed from original disk has all the levels !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 25 December 2014, 20:42   #11
butfluffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: In the Hills
Posts: 341
and if the entended adf was made from the whdload version then the extended adf should have all the levels also?
butfluffy is offline  
Old 25 December 2014, 21:23   #12
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,333
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the extended ADF was made from my original game disk. the whdload version is either an original disk decoded and installed, or either an install made under winuae from my extended ADF
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 25 December 2014, 21:48   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,881
And why do i have 2 versions? A redump, or an alternative version (compilation, budget)? Iirc you did both.

A = 2.071.976 bytes
B = 2.071.872 bytes
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 25 December 2014, 23:21   #14
butfluffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: In the Hills
Posts: 341
the main thing for me is that it is the full game and not only the one level broken version.
the 2 ex adf versions is kinda worrying though, i wonder is one a bad dump and the other 100%, or are they both good despite the fact they are different sizes.
extended adf's are working out quite well for me so far except for the Neuronics one recently posted in the zone. i don't know if it's bad or if i'm not using the right config. i did reply about it in the relevant thread in a different section.
is there a section or webpage anywhere for for all extended adf's?
butfluffy is offline  
Old 26 December 2014, 07:19   #15
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,333
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
And why do i have 2 versions? A redump, or an alternative version (compilation, budget)? Iirc you did both.

A = 2.071.976 bytes
B = 2.071.872 bytes
Good Question I remember if i'm right that i imaged the thalion 1st year compil version, as well as the retail version.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 26 December 2014, 08:43   #16
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 707
I have some good news and some bad news about the Zoned ADF.

The good news is when the power stations are destroyed, it doesn't crash. You are sent to destroy a warp generator next. This resembles a large satellite dish. Next through a serpentine tunnel for bonus points and end of level. I am at level 6 now.

The bad news is something is wrong with the mapping system. Beginning on level 1 creep north slowly and turn east at the first block. Creep east until you see something that looks like an eye with 4 spikes. Shoot slowly with laser but not enough to blast a crater. Flying over this spot starts to draw a map but then the screen suddenly goes all black. The cracked disk on Thalion web page shows a map.
clenched is offline  
Old 26 December 2014, 12:54   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Good Question I remember if i'm right that i imaged the thalion 1st year compil version, as well as the retail version.
Thought the same. Well, i'll upload the second ADF into the Zone. Maybe clenched can check this version too.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 26 December 2014, 13:08   #18
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,442
Drats, the WHD installer fails with checksum error on track 135 with the image I zoned.

Denis do you still have the original or was it destroyed in the fire ?
If you still happen to have it, a stream and/or ctraw dump would be nice. *hint* *hint* *nudge* *nudge*.

[edit]
The image zoned by Retro-Nerd also fails with checksum error on track 141.
Retroplay is online now  
Old 26 December 2014, 13:18   #19
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,881
The second also fails on Track 137 for me. Preinstalled WHDLoad game should be checked too. If it's good we can maybe get an extended ADF out of it.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 26 December 2014, 13:58   #20
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 707
I'm afraid the second ADF isn't any better. It failed to produce a map too. Anyway the first one (7z) can be completed if the map is avoided. I count ten levels total.

Last edited by clenched; 31 December 2014 at 04:28. Reason: swap attachment for HOL picture
clenched is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Neuronics from Thalion dlfrsilver Games images which need to be WHDified 26 26 December 2014 16:23
Last of the Thalion Memorabilia alexh MarketPlace 5 14 June 2010 23:39
More Thalion updates alexh HOL data problems 0 16 March 2008 13:02
Warp from Thalion with Winfellow Problem onedevotee75 support.WinFellow 5 04 October 2005 06:43
Thalion schrine Tim Janssen Amiga websites reviews 8 01 June 2002 17:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09062 seconds with 13 queries