English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 November 2008, 21:31   #1
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 69
Posts: 681
my last 24hrs of hell

hi peeps

as the title says, last night done a clean install of os3.5 ,reboot, power light & cd drive`s lights stayed, and no boot ? not even the insert floppy screen?? damm the hd`s packed up, out with a spare, try again,
got the green screen then red, ok replaced the roms, nada,
switch off let things cool down, power on, system error guru RAM:80000008 or b?
shit my motherboard has just packed up aswell oh well out with the spare mb. stripped the tower again, efin hell the connector broke to pin 39 on my fast ata111,
mmm how to fixit ? used a miniture jumper the same as amigakit sells, filed down the soldered end so that it goes through the hole between the bridge and the outer plastic dab of solder job done infact this makes a far better connector than the crappy one elbox put on.
oh, and one of my 128 sims packed up aswell
right ,another install , all whent fine.

today switched on, yes you guest it, my other hd failed
another stripdown another hd, another install, as yet i havent switched it on
now thats what i call bad luck
twizzle is offline  
Old 20 November 2008, 21:35   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by twizzle View Post
another stripdown another hd, another install, as yet i havent switched it on
now thats what i call bad luck
Sad story mate That's a lot of bad luck for 24 hours indeed.
Best of luck with your third try and keep us posted
TCD is offline  
Old 20 November 2008, 21:47   #3
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
ouch i feel your pain twizzle

is`t a green screen a memory problem ?
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 20 November 2008, 21:49   #4
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 69
Posts: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
ouch i feel your pain twizzle

is`t a green screen a memory problem ?
yes, thats why one of my 128 simms packed up

good job i had a spare
twizzle is offline  
Old 20 November 2008, 22:15   #5
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 52
Posts: 4,089
I don't envy you mate. I know what you are going through when things go drastically wrong.

The upside of all this is, you may learn something new + you'll be back up and running very, very soon, I hope
DH is offline  
Old 20 November 2008, 23:13   #6
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 69
Posts: 681
hi peeps

well i couldnt put it off any longer, just switched my tower on it boots up

BUT, now i have a system req, checksum error on my secondary hd,
that i want to put os4 on bummer,
is this serious ?? or can i ignore it ?
and no more spare hd`s left.
twizzle is offline  
Old 21 November 2008, 04:05   #7
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,744
You have some real HD issues my friend

Go for a CF next time, much more reliable
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 21 November 2008, 22:21   #8
alphonsus
Registered User
alphonsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Age: 46
Posts: 181
How old are the disks you're using? They do pack up occasuionally/eventually!
alphonsus is offline  
Old 22 November 2008, 17:22   #9
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 69
Posts: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphonsus View Post
How old are the disks you're using? They do pack up occasuionally/eventually!
i have several new sets of os3.1, i am using os3.5 + bb 1&2

at the moment i am using my new spare commodore rev2b mb, until i can get my escom rev1d4repaired

Last edited by twizzle; 22 November 2008 at 20:22.
twizzle is offline  
Old 22 November 2008, 19:49   #10
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by twizzle View Post
i have several new sets of os3.1, i am using os3.5 + bb 1&2

at the moment i am using my new spare commodore rev2b mb, until i can get my escom rev2b repaired
I am curious. What advantages does the Escom rev2b have over the commodore version? CC Reset fix or something?
Smiley is offline  
Old 22 November 2008, 20:25   #11
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 69
Posts: 681
@smiley

edit, its a rev1D4, my mistake, got 2b on the brain
twizzle is offline  
Old 23 November 2008, 06:22   #12
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 45
Posts: 2,528
I would love to play around with my A1200 and do all sorts of mods to it, but its the only one ive got and its my original since 1992. Reading threads like this is exactly why i would never do it unless i had another A1200 to play around with or perhaps even 3 of them.

Real sorry to hear about all those drama's mate! .. i feel for ya.
blade002 is offline  
Old 23 November 2008, 16:44   #13
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,818
Bad PSU the cause of this? Unless the hw has been in the cupboard for ages, it's very strange that all these components should fail.
Photon is offline  
Old 23 November 2008, 20:49   #14
exoticaga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 446
Best thing if you have two bad things happen and then another, go to bed until another new day dawns.

I'm sure that all those drives are not bad, it sounds like other problems you have with your setup.
exoticaga is offline  
Old 25 November 2008, 14:33   #15
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 69
Posts: 681
oh believe me there DEAD
1= hd is making a clanking noise, the other cant read the first few 50 or so mbs of the drive, + the mb.

i now os3.5 installed and working.
trying to install os4.0 on the other hd for a dual boot system
twizzle is offline  
Old 24 December 2008, 23:00   #16
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 69
Posts: 681
more bad luck,
my pwr flyer gold has just gone tits up, and my mediator sx pass through has also failed

merry bloody exmas
twizzle is offline  
Old 24 December 2008, 23:03   #17
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,048
sorry to hear that friend...

maybe all this hardware is just a bit annoyed by all the heat in our houses and only refused to work for now?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 24 December 2008, 23:10   #18
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 69
Posts: 681
shoons

well to be fair the pwr flyer gold & the med sx, are about 10yrs old
and also due to the fact that they have both been transfered onto a few mbs in that time
i realy cant complain can I ( yes i can )

there is some good news, my mb is ok

Last edited by twizzle; 24 December 2008 at 23:18.
twizzle is offline  
Old 25 December 2008, 00:49   #19
exoticaga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 446
As Photon says above check the psu. If the psu is not regulating as it should it can do a lot of damage.


Leave it 'til 09. Time to forget your worries and be happy with your loved ones.


Have a nice time
exoticaga is offline  
Old 25 December 2008, 01:14   #20
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 69
Posts: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by exoticaga View Post
As Photon says above check the psu. If the psu is not regulating as it should it can do a lot of damage.


Leave it 'til 09. Time to forget your worries and be happy with your loved ones.


Have a nice time
psu is fine no probs

the only loved 1`s is amigakit, waiting for a replacemnet pass through
twizzle is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What the hell is FTP??? Basquemactee1 support.Other 7 25 August 2006 17:33
What the hell is this ? THX1138 support.Hardware 17 15 September 2004 22:09
What the Hell!! Mick_AKA Retrogaming General Discussion 7 27 July 2002 14:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09479 seconds with 13 queries