English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 July 2017, 18:59   #181
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
Is there any game that use bilitter for poly fill?

I only in resent years find someone blog that made study about blitter poly fill.
kovacm is offline  
Old 28 July 2017, 07:26   #182
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovacm View Post
Is there any game that use bilitter for poly fill?
Yes.
britelite is offline  
Old 28 July 2017, 08:45   #183
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
^

Like: ...?
kovacm is offline  
Old 28 July 2017, 22:15   #184
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovacm View Post
^

Like: ...?
Relatively few. Hunter, F/A-18 Interceptor come to mind.
Photon is offline  
Old 29 July 2017, 12:25   #185
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 6,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Relatively few. Hunter, F/A-18 Interceptor come to mind.
I would have to revist but im sure Fighter Bomber uses the blitter
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 29 July 2017, 12:35   #186
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,099
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
What about Carrier Command?
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 29 July 2017, 21:29   #187
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
That is, quite frankly, far away from truth, most demos are 100% realtime.
not all demo are in real time.
it is if it starts soon when you click on the icon, but if it start after several seconds it precalcs.
In some demos you saw "pre-Calc" text (like phasetruce productions and others groups) while in the other you have to wait some times (when you think amiga freezed, the demo starts).
Seiya is offline  
Old 29 July 2017, 21:46   #188
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
not all demo are in real time.
it is if it starts soon when you click on the icon, but if it start after several seconds it precalcs.
In some demos you saw "pre-Calc" text (like phasetruce productions and others groups) while in the other you have to wait some times (when you think amiga freezed, the demo starts).
It doesn't have to be pre-calc though, not everyone liked the flashing colours while decrunching so it could also be that.
roondar is offline  
Old 01 August 2017, 11:58   #189
AJCopland
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beeston, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovacm View Post
Is there any game that use bilitter for poly fill?

I only in resent years find someone blog that made study about blitter poly fill.
ArmourGeddon and its sequel did didn't they?
AJCopland is offline  
Old 01 August 2017, 13:47   #190
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Relatively few. Hunter, F/A-18 Interceptor come to mind.
I checked Hunter by counting frames - it look like it is same speed as on ST.

Is there any other way to get FPS from video?
kovacm is offline  
Old 01 August 2017, 14:48   #191
AJCopland
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beeston, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 110
@kovacm
Also the polygon blitter article you mentioned, is it Scali's?
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=62607
https://scalibq.wordpress.com/2012/0...real-part-5-1/
AJCopland is offline  
Old 01 August 2017, 16:52   #192
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
^
Yes.
kovacm is offline  
Old 01 August 2017, 16:57   #193
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovacm View Post
I checked Hunter by counting frames - it look like it is same speed as on ST.

Is there any other way to get FPS from video?
Yes, I became unsure about Hunter, too. It was from the impression I got back then. Since there's an ST port - it most likely uses the CPU.

Because the ST and Amiga 500 CPU frequency were so close, the games will have the same framerate.

If you play vector games on accelerator, the framerate might go up. If it's an 040/060, and it goes up a lot, the game is using the CPU for most things. If it just goes up a little, it could still be using the Blitter for most things. But it's a little bit up to the game design. And there could be an FPS cap in either case.

So framerate is not a reliable method, but if it goes up substantially on a fast accelerator, it can reveal which games used mostly CPU and didn't have an FPS cap.
Photon is offline  
Old 17 March 2018, 18:08   #194
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 113
Hello, I made a video today and I remember this old thread.

[ Show youtube player ]
Estrayk is offline  
Old 17 March 2018, 19:47   #195
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 403
That's a whole load of awesomeness for one single desk!
frank_b is offline  
Old 17 March 2018, 20:18   #196
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 290
That is a pointless comparison since the Amiga version is buggy and tuned for WinUAE, not real HW (according to the demo readme file).
It doesn't run smoothly even with faster clocked 060, is out-of-sync with the music on real HW and doesn't free memory when its done...
The Falcon version is apparently the "final", at least according to what I've read.

12 years later, I'm still waiting for a fixed version on the Amiga, but at this point it looks like that'll never happen


Quote:
Originally Posted by Estrayk View Post
Hello, I made a video today and I remember this old thread.

[ Show youtube player ]
UberFreak is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 02:25   #197
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 34
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovacm View Post
Hm.... by Escape
[ Show youtube player ]
only 3D stuff - motion blur, transparency, textures... (super smooth, hi res)
Nice techno song at 40 seconds
redblade is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 11:27   #198
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,099
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Re: Starstruck

Since the Falcon in the video was 66 MHz and the A1200 was 50 MHz, it would only make sense that the Falcon would win. Not to mention the 5% penalty for c2p on the Amiga....
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 15:01   #199
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
not all demo are in real time.
it is if it starts soon when you click on the icon, but if it start after several seconds it precalcs.
In some demos you saw "pre-Calc" text (like phasetruce productions and others groups) while in the other you have to wait some times (when you think amiga freezed, the demo starts).
Ugh, just saw this.... First, if demos don't start immediately it doesn't mean they are not realtime, things can be decrunched before the demo starts! Also, precalculation doesn't necessarily mean demo is not realtime either! A lot of things can be precalculated (textures, (sine) tables etc. pp.) and the effects still are done in realtime!
StingRay is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 15:18   #200
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
Re: Starstruck

Since the Falcon in the video was 66 MHz and the A1200 was 50 MHz, it would only make sense that the Falcon would win. Not to mention the 5% penalty for c2p on the Amiga....
Well the Falcon has to do c2p here too as it's still using an 8 bit screen.
Seems like the audio was offloaded to the DSP. The Ct60 has a more modern memory interface. Video RAM access is quicker on the Falcon too. It should be faster than a blizzard clock for clock. I wonder what a Supervidel version would have looked like. It has 1600 megabytes per second bandwidth to the video RAM. It also support 8 bit and 32 bit chunky modes. I wonder how a vampire would compare as well. I wonder how it would look on an Amiga reloaded too
frank_b is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BEst of Amiga Demos 1988 Akira Nostalgia & memories 2 03 February 2012 19:01
Why so few NEW Amiga intros, demos, etc.? Crown Amiga scene 58 16 October 2009 13:53
Looking for actual AMIGA demos (A500) on Amiga Disks Gilbert request.Demos 8 20 July 2009 22:46
Amiga demos ? Tseki support.Demos 14 14 August 2008 11:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11323 seconds with 16 queries