English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 March 2006, 21:14   #1
Fugitif.fa
 
Posts: n/a
Adding Amiga Hard Drive

Hi,

I just add my dh1 hard-drive from my amiga in my pc. Win UAE let me add the drive but I cannot see it in the amiga side.

Is it supposed to work?

thanks.

Fugitif.
 
Old 27 March 2006, 21:25   #2
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fugitif.fa
Hi,

I just add my dh1 hard-drive from my amiga in my pc. Win UAE let me add the drive but I cannot see it in the amiga side.

Is it supposed to work?

thanks.

Fugitif.
Yes it works great. I'm using WinUAE 1.2 with kickstart ROM 3.1, with my 40GB amiga drive plugged into my USB2 port on the PC
jotd is offline  
Old 27 March 2006, 21:30   #3
Fugitif.fa
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd
Yes it works great. I'm using WinUAE 1.2 with kickstart ROM 3.1, with my 40GB amiga drive plugged into my USB2 port on the PC
Is it an IDE or SCSI?

mine is a scsi on an Adaptec 2903 pci card. I don't remember if I used AmiFileSafe filesystem on that drive, could it be the problem?

Fugitif.
 
Old 27 March 2006, 22:15   #4
Fugitif.fa
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fugitif.fa
Is it an IDE or SCSI?

mine is a scsi on an Adaptec 2903 pci card. I don't remember if I used AmiFileSafe filesystem on that drive, could it be the problem?

Fugitif.
I tried to add my system hard drive it works, but my second hard drive isn't working.

Can we add more than 1 hard drive?

Fugitif.

P.S. I think that my second hard drive is formatted with the PFS file system.

Last edited by Fugitif.fa; 27 March 2006 at 23:05.
 
Old 27 March 2006, 23:31   #5
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 50
Posts: 1,549
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fugitif.fa
Is it an IDE or SCSI?

mine is a scsi on an Adaptec 2903 pci card. I don't remember if I used AmiFileSafe filesystem on that drive, could it be the problem?

Fugitif.
Use SPS, (Yes it requires a format).
whiteb is offline  
Old 28 March 2006, 00:24   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,583
You do have Windows 2000 or XP with administator privileges? Used filesystem should not matter.

What do you see in winuaebootlog.txt after you have clicked "Add Harddrive" and after booting in winuaelog.txt? (enable logging in misc-panel first)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 March 2006, 14:23   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fugitif.fa
I tried to add my system hard drive it works, but my second hard drive isn't working.

Can we add more than 1 hard drive?

Fugitif.

P.S. I think that my second hard drive is formatted with the PFS file system.
Is PFS stored in the drive's RDB ? You need at least one HDD or HDF in the system with PFS in the RDB, otherwise it cannot find PFS and cannot mount the partitions.

And yes, you can add as many HDDs as you like.
thomas is offline  
Old 29 March 2006, 16:53   #8
Fugitif.fa
 
Posts: n/a
After doing some works I managed to see the drive in HDToolBox, it asked me to update because the drive was removed or added. Before I do something wrong, I come here to ask if I can update or not.

Thanks.
 
Old 29 March 2006, 21:12   #9
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,922
Better not. The only thing updated is the "this is the last disk on the controller" flag. If you update it you might have to update it again when you put the disk back into your Amiga. It does not harm in WinUAE if it is set wrong, but it might harm in the Amiga (other drives might not be recognised).
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE not adding folders as Hard Drives majorbamboo support.WinUAE 3 22 March 2013 22:30
Project: Adding a CF Drive as an Hard Drive to an A500 mfletcher support.Hardware 8 03 July 2008 01:20
Adding a CD Drive Dave_wb support.WinUAE 3 08 July 2007 13:06
Adding more hard drives under WinUAE Dave_wb project.ClassicWB 3 15 February 2007 14:32
Amiga hard drive T_hairy_bootson support.WinUAE 8 14 October 2001 00:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06972 seconds with 13 queries