English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 July 2017, 10:07   #41
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,188
very good, thx
Seiya is offline  
Old 01 July 2017, 12:15   #42
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by PopoCop View Post
Try TinyPic (tinypic.com).
I used to use this but it's a bit spamtastic and you often get redirected to some random page just after uploading and before getting the links; not to mention you have to fill in a those verification windows after uploading more than one image

These days I use https://www.imageupload.co.uk/; it's much better IMHO.
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 July 2017, 14:21   #43
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,188
it seems good also this hosting
Seiya is offline  
Old 06 August 2017, 03:43   #44
amiga_Forever
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: kkhkj
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
That a game is AGA does not mean it has 256 colors on-screen.
Usually 256 colors is a theoretical, improbable number.
It is, particularly when u consider most games (if any) never ever got to that.

Only paint programs really got there.

"The Amiga "could" display" if u allowed it to.
amiga_Forever is offline  
Old 08 August 2017, 00:51   #45
kolorabi
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 130
The Amiga version of Simon the Sorcerer 2 seems identical to the PC VGA version, Irfanview says there are 256 colours on a screenshot from Mobygames.
kolorabi is offline  
Old 08 August 2017, 01:15   #46
coder76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 125
The AGA dualplayfield is good compared to OCS dualplayfield, with 16 colors for both layers minus transparency.

If you remember the "dynamic hires" on A500, it had 4 bitplanes and hires+interlace, but copper was used to change all 16 colors for each scanline. The result was nearly photorealistic image quality (dead slow though, DMA stole almost all CPU speed). The same could be used for AGA dualplayfield.. maybe wouldn't work for both layers at same time with copper, but with a little tweaking you could go pretty far. Lionheart , Shadow of the beast and Agony showed what could be done with OCS dualplayfield, but sadly no one has fully exploited the capabilities of the AGA in games yet.
coder76 is offline  
Old 08 August 2017, 01:56   #47
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayminer View Post
Uhm, no. AGA is not faster than RTG, especially for a game like Quake where you have to do Chunky to Planar conversion for each frame. In that case RTG is way faster, even with a "slow" RTG-card.
This is what I used to think but if you are using a fast processor (060) then something like Quake isn't much faster on RTG. I once did an experimental RTG build of my old AmiQuake port and was told by RTG owners that it only ran 1-2 FPS faster than in AGA mode.

BTW I think Quake 2 AGA might use all 256 colors

[ Show youtube player ]
NovaCoder is online now  
Old 02 March 2021, 06:28   #48
Daishi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Auburndale, Florida
Posts: 34
That's not correct. As a PC tech of that time period, I can tell you that not all VGA cards even had enough memory on the card to do 256 colour at 320X200 (requiring memory shifting so pretty much breaking everything) but some weren't even capable of enough bandwidth to do so. even when 256 colour games eventually came out they displayed them with as low as 16 colours (which looks horrific).
They were sold as VGA but really they should have been just labeled "Please use as an EGA with the new monitor you bought", which is what a lot of VGA labeled games were.
As for technical reasons - 256 colour takes a lot of room, not just on the many many discs (no CD for you at the time) you but but on the HDD also. Mentioned it before but bandwidth! there is a reason the PC changed it's bus more often than the seasons. VGA over anything previous to VL is a miserable experience, and the fact is there were a lot of PC owners that just didn't have a PC that could really use a VGA let alone optimally. And to add insult to injury VGA was only a standard to IBM with everyone else cloning it, often badly creating many incompatibilities. This itself made companies not want to bring out real mode 13h VGA graphics. SVGA eventually fixed most of this by being standardized.

Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
But then those limitations were not because of technical reasons. If a VGA game uses 32 colours, the VGA chip is still outputting 256 colours, of which most are unused.
Daishi is offline  
Old 02 March 2021, 07:55   #49
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 777
Quote:
I can tell you that not all VGA cards even had enough memory on the card to do 256 colour at 320X200
EDIT: I have a hard time believing there were VGA-cards with less than 64k of RAM (as that would even render EGA-modes unavailable), but I'd be happy to be proved wrong.

Last edited by britelite; 02 March 2021 at 12:06. Reason: Removed the harsh tone of the original reply
britelite is offline  
Old 03 March 2021, 14:09   #50
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,557
Seems odd to offer specific functionality to computer hardware without providing it with the necessary resources, doesn't it? Wasn't this hardware expandable?
Foebane is online now  
Old 03 March 2021, 14:18   #51
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,756
I do seem to recall reading adverts for PC's that came with a 16 colour VGA card, but it's been over 25 years so I'll admit I could simply be misremembering here.
roondar is offline  
Old 03 March 2021, 15:35   #52
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Seems odd to offer specific functionality to computer hardware without providing it with the necessary resources, doesn't it? Wasn't this hardware expandable?
You mean like the C128 with only 16k VDC RAM for 80 columns display? :-)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 03 March 2021, 16:22   #53
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
I do seem to recall reading adverts for PC's that came with a 16 colour VGA card, but it's been over 25 years so I'll admit I could simply be misremembering here.
There were actually SVGA-capable cards with only 256kB of RAM, which meant all regular VGA-modes worked fine but you only got 640x480 and 800x600 resolutions with 16 colors.
britelite is offline  
Old 03 March 2021, 16:38   #54
dreadnought
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ur, Atlantis
Posts: 819
I've read this earlier:
Quote:
The on-board specifications included 256 KB Video RAM (The very first systems could be ordered with 64 KB or 128 KB of RAM, at the cost of losing some or all high-resolution 16-color modes.)
https://www.computer.org/publication...Chips-IBMs-VGA

I think it's possible there were also some more off-standard designs from some less -scrupulous clone makers, given how it was all a bit of a Wild West back then.
dreadnought is offline  
Old 03 March 2021, 16:41   #55
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 756
I think the colours in Reshoot-R is fantastic.

Go to 2.10 min. That is great color use and a great example of how nice AGA can be.

[ Show youtube player ]
nikosidis is offline  
Old 17 March 2021, 23:42   #56
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post

And then there are games that specify AGA simply because they need 2MB of chip RAM - they'll actually run on an ECS machine with 2MB of chip RAM, but such machines were probably rare amongst the gaming target market.

Primal Rage, Dungeon Master 2, and Wasted Dreams.


These are games built around the original Amiga 500 video hardware, but demand 2 MB of chip RAM; that are very rare due to you need an Amiga 500 Plus or an Amiga 600.



That are far to be the common Amiga 500 user base.
masteries is offline  
Old 22 March 2021, 17:57   #57
Daishi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Auburndale, Florida
Posts: 34
At one time the company I worked for put an ATI SVGA card with zero memory onboard, requiring it to share system memory. And for anyone who remembers the memory configuration back then, this was not just slow (system memory is already much slower than video memory) but it saturated the bandwidth causing the whole system to run even slower. We only sold that for a short while as it was horrific (but cheap) this was the kind of thing going on on the PC market. "Hey it's VGA, and you know know what that means right!!!" Most people had no idea what they were buying only knowing (they had no idea) blerb from magazines which in turn were just trying to make a buck by not alienating the advertising companies. The whole PC market was built on lies, and I made a fortune off it (looking back I'm actually quite sad to say that)
Daishi is offline  
Old 22 March 2021, 18:03   #58
Daishi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Auburndale, Florida
Posts: 34
Just as a reminder VGA was never a standard except for IBM. Everyone else had to reverse engineer it to copy it, and there was no standard by them. Some cards exceeded VGA and even early SVGA specs but did so using their own non-compliant way and were expensive (very). SVGA Did get a standardization but it was not always followed but it was significantly better than VGA.
Daishi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
256 colors remap Retrofan support.Other 108 22 July 2015 23:57
goblins series conversion to AGA 256 colors Sandro support.Games 25 29 May 2015 13:10
universe amiga 500 256 colors ! ? turrican3 Retrogaming General Discussion 14 09 April 2014 21:35
Using a WBPattern with more than 256 colors jotd support.Other 9 20 June 2006 15:56
Using 256 colors sence2001 support.Apps 0 02 October 2004 21:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09754 seconds with 15 queries