English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2012, 02:11   #1
steveggz
 
Posts: n/a
Problem starting game via startup-sequence

I have workbench 3.1 working using winuae. Im trying to get a game to run automatically through the startup-sequence.

The game is epsilon 9. It doesn't have a whdload. I did the hard drive install (which the game has) and the game works fine from hard drive when I double click on the epsilon_9 file. But when I add it to the main startup sequence it starts fine with the introduction but as soon as the next scene is going to play it exits back to workbench.

I also tried with winuae just using the harddrive install folder, adding C, libs, l, S etc... and trying that way without workbench but I get the same result.

The error message I get right after this happens is "Screen not opened" epsilon_9 failed returncode 20.

When I try to have it run with my workbench configured startup sequence I only added "new:epsilon_9" at the end just before endcli ("new:" being the folder with the hd install). And when I try to have it run with just the hd install folder in winuae I just put epsilon_9 in the startup sequence and nothing else.

I read of another game giving that same error message called sam & max. Both games use GRAC. By adding "Assign GRAC2: Work:Games/" for sam&max they got it working but it doesn't seem to work for me.

Any help plaese?
 
Old 12 June 2012, 04:11   #2
rampartsagain
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Porto/Portugal
Posts: 383
does the game boot on disk?
maybe corrupt disk or not installed on the right drawer,or file missing.
rampartsagain is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 09:07   #3
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 11,085
Instead of putting the line "new:epsilon_9" try:

CD new:
epsilon_9

I think what might be happening is that the game is trying to find the files it needs to run but because 'new' isn't the current directory it's not searching there and hence can't find them.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 14 June 2012, 06:43   #4
steveggz
 
Posts: n/a
The way I have the directory setup seems fine. The game does start to run but after the introduction (game title and programer name ...), just before the next scene or gameplay part, the game exits to workbench.

Just doesn't make any sense to me

Double clicking on the epsilon_9 file works perfectly but having it start from startup-sequence doesn't.

EDIT: Thank you Graham Humphrey. I tried your way and it worked! You are absolutely correct. Since new: wasn't the current directory all it did was run the file in that directory but didn't stay in that directory for the game to find the rest of the files.

Thank you for your help.

Last edited by steveggz; 14 June 2012 at 07:02. Reason: My mistake
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ed s:startup-sequence Astrofra Member Introductions 2 24 February 2013 22:09
startup-sequence mai support.Other 10 01 June 2010 21:39
Problem with very low Chipmem... (Startup-Sequence?!) Ebster support.Apps 15 25 February 2010 21:41
Startup-Sequence blade002 support.Apps 8 04 April 2008 19:06
weird startup-sequence problem (in use) Stein support.WinUAE 6 17 November 2005 22:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06520 seconds with 13 queries