English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 May 2008, 19:26   #1
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 409
WANTED: Amiga Network Card (NOT PCMCIA pr PCI)

i need a ethernet card for my A4000, as it is to replace my A1200 as my main SPS dumping machine.

i dont want to pay out loads for mediator cards and stuff, just some way of connecting the A4000 to my cat 5 on the cheap.

if anyone has one for sale cheaply, please get in touch.

cheers.
Interceptor is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 16:29   #2
skote
Registered User
skote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Waterlooville, UK
Posts: 68
Crumb on AmiBay is selling one (though IMHO a bit pricy). AmigaKit.com are expecting a new batch next week - X-Surf Zorro 2 cards for £76 I think. I was considerign one for myself....
skote is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 16:32   #3
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 409
yeah, that kinda pricing is what i was worried about
Interceptor is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 16:54   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,247
The only way you'll get a cheap ethernet card for the Amiga is if you buy a 10Base2/AUI card like a Hydra AmigaNet or a Commodore A2065

Everyone wants 10BaseT, no-one can be arsed to piss about with different cables, adapters and network cards.

Not as bad as it sounds, AUI to UTP (RJ45) transceivers are very cheap these days.

Last edited by alexh; 30 May 2008 at 17:06.
alexh is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 16:59   #5
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 409
that'd work i guess, i dont care much about how it happens.

i really hate the amiga hardware scene, i was lucky got all my SPS kit back when an accellerator card was £16 and not £160, now people with deep pockets insist in making these things worth a mint so they can surf the net on their crappy amiga browsers and state 'the amiga isnt dead", meanwhile useful causes that require said kit can no longer afford it.

dont A4000s have ISA slots? do isa pc cards not work?
Interceptor is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 17:25   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,247
To make PCI ISA network cards work you need a Golden Gate 2+ which acts as a bridge between the ISA bus to the Zorro bus.

Unfortunately these are rarer than Zorro Ethernet cards.
alexh is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 17:33   #7
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,302
A Vortex GoldenGate card (not the GoldenGate+ - that's from another company) would also allow you to transfer files using a normal ISA network card. Provided you set it up in DOS and are prepared to type some CLI/DOS commands every time

But as well as being fiddly it's going to cost you more than a regular Amiga network card...

An external IDE->CF adapter and a card reader for your PC would be a lot cheaper. I'm sure alexh posted a link to one the other day that was fitted into a backplane slot?
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 17:44   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,247
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=290234195633

If you're not going to want to access the net on your Amiga, one of these adapters plus a CF card and the free Fat95 file system is much cheaper and MUCH faster to transfer data than a network card.

Unfortunately they are NOT hot-plug and play and so you must power-cycle your Amiga when you transfer files. (But it isn't too bad).

Also it takes up one of the two IDE channels of your A4000 and so you may need to dump your CD/DVD or get an IDE splitter.

Last edited by alexh; 30 May 2008 at 17:51.
alexh is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 17:54   #9
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 409
i hadnt even considered that! i think thats my answer, cheers!

still needs the ram tho :\
Interceptor is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 18:25   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,247
Ram?
alexh is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 18:29   #11
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 409
yeah its the other thread next to this one.
Interceptor is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 03:48
Need help with PCMCIA network card(s) ancalimon support.Hardware 16 31 July 2014 21:57
PCMCIA Squirrel + PCMCIA Network Card tootoid support.Hardware 1 18 April 2007 13:13
For Sale: Amiga 600/1200 PCMCIA Network card keropi MarketPlace 10 29 November 2005 14:38
Amiga 1200 PCMCIA Network Card tihi support.Hardware 5 09 November 2002 17:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07443 seconds with 15 queries