English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 July 2018, 01:42   #1
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
(AGA) what's this?

I see this "(AGA)" at the end of the game names. What is it?

Thanks
BullyDog is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 01:44   #2
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 685
It's a game that support AGA Chipset on A1200 and A4000 Amiga model
Seiya is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 01:54   #3
Amiga4000
Registered User
Amiga4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Ford Galaxy
Posts: 93
In spite of it's limitations, when implemented to it's fullest, I love AGA games.

Explanation Link............
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amiga_...s_Architecture
Amiga4000 is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 01:58   #4
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullyDog View Post
I see this "(AGA)" at the end of the game names. What is it?

Thanks
AGA stands for Advanced Graphics Architecture, and it was a major upgrade to the graphics custom chips of the Amiga, making them the Amiga equivalent of the PC's VGA, and in some ways, beyond.

However, the sound chip was not improved in any way.
Foebane is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 02:00   #5
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
I see, so these Amigas are the ones with the VGA ports?

As to the sound chip. still the SID?
BullyDog is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 02:37   #6
Mrz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullyDog View Post
I see, so these Amigas are the ones with the VGA ports?


nope the Amiga 1200 and the A4000 don't have vga ports


Quote:
Originally Posted by BullyDog View Post
As to the sound chip. still the SID?

nope
the SID chip is used in the commodore 64
the commodore Amigas use the "paula" sound chip
Mrz is online now  
Old 09 July 2018, 03:27   #7
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
Ok, I got it. They use RGB ports and you can use a VGA adapter on it.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 04:18   #8
Amiga4000
Registered User
Amiga4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Ford Galaxy
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullyDog View Post
Ok, I got it. They use RGB ports and you can use a VGA adapter on it.
You can do that but you'll get a 15KHz video output which would require using a 15KHz horizontal freq capable LCD monitor (or a 15KHz CRT without adapter).

To use a modern 31KHz LCD monitor you need a scan doubler (15KHz ---> 31KHz) such as this (IMO, the best option).

https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...A1200%2FA4000T
Amiga4000 is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 04:54   #9
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 750
More simply, when you see AGA in games names you must select "A1200" in WinUAE
chip is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 05:11   #10
Amiga4000
Registered User
Amiga4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Ford Galaxy
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
More simply, when you see AGA in games names you must select "A1200" in WinUAE
Or that if you're using emulation!
Amiga4000 is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 05:16   #11
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 750
Yep you are right Amiga4000

I thinked BullyDog uses WinUAE but i can't know that
chip is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 08:09   #12
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
AGA stands for Advanced Graphics Architecture, and it was a major upgrade to the graphics custom chips of the Amiga, making them the Amiga equivalent of the PC's VGA, and in some ways, beyond.
Beyond? Don't know that I'd agree with that.
Hewitson is online now  
Old 09 July 2018, 10:18   #13
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Beyond? Don't know that I'd agree with that.
HAM8 is beyond that Hi-Color crap that SVGA puts out, that's for sure.
Foebane is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 10:31   #14
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,557
HAM8 is not really useful for anything other than static images. You can do anything in 24-bit SVGA, and it's so much faster it's not funny. No comparison.
Hewitson is online now  
Old 09 July 2018, 11:25   #15
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
HAM8 is not really useful for anything other than static images.
Dozens of scene demos that use HAM8 for animation say otherwise. I can cite examples, if you like. OK, so the resolution is lower than Hi-Color and you need a 68030 at least, but they're still FMV animations and effects.
Foebane is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 12:02   #16
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
HAM8 is beyond that Hi-Color crap that SVGA puts out, that's for sure.
If you mean in comparison to a 16 bpp display I'd have to disagree.
Ham8 is far inferior compared to the flexibility of a high colour or true colour display.

Last edited by frank_b; 09 July 2018 at 12:12.
frank_b is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 12:48   #17
coder76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Beyond? Don't know that I'd agree with that.
The VGA standard was made for the ISA bus, which was a standard back then on the PC's. However, the ISA bus has a too limited bandwidth to support more than 16 colors in 640x480. This is where AGA is better, as it has 640x480 resolution also with 32-256 colors, but also many other screenmodes that the VGA standard does not offer, like 1280 pixel superhires modes.
coder76 is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 12:53   #18
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,557
I'm sure I used to run Windows 3.1 at 640x480 in 256 colours with an ISA VGA card.

However we are discussing SVGA here. Many SVGA cards were PCI.
Hewitson is online now  
Old 09 July 2018, 13:05   #19
coder76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
I'm sure I used to run Windows 3.1 at 640x480 in 256 colours with an ISA VGA card.

However we are discussing SVGA here. Many SVGA cards were PCI.
It's not possible to run 640x480 with 256 colors and 60 Hz on a standard ISA bus. There were some special screenmodes available that could run with lower refresh rates and lower resolution with 256 colors on VGA, better than 320x200. But the graphics bandwidth on AGA is higher than the ISA bus.
coder76 is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 13:09   #20
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,557
I'll take your word for it. Regardless, AGA is still shit compared to a PCI SVGA card.
Hewitson is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AGA games on non-AGA hardware - a curiosity squirminator2k Amiga scene 27 19 July 2018 10:50
SysInfo reports AGA as does set patch. No AGA! pixelsmack support.Hardware 29 15 July 2017 07:17
Five-A-Side Soccer AGA OR Football Glory Inside AGA earok request.Old Rare Games 3 27 December 2016 13:12
SWOS Career Saves on AGA and none AGA machines Peanutuk support.Games 6 08 March 2004 19:48
probs with Shadow Fighter AGA & Sabre Team AGA Skumball support.WinUAE 1 10 September 2002 22:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10095 seconds with 13 queries