English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 June 2016, 00:23   #1
Gerry
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 130
Airbus A320 V1.5GE

In case someone is interested in the latest version of Airbus A320, I recently got my hands on V1.5GE, which imho wasn't available online before.

Info about the update (in German):
http://thethalionsource.w4f.eu/Tests...Updatedisk.htm

Download:
http://thethalionsource.w4f.eu/Tests/A320_V15GE.rar
Gerry is offline  
Old 29 June 2016, 09:07   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,243
Nice. Is this localised? I e is it English or German etc?
alexh is offline  
Old 29 June 2016, 10:40   #3
Gerry
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 130
The game is in English.
Gerry is offline  
Old 29 June 2016, 13:49   #4
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,131
Were any of the A320 Airbus disks ever copy protected?
BarryB is offline  
Old 29 June 2016, 15:07   #5
Gerry
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 130
Because you were depending on the included documentation and maps, I always thought the disk wasn't copy protected.

The update disk (at least as far as V1.4GE is concerned) was only sent to registered users and wasn't protected.

Point 5.1 of the V1.5GE README mentioned, "that you were able to make copies of the disk with a regular copy program. This was done as a sign of thanks and confidence for registered users."
Gerry is offline  
Old 29 June 2016, 18:21   #6
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,444
@BarryB
What Gerry said. I have all of Rainer Bopf's A320 game releases and none were copy-protected IIRC. Why do you ask?
DrBong is offline  
Old 29 June 2016, 18:51   #7
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,131
On one of my disks, SIMULATOR, track 79.0 has what looks to be protection as it's not a DOS track!
BarryB is offline  
Old 02 July 2016, 22:23   #8
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,444
@BarryB
Just checked my copy and, I stand corrected, they've sneakily thrown in a long track as the last one on disk 2.

What significance does this have for the update disk, though? From what I can see, the update disk only relates to the boot disk (and presumably disk 2 is used as per normal?).

Edit: What I'd like to know is how many flippin' retail versions of A320 were released, and how many "updates" were only made available to registered users? Obviously I'm coming in from a general HOL and Amiga game nutter perspective!

Do you know Gerry? Anyone else? This is where SPS sometimes comes in handy, but there are no versions of A320 listed as preserved on their website.

Last edited by DrBong; 02 July 2016 at 22:50.
DrBong is offline  
Old 02 July 2016, 22:32   #9
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,131
The 1.5GE update is the whole game on 1 disk, you don't need disk 2, hence being allowed to make a backup so you can use that to write your pilot logs to! So that kind of confirms it WAS copy protected!
BarryB is offline  
Old 02 July 2016, 22:37   #10
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,444
@BarryB
Ahhh, didn't pick up on that when I checked the update disk - good to know!

Wonder why Thalion didn't release the game on 1 disk to begin with if they could've to save on production costs?!? Bear in mind, if that's another stupid question, it's past 3am here and my brain's not working very well after a late night out!

Last edited by DrBong; 02 July 2016 at 23:12.
DrBong is offline  
Old 02 July 2016, 23:11   #11
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,131
Not sure why it wasn't put on 1 disk? Seems lots of games could have be put on 1 disk, just look at Atomic-RoboKid that Galahad recently put on 1 disk.
BarryB is offline  
Old 02 July 2016, 23:46   #12
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,444
@BarryB
True, but Galahad needed to compress Atomic Robokid to one-disk it (lotsa one-disked games are the same). Bizarrely, the original release of A320 as is (without any need to crunch files) would have fit on to 1 disk instead of 2 disks. Seems the only reason that Thalion released it on 2 disks was to be less obvious about copy-protecting the game. Strange thinking - even for a niche licensed game - for mine!
DrBong is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 00:21   #13
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,131
Might be so they could charge more as it's an extra disk

Noticed SPS don't have this IPF'd yet due to the game needing to write to it, it won't play if the disk pilot log disk is write-protected
BarryB is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 03:44   #14
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,317
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
On one of my disks, SIMULATOR, track 79.0 has what looks to be protection as it's not a DOS track!
Barry can you upload your dump please, i would like to get a look at it ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 13:45   #15
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,131
Uploaded to my Onedrive Denis
BarryB is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 15:11   #16
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
without a propper manual the game/simulation is impossible to play - just made my first attempt with this manual, and crashed before i could lift off
emufan is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 16:32   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,317
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Barry can you upload your dump please, i would like to get a look at it ?
Hello Barry,

i have checked your original, and both disks are seen as modified.

I can also confirm that disc 2 is indeed copy protected, it uses the Thalion key track, which is made of 35 sectors.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 17:20   #18
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,131
Disk 2 modified as well? The game should only save to the Pilot Log disk so what is modified on disk 2?
BarryB is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 18:22   #19
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,317
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Disk 2 modified as well? The game should only save to the Pilot Log disk so what is modified on disk 2?
Thalion games are mostly seen as duplicated on an Amiga. Please upload on our FTP server your dump of A320 Airbus
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 20:04   #20
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,131
Uploaded, ticket submitted for this and a few others!
BarryB is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airbus Jimbo project.SPS (was CAPS) 3 01 November 2010 17:42
A320 mai request.Old Rare Games 16 29 December 2008 21:14
A320 Airbus II Crack Intro issue thor support.Games 4 07 December 2006 13:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09377 seconds with 15 queries