English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2006, 10:41   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Question about insulation similar to the BVISION/CVISION vga cable...

I see that phase5 on their bvision/cvision vga cables, use some kind of insulation to prevent interference to the video signal... I use 3 similar cables, a sd/ff->vga->video.switch and a voodoo->video.switch . Do you think I could use duct tape as insulation? because I am sure that this nice p5 insulation tube cannot be found in my town

IMAGE BORROWED from Hacky's BVISION ebay auction. thanx hacky!

keropi is offline  
Old 22 June 2006, 12:32   #2
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
The insulation they are using is called Heatshrink and you can find them on eBay.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 22 June 2006, 12:39   #3
DoctorQ
What?? Who?? DoctorQ!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rødding/Denmark
Age: 39
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to DoctorQ
No, it's not heatskrink tubes. If heatskrink gets warm, you can figure out what happens. Get some regular tube without glue.
DoctorQ is offline  
Old 22 June 2006, 12:42   #4
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
I used heatshrink myself and you need a hell of temperature to shrink them. So, I think you can use them depending on the thickness of the tube.
Have a look here at Farnells. Heatshrink Sleeves specs
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 22 June 2006, 13:17   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
oh really? it is the hollow tube you burn to shrink it in order to insulate electrical stuff?? nice... I have that!
keropi is offline  
Old 22 June 2006, 14:20   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,599
Heatshrink tubing does nothing to protect the signal from RF interference, though.. You'll need aluminium tape or something for that.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 June 2006, 14:33   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
aluminum tape, you say eh? like the one used in ventilation tubes.... I have that too!
keropi is offline  
Old 23 June 2006, 17:16   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,599
Tell us how it worked.. You ought to connect it to shield ground on one end of the cable.
Jope is offline  
Old 23 June 2006, 20:45   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
hmmm what if aluminum tape touches some components? will it short-circuit?
keropi is offline  
Old 23 June 2006, 21:32   #10
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
You'll need aluminium tape or something for that.
Why do you need a shielded tape for this?
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 24 June 2006, 13:06   #11
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
hmmm what if aluminum tape touches some components? will it short-circuit?
Yes.
Jope is offline  
Old 24 June 2006, 13:08   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by lopos2000
Why do you need a shielded tape for this?
Otherwise you might get interference and ghosting in your video signal.

If you use crap cables, the picture will be blurry.. That kind of flat cable doesn't really say 75ohm impedance with separately shielded colour and sync signals to me.

(then again, the impedance of the HD15 connector is not correct either, but at least it doesn't run unshielded and with the signals side by side for dozens of centimeters)
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to make a vga cable for the Amiga 1200 spanner Amiga scene 73 27 September 2012 17:13
8200 VGA Board cable diagram tribz support.Hardware 5 20 June 2012 22:37
Amiga RGB to VGA cable melbourneben! support.Hardware 5 24 May 2012 10:33
Vga Scart Cable Guide for Retrogaming Josef1975 Retrogaming General Discussion 10 27 April 2009 01:37
Can anyone make a 10cm VGA monitor cable extender? Smiley MarketPlace 5 17 June 2006 03:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07677 seconds with 15 queries