English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2020, 21:48   #41
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 627
By the way, looks like WhichAmiga needs to be updated to identify the AA3000+
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 18 February 2020, 21:55   #42
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkedrowitsch View Post
Why? I could see someone having a problem with the AmiBay/Ebay ripoff prices a particular seller asks for them, but...
Well, he wrote on multiple occasions that he thinks the card is a waste of precious 060s.

I certainly agree to that when it comes to the higher revisions of the CPU. But the card is a somewhat perfect fit for a revision 1 and - so far - is the only opensourced 060 accelerator for the big boxes.
torsti76 is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 20:32   #43
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by torsti76 View Post
So, just to clarify: You guys got the reworked E3B firmware for the Prometheus up and running with a new version of the library and stuff from OpenPCI?

Just to add on this: you can see my video of upgrading the firmware on the Prometheus on YT. [ Show youtube player ]
Wrangler is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:29   #44
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangler View Post
Just to add on this: you can see my video of upgrading the firmware on the Prometheus on YT. [ Show youtube player ]
Thanks for the videos. Very nice to see the AA3000+ and the Prometheus with upgraded firmware working.

It's really amazing!
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:41   #45
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangler View Post
Just to add on this: you can see my video of upgrading the firmware on the Prometheus on YT. [ Show youtube player ]
Really nice! Thank you for that. Now I only need all the files... ;-)
torsti76 is offline  
Old 21 February 2020, 15:11   #46
mousehouse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 58
Awesome result, really nice...
mousehouse is offline  
Old 23 February 2020, 11:55   #47
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 346
I'm adding here my findings for how to get EHCI on USB working (sort of*) using ArakAttack on Prometheus with Firestorm firmware:
  1. You need a valid ArakAttack registration keyfile. Guido Mersmann, the author of ArakAttack, gave me a key and said I could freely distribute it, so let me know if you need it. Put it in a system directory like ENVARC: or DEVS:
  2. Download ArakAttack 1.23 from Aminet
  3. The installer in ArakAttack v1.23 has a bug in it. You need to edit the file ArakAttack.install as follows: after the line "(complete 50)" there is a line containing "10 NOGUI". Change that to "Prefs NOGUI" leaving everything else on that line unchanged. (Took me a while to work this one out )
  4. Double click the installer icon. This will install the drivers and register them (between 50% and 60% complete - if this doesn't happen, you have the keyfile in the wrong place).
  5. You need a USB stack such as Poseidon - this ought now to be able to connect to your USB card

I used an NEC USB card with 4 USB ports and this gave me 2 OHCI units and one EHCI unit.

* Now the drawbacks: for a reason I don't understand, although the EHCI opens fine straight after the driver is installed, it won't open after the machine is rebooted (although the OHCI units will)

And: even after all this, it's very slooooow. Like 150KB per sec read/write in SysSpeed. That's faster than the demo (unregistered) version but still not quick enough really to use

Not sure if it's possible to do anything to improve either drawback but if you work something out, let me know!
Wrangler is offline  
Old 23 February 2020, 13:50   #48
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 311
Hi @Wrangler ,

thanks for the comprehensive explanation. I'd like the keyfile, please. Will send you my email address by PM.

Thank you again,
Torsten
torsti76 is offline  
Old 23 February 2020, 13:56   #49
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangler View Post
I'm adding here my findings for how to get EHCI on USB working (sort of*) using ArakAttack on Prometheus with Firestorm firmware:


  1. You need a valid ArakAttack registration keyfile. Guido Mersmann, the author of ArakAttack, gave me a key and said I could freely distribute it, so let me know if you need it. Put it in a system directory like ENVARC: or DEVS:
  2. Download ArakAttack 1.23 from Aminet
  3. The installer in ArakAttack v1.23 has a bug in it. You need to edit the file ArakAttack.install as follows: after the line "(complete 50)" there is a line containing "10 NOGUI". Change that to "Prefs NOGUI" leaving everything else on that line unchanged. (Took me a while to work this one out )
  4. Double click the installer icon. This will install the drivers and register them (between 50% and 60% complete - if this doesn't happen, you have the keyfile in the wrong place).
  5. You need a USB stack such as Poseidon - this ought now to be able to connect to your USB card



I used an NEC USB card with 4 USB ports and this gave me 2 OHCI units and one EHCI unit.



* Now the drawbacks: for a reason I don't understand, although the EHCI opens fine straight after the driver is installed, it won't open after the machine is rebooted (although the OHCI units will)



And: even after all this, it's very slooooow. Like 150KB per sec read/write in SysSpeed. That's faster than the demo (unregistered) version but still not quick enough really to use



Not sure if it's possible to do anything to improve either drawback but if you work something out, let me know!
Hmm, that's odd indeed. I'll try with a 5 port NEC card when I finally got around to building the AA3000+.
These cards are easily converted to "Spider" cards by changing some bits in their EEPROMs and work like a charm with the Mediators. They also have 3 units per device. Unfortunately, I won't get around to it too soon. But as soon as I do I'll report my findings here.
torsti76 is offline  
Old 23 February 2020, 17:47   #50
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 346
@Torsti76: you have mail
Wrangler is offline  
Old 23 February 2020, 18:16   #51
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangler View Post
@Torsti76: you have mail
@Wrangler thank you very much!
torsti76 is offline  
Old 08 March 2020, 00:33   #52
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 149
Does Radeon work on the AA3000+ ?
matt3k is offline  
Old 08 March 2020, 00:57   #53
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
Does Radeon work on the AA3000+ ?
I don't think there is a driver for Radeon on the Prometheus, at least publicly released.

Edit, let me revise that - there is for OS4.1 Classic, not 3.x as far as I know. Radeon on Firestorm/Prometheus does work in OS 4.1 Classic.

Last edited by DarrenHD; 08 March 2020 at 02:05.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 08 March 2020, 02:58   #54
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by torsti76 View Post
Well, he wrote on multiple occasions that he thinks the card is a waste of precious 060s.

I certainly agree to that when it comes to the higher revisions of the CPU. But the card is a somewhat perfect fit for a revision 1 and - so far - is the only opensourced 060 accelerator for the big boxes.
My dream is an opensourced 060 card that includes both local RAM and a multi IO chip with all modern network/storage interfaces on headers (USB/Ethernet/SATA/etc.). Maybe a SoC if that simplified writing DMA drivers (with the SoC CPU driving the DMA).
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 19 July 2020, 13:22   #55
SLD-SNaKe
Registered User

SLD-SNaKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Spain
Posts: 12
I'm testing now my AA3000+ too.
I just flashed the new firestorm firmware using those links from Cosmos and taking a look at your video @Wrangler, thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangler View Post
I'm adding here my findings for how to get EHCI on USB working (sort of*) using ArakAttack on Prometheus with Firestorm firmware:
  1. You need a valid ArakAttack registration keyfile. Guido Mersmann, the author of ArakAttack, gave me a key and said I could freely distribute it, so let me know if you need it. Put it in a system directory like ENVARC: or DEVS:
  2. Download ArakAttack 1.23 from Aminet
  3. The installer in ArakAttack v1.23 has a bug in it. You need to edit the file ArakAttack.install as follows: after the line "(complete 50)" there is a line containing "10 NOGUI". Change that to "Prefs NOGUI" leaving everything else on that line unchanged. (Took me a while to work this one out )
  4. Double click the installer icon. This will install the drivers and register them (between 50% and 60% complete - if this doesn't happen, you have the keyfile in the wrong place).
  5. You need a USB stack such as Poseidon - this ought now to be able to connect to your USB card

I used an NEC USB card with 4 USB ports and this gave me 2 OHCI units and one EHCI unit.

* Now the drawbacks: for a reason I don't understand, although the EHCI opens fine straight after the driver is installed, it won't open after the machine is rebooted (although the OHCI units will)

And: even after all this, it's very slooooow. Like 150KB per sec read/write in SysSpeed. That's faster than the demo (unregistered) version but still not quick enough really to use

Not sure if it's possible to do anything to improve either drawback but if you work something out, let me know!

I'm going to test some PCI cards and I saw those steps for the USB, could you send me that key too @Wrangler? Thanks a lot! (PM sent)



Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaHope View Post
My dream is an opensourced 060 card that includes both local RAM and a multi IO chip with all modern network/storage interfaces on headers (USB/Ethernet/SATA/etc.). Maybe a SoC if that simplified writing DMA drivers (with the SoC CPU driving the DMA).

Maybe the future Warp 4060: USB, RTG, Wifi, SD... (IINM) on the CPU slot side. Allthough that won't be an opensourced option
SLD-SNaKe is offline  
Old 27 July 2020, 18:42   #56
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 346
@SLD-SNaKe: keyfile sent
Wrangler is offline  
Old 17 August 2020, 06:03   #57
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 627
Hey guys just an update from me:

I have my AA3000+ now. I've managed to setup a 3D Labs Permedia 2 card (Creative Labs brand) to work with the Firestorm firmware. The only thing I can't get to work is DMA memory. I've added DMAsize=2048k to the monitor ToolType and also tried 512k, but DMAList says no DMA memory available. I wonder if it is supported on the Permedia 2?

I have a S3 card I could try, see if that works. No spare Voodoos unfortunately.

I also made a monitor switch cable (Thanks to Wrangler's video!) after much fiddly soldering I finally got it to work reliably.

Thanks for everyone's tips in this thread!
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 17 August 2020, 20:39   #58
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,923
You might struggle with dma drivers for firestorm for S3 or permedia2 - I’ve only found drivers for voodoo3 so far
trixster is offline  
Old 18 August 2020, 02:53   #59
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
You might struggle with dma drivers for firestorm for S3 or permedia2 - I’ve only found drivers for voodoo3 so far
That's what I thought...the Permedia2 driver is not updated to support the DMA functions.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 19 August 2020, 21:23   #60
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 346
By the way, has anyone managed to get USB working better than in my post from Feb? If you have, I'd very much like to hear about it!
Wrangler is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Practices in Localizing a Program? tygre Coders. General 3 29 December 2018 05:38
Looking for prometheus.library v3.0 jarob request.Apps 0 19 January 2012 10:31
Best practices for direct hardware programming ? weiju Coders. Asm / Hardware 27 31 October 2011 13:10
Prometheus vs Mediator? wXR Hardware mods 3 26 December 2010 20:33
Prometheus in A4000T Boot_WB Hardware mods 32 05 September 2009 20:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09382 seconds with 13 queries