English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 February 2018, 15:14   #1
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Arrow Amiga vs Windows

This thread gives members the opportunity to discuss how the Amiga can emulate and run the Windows operating system.

I know that the Amiga 2000 can run windows 98 and possibly Windows 7?

There is a Zorro card that can offer a 266MHz CPU specifically for this process. Single Board Computer unit.

As I own both an Customised Towered Amiga 1200 PPC and an Original Amiga 2000 with GVP 030, it is possible that both these machines have enough to run a Windows OS.

It would be interesting to read what other members think of this possibility the Amiga has, to run Windows and how you have or would go about this procedure?

Does anyone know the limits of the SBC hardware when running Windows OS, on an Amiga 2000?
MigaTech is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 15:25   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,116
Windows 7, what specs does it need to run? 1GB RAM, 1GHz CPU, DirectX-9 GPU. So no. Windows 98 should work but much to slow I guess.
daxb is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 15:27   #3
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 432
I think you are getting two different products confused.

The SBC's you are refering to is just a complete PC on a ISA / PCI card.
You can get P4 and quicker CPU's on them such as Intel Core 2 Quad, so could even run Windows 10 if you wish.
But with an SBC there is no direct connection with the Amiga. It is basically sat there in it's own little world and using the Amiga as a power supply.

You can get bridge cards such as http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/goldengate which allows the Amiga to share it's resources with the PC hardware, although it's not full emulation as there is still a 386 or 486 CPU on the card. You could run Win95 / Win98 on the 486.
kgc210 is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 15:36   #4
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Hmm, I though it might of been a new hardware mod using SBC tech. Thanks for putting that one straight kgc210.

Yes I was aware of the early Zorro cards that allow the Amiga to run 286/386/486 PC's. From what I remember they are quite demanding and have strong limits.

What about PPC tech, could this be a better way to go about running a Windows OS on Amiga?
MigaTech is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 15:40   #5
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 432
There is PCTask 4.4 (actual software emulator), not tried it but maybe with a high clockspeed 060 you could get Win95 running?

With an SBC you could run the Siamese software http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/siamese and control the PC side of it through the Amiga and transfer files either with a SCSI or TCP/IP network.

One advantage with an SBC would to save space if you wanted to play older PC Dos and early Windows games and something that looked retro, saves having an old PC and Amiga on your desk.
kgc210 is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 15:41   #6
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
Windows 10 works great on my A500
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 15:51   #7
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 432
If you just want to play the odd DOS game there is also DOSBox
http://aminet.net/package/misc/emu/DOSBox_AGA

Although would be interesting to see if games ran quicker under PCTask or DOSBox.
kgc210 is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 15:51   #8
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Windows 10 works great on my A500
I am assuming you own a Vampire 2+ to be able to do this?

@kgc210, I remember that set-up now it was with the Eyetech towers, I built one of them up but could never get it to work properly.

That tower was massive too. The Siamese software was lacking in places although I guess they would of rectified by now? I think your suggestions so far are excellent!
MigaTech is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 15:52   #9
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,905
Emulation Win95 yes it can but it is very slow, Win98 I do not think it can be emulated, emulating subsequent Windows systems at the moment is a dream ;(

WinUAE 6860 JIT: PC-TASK Vs PCX ShapeShifter Vs Fusion (Superior Vampire system)
[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 15:58   #10
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by MigaTech View Post
I am assuming you own a Vampire 2+ to be able to do this?
I think there is an element of sarcasm there. Maybe if you glued 10 vampires together you could probably boot into Windows 10 by the end of the year.

What 68k is on your PPC in the A1200?
Give PCTask a go, its free.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=52244
kgc210 is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 16:08   #11
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 490
This is old but I don't think there has been much work put into it to improve things:

[ Show youtube player ]

I know the Vampire has PC RTG modes and this may not be using them yet, so there might be some opportunity for some simple optimisation.

There are also videos of the Vampire running PC games in DOS via pctask. Some games run OKish.
grond is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 16:15   #12
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgc210 View Post
What 68k is on your PPC in the A1200?
It is the 603e @ 240MHz 68040 @25MHz with 256MB Fast.
MigaTech is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 16:22   #13
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 432
Ahh would have to probably replace the 040 with an 060 at least to get a decent speed from PCTask
kgc210 is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 16:23   #14
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
obviously running Windows 7 on Amiga is LOL maybe 3.0 on PC-Task
I never tried but a Guy on Amiga.org gave me some info on Softwindows for Mac/Shapeshifter might get some better results than PC-Task I don't know but not Windows 7
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 16:28   #15
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,211
There's a goldengate thread on eab where someone had managed to get the floppy disk version of Win95 (18 disks!) installed and running on a 50mhz 486SLC/2. It apparently worked fine albeit it was a little slow.

Win3.1 works fine on a 486SLC, I have that very set up. I've got the floppy version of Win95 ready to go to install on my GG, so when I'm back home i intend to try and install it!

I've run PC-Task4.4 on my 80mhz 060 A1200 and it does Dos/Win3.1 ok; I havent tried Win95 but i think it would be very very slow. Doom is slow (much much slower than native Amiga Doom and much slower than Mac Shapeshifter Doom), Tomb Raider is about 2 fps. Quake won't run.

I don't think there is a ppc version of pctask that works on OS3.x otherwise the Sonnet guys would be all over it. There is a new alpha version of dosbox for ppc on 3.x but it's still in development and a rather slow. People have reported some decent results in the sonnet thread but i dont believe anyone's tried installing a version of windows yet.
trixster is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 17:34   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
obviously running Windows 7 on Amiga is LOL maybe 3.0 on PC-Task
I never tried but a Guy on Amiga.org gave me some info on Softwindows for Mac/Shapeshifter might get some better results than PC-Task I don't know but not Windows 7
If you look at my video posted above see the difference, there are all, Windows 7 but also Win XP it is impossible to emulate it on AMiGA

PC-TASK Vs PCX - ShapeShifter Vs Fusion
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 17:38   #17
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
This is old but I don't think there has been much work put into it to improve things:

[ Show youtube player ]

I know the Vampire has PC RTG modes and this may not be using them yet, so there might be some opportunity for some simple optimisation.

There are also videos of the Vampire running PC games in DOS via pctask. Some games run OKish.
Unusually too slow, however on WinUAE it is faster (JIT/FPU)
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 18:11   #18
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
If you look at my video posted above see the difference, there are all, Windows 7 but also Win XP it is impossible to emulate it on AMiGA

PC-TASK Vs PCX - ShapeShifter Vs Fusion
Maybe you should try Softwindows with ShapeShifter or Fusion
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthre...270#post825270

Last edited by Retro1234; 26 February 2018 at 18:44. Reason: ShapeShiter???
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 18:37   #19
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
however on WinUAE it is faster (JIT/FPU)
Yes, I totally see the point of running an Amiga emulator on Windows to then run an x86 emulator in the emulated Amiga to run Windows in it...
grond is offline  
Old 26 February 2018, 18:52   #20
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Maybe you should try Softwindows with ShapeShifter or Fusion
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthre...270#post825270
But are we talking about emulation on Windows? because otherwise the choice is SheepShaver
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga as a replacement to Windows BitmapBros New to Emulation or Amiga scene 17 07 November 2008 00:44
Windows/Amiga integration vodley support.WinUAE 1 28 June 2008 20:32
Amiga Disassembler for Windows? cpeel2300 Coders. General 5 05 April 2005 13:49
How to use an amiga mouse under Windows? TheFoxSoft support.Hardware 7 05 January 2005 01:49
Windows API for Amiga OS? Pyromania Amiga scene 3 11 April 2002 14:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08841 seconds with 13 queries