English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 April 2011, 06:39   #141
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,910
Issues with Transcend 133x 4GB cards

Hi all,

After some issues with the Transcend 4GB 133x CF cards i have found out that the jumpers must be disabled on the CF extender card or the Amiga will fail to boot occasionally and be erratic.

This is the only brand that i have had this problem with. Sandisk, Kingston and a couple of different No name brands work fine. Iwill try to find different value resistors that cure the transcend card issue. Its not really a problem, as the normal operation with a CF card installed should be with the jumpers disabled.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 08 April 2011, 10:49   #142
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,248
Any news on ours Steve?
alexh is offline  
Old 08 April 2011, 11:43   #143
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Any news on ours Steve?
Not arrived yet mate, as promised as soon as they are here I'll post first class recorded and let you know
fitzsteve is online now  
Old 08 April 2011, 15:06   #144
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Not arrived yet mate, as promised as soon as they are here I'll post first class recorded and let you know

Based on the other ones to the UK i shipped, your batch should be there now, do you still gt mail delivery on Saturday over there now ?
kipper2k is offline  
Old 08 April 2011, 15:10   #145
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Based on the other ones to the UK i shipped, your batch should be there now, do you still gt mail delivery on Saturday over there now ?
Yes we get mail on a Saturday, knowing my luck our batch is probably sat at Customs

Airmail from over the pond can take 2-3 weeks so no need to start to panic yet.

Steve.
fitzsteve is online now  
Old 08 April 2011, 15:41   #146
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,910
Hi All,

First, Thanks for the kind words from you all. Everyone who has paid has had their cards mailed. It seems some people get their mail a lot faster than others. Please allow 4 - 12 business days for delivery, All cards were mailed the next business day after i received payment (with the exception of the group buy as we waited for people to come forward). Sweden, Netherlands appear to be pretty fast places to mail to, UK & France is sporatic.

For those who were too late on this Batch, i made a second batch (Green in colour, rewired it slightly different, and made it a little longer. Second batch is expected Thursday of next week so shipping probably the following week (I'm also at the mercy of the mailman

For those who don't know, i have posted the guide and templates on my website, check it at www.kipper2k.com/forsale.html

(Yes, i know the website looks ugly, i have no enthusiasm for making it look pretty

Price of second batch will be the same
kipper2k is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 15:31   #147
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 728
Got mine today, too bad I dont have an A600 yet :-)

Put it on my blog too, expect to sell out soon (I guess) -> Amiga 1200/600 IDE-CF extender
cv643d is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 15:47   #148
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by cv643d View Post
Got mine today, too bad I dont have an A600 yet :-)

Put it on my blog too, expect to sell out soon (I guess) -> Amiga 1200/600 IDE-CF extender

Thanks for the review . Second and final batch will be here this Friday. Board is longer, slightly rewired, holes predrilled (hopefully match up lol), and this batch will be green.

ECS adapter board (beta) is off to get manufactured today. I am going away for Easter for a couple of weeks (back to Ontario) so not sure when i will get chance to get the final board out if all goes well. (Should be at least by end of May). Same applies to my Ps2/PSX adapter board
kipper2k is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 17:53   #149
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 749
I'm just guessing, this reworked version isn't the one with a functional IDE header for a internal master on it?

(No, haven't been looking on mine much, been working with WinUAE, and been outside in the sun. Sorry, i know, my priorities are messed up, outside, in the sun, what am i thinking...)
B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 18:04   #150
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr B View Post
I'm just guessing, this reworked version isn't the one with a functional IDE header for a internal master on it?

(No, haven't been looking on mine much, been working with WinUAE, and been outside in the sun. Sorry, i know, my priorities are messed up, outside, in the sun, what am i thinking...)
B!



this revision has the full pass through on the IDE header. The previous schematic that i used for this board was the one provided by Sandisk and i have noticed that a few connectios on the IDE header were not used in order for the CF cards to function so i left out some traces. This revision will have all connections to the IDE Header, so, in theory it would be just a case of attaching a 44 pin male header on top of my board and selecting slave for the CF card. (time will tell)
kipper2k is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 18:23   #151
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 749
*whines*

You know your going to have to try it out, and offer me a good deal on the "test" platform if you can get it to work?
B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 12 April 2011, 07:44   #152
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,545
I'll take one board.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 13 April 2011, 21:49   #153
Seaside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Athens,Greece
Posts: 28
Adapters received today. Thank You.
Seaside is offline  
Old 14 April 2011, 19:23   #154
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hey - look what arrived today

@Alexh(x2)/DDNI(x1) will post yours tomorrow

Hopefully with some luck you get them Sat AM...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	KipperCF.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	205.5 KB
ID:	28439  
fitzsteve is online now  
Old 14 April 2011, 20:11   #155
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,910
Excellent, any problems, let me know


btw.. V2 boards should be here tomorrow



Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Hey - look what arrived today

@Alexh(x2)/DDNI(x1) will post yours tomorrow

Hopefully with some luck you get them Sat AM...
kipper2k is offline  
Old 14 April 2011, 20:11   #156
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,228
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Hooray! Let me how many tinker tokens you need for postage.
DDNI is offline  
Old 14 April 2011, 21:19   #157
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
Hooray! Let me how many tinker tokens you need for postage.
None mate - I still owe you for the CF card job
fitzsteve is online now  
Old 14 April 2011, 21:35   #158
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,228
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
super! Many thanks.
DDNI is offline  
Old 15 April 2011, 12:05   #159
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
@DDNI/Alexh,

CF's posted & tracking info on PM

Steve.
fitzsteve is online now  
Old 17 April 2011, 16:08   #160
SleepyMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harderwijk/Netherlands
Posts: 25
I'm interested in buying two boards (one for my A1200 en one for my A600)..
Please let me know if there are any available.. THX
SleepyMan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a Compact Flash card on a600/a1200 IDE Smiley support.Hardware 742 12 February 2020 23:52
Using a Compact Flash card on a600/a1200 PCMCIA tomcat666 support.Hardware 413 01 December 2019 21:20
new board - A600 ps2 mouse adapter/extender kipper2k Hardware mods 13 31 May 2013 02:43
wireless pcmcia card for a1200/a600 DoogUK MarketPlace 7 23 January 2009 10:43
Like to buy Accelerator card for A2000, A1200 and A600 jurgen36 MarketPlace 0 08 August 2008 14:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09961 seconds with 16 queries