English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2009, 14:31   #1
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
Start minimised / hidden / not steal focus?

Hi Toni,

not really a request as such, more of a question.

With the GUI disabled (use_gui=no) is there any way of running WinUAE without it popping up and stealing focus?

Ideally I'd like it to not appear at all, but any option to have it start minimised or to not steal focus from other apps would be good.

If there is a command line switch that would be great.

Last edited by killergorilla; 29 May 2009 at 16:27.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 29 May 2009, 18:46   #2
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 3,289
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
A temporary workaround to start Winuae minimized in case you need it quickly .
It will still steal focus though.

- create a shortcut to Winuae
- then in the shortcut properties you can select, in the Run dropdown box: normal window, minimized, maximized
lilalurl is offline  
Old 29 May 2009, 23:13   #3
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
Surely that'll only start the GUI in minimised mode?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 29 May 2009, 23:15   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Surely that'll only start the GUI in minimised mode?
Yup Same effect as with processstartinfo
TCD is offline  
Old 29 May 2009, 23:33   #5
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 3,289
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Surely that'll only start the GUI in minimised mode?
I thought you said you would disable the GUI?

Maybe I misunderstand your issue, but here is in details what I would do:
  1. load/create the config I want. Untick Show GUI at startup. Save the config.
  2. create a shortcut to Winuae
  3. then in the shortcut properties select minimized
  4. still in the properties, in the 'target' box, use winuae.exe -f nameoftheconfigfile.uae
lilalurl is offline  
Old 30 May 2009, 00:00   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,692
a) what exactly do you want?
b) why?

(not stealing focus if started minimized should be easy fix but I still want some answers first )
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 May 2009, 00:01   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
KG wants to completely run WinUAE in a 'stealth' mode. With your method the emulation window still shows up. The minimized setting doesn't really affect anything when you uncheck the 'Show GUI on startup' checkbox

@Toni
Hope KG doesn't slap me for this, but he wants to use WinUAE for a batch conversion of zip to HDF
TCD is offline  
Old 30 May 2009, 03:10   #8
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
TCD is pretty much correct.

a) I don't want WinUAE to take focus over the application I have created to convert the Zips to HDFs. I don't really mind how this is done, even if WinUAE appears minimised.

b) As stated, I have created a program to convert my whdload zip files to hdf files using winuae.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 31 May 2009, 21:06   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,692
Minimized mouse capture/focus should be fixed in 1.6.1b1.

btw, I have plans (yet another plan that may never happen..) to implement feature that allows running any non-gui Amiga program transparently

for example something like "winuae -call lzx l c:\files\somearchive.lzx" would run the Amiga lzx command (which is located in current directory or in some kind of "path") inside hidden Amiga environment (+PC drives automatically mapped etc..), output would be returned to Windows command line window.

It would be just like running normal Windows command line program.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 31 May 2009, 21:31   #10
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Minimized mouse capture/focus should be fixed in 1.6.1b1.

btw, I have plans (yet another plan that may never happen..) to implement feature that allows running any non-gui Amiga program transparently

for example something like "winuae -call lzx l c:\files\somearchive.lzx" would run the Amiga lzx command (which is located in current directory or in some kind of "path") inside hidden Amiga environment (+PC drives automatically mapped etc..), output would be returned to Windows command line window.

It would be just like running normal Windows command line program.
Toni FTW that sounds impressive.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 01 June 2009, 13:31   #11
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,957
Cheers Toni, I'll take a look at the latest beta.

That tranpsarent loading sounds like a great feature, not something I'd use for what I am doing now but I think I'd definitely look at using it in the future.
killergorilla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1084P out of focus brett71 support.Hardware 3 11 September 2012 15:26
Pause when minimised mark_k support.WinUAE 3 18 February 2012 13:17
Steal a Fantasy! Pyromania MarketPlace 2 01 November 2007 04:44
Did Producer Timbaland Steal From the Demoscene? viddi News 43 23 January 2007 16:42
command line to start a confil + start the game Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 17 October 2004 10:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07835 seconds with 13 queries