English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 May 2008, 22:41   #1
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
LazyBench -- Quick and dirty hack :)

Let me start off by saying how I'd loved the addition of ButtonMenu and LazyBench to the current versions of the packs. Great little programs that make my AmigaOS experience that bit more enjoyable... BUT

One thing really bugged me. Once LazyBench was up and running you could press a definable HotKey combo and voila the listview was up and ready to launch and application or game of your choice.

If only I could pick different HotKeys for different lists (Games, Demos, Other) instead of having to start the program again by clicking on the corresponding button via ButtonMenu. And you can't have two instances of LazyBench running at the same time.

I like the clever way you handled that 'one list only' limitation by exchanging the different lists using scripts but there's still that HotKey business.

So here's a quick hack to overcome this. All you have to do is load a copy of the program file to a HEX editor (I've used FileX) and do 'Lazy to Idle' search and replace and you'll end up with a new executable that will work nicely along the original LazyBench. It will open different a 'Message Port' and use different prefs and menu files (ENVARC:IdleBench/IdleBench.menu, ENVARC:IdleBench/IdleBench.menu). Change the icon name to IdleBench.info, type a different Hotkey combination and you're ready to go

On my set-up RightAlt+Spacebar brings up the 'Other' list and LeftAlt+Spacebar the 'Games' one. Ahhhh

Of course the only limitation to the amount of LazyBench copies running at the same time depends on number of four-letter synonyms of the word 'Lazy' one knows

Last edited by ppill; 28 May 2008 at 22:47.
ppill is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 00:58   #2
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Wow, that's a great little dirty hack!

Yes, as you noticed I too came across Lazybench's single use limitations, which are annoying as it does a rather good job otherwise. I like how it runs as a commodity, so re-launching is fast with key combos.

I also had difficulties with getting it stable when switching between lists, hence the wait commands and the extra steps that seem over-complicated in the scripts.

This little hack sounds like a great way to solve the issue! When I get around to update time a pm will be coming your way if I get stuck! Thanks!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 09:09   #3
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
Glad you like it Works a treat, haven't noticed any issues yet.
ppill is offline  
Old 11 July 2008, 21:55   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I'm implementing this little hack right now.

I made some more changes and improvements - thanks for the insight to what's possible with a simple HEX editor.

Now I've got three executables - GamesMenu, DemosMenu and OtherMenu, all with separate prefs stored in ENVARC: and each can be launched independently as a commodity with their own shortcut keys.

I've also changed where the large text menu files have to be stored that contain all the WHDload links. Instead of being in ENVARC: like before (and having to be deleted on boot and copied back to ENVARC: via a script when launched in order to avoid taking up loads of memory on boot) it now looks directly for the text files in a new location, as defined by a LAUNCH: assign (replacing ENVARC: ).

Works a treat, has halved launch and load times. Thanks for the tip ppill. (edited because I got your name wrong again LOL!)

Last edited by Bloodwych; 11 July 2008 at 22:14.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 11 July 2008, 22:19   #5
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
Sounds like a great arrangement! Always happy to help out

Now if only someone would modify LazyBench to work like Spotlight(Mac)/Launchy(PC). Apart from the listview you would have a simple text input gadget at the top and the list would be filtered acording to what you type in, then just use the cursor keys to select what you want to run. That would be so cool
ppill is offline  
Old 11 July 2008, 22:23   #6
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I agree; that's the only thing missing - a better search method rather than scrolling.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 12 July 2008, 03:38   #7
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
You trying to stop me making my menu or what!!!!??!?!??

I hate you all!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 12 July 2008, 04:56   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,225
Shut up and work on "BananaLoad". We need it!!
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 July 2008, 10:39   #9
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
You trying to stop me making my menu or what!!!!??!?!??

I hate you all!
YEAH!

Your menu is poo. But I'd love to add it to the ClassicWB packs once it's finished.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 12 July 2008, 12:51   #10
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Shut up and work on "BananaLoad". We need it!!
Bwahahahaha

Awesome name, awesome.

I tell you what Bloodwych, you can have an exclusivity agreement with me, no other WB packs are allowed my poo menu
killergorilla is offline  
Old 14 July 2008, 23:03   #11
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks KG, I'll setup a boot menu or something so it runs with max resources.

ppill, I've got iGame working in all the ClassicWB packs as well. That has search filters, but obviously uses more resources and requires more power than LazyBench. Just tested it on my standard A1200 with fastram and it works ok, so expect that to also be on the WHDLoad menus in the next release along with LazyBench.

Choice is a good thing.
Bloodwych is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to: Quick and dirty A4000 external CF Turran Hardware pics 6 20 June 2013 14:51
Dirty Cash djmackie request.Old Rare Games 1 12 December 2009 20:37
I wish my girlfriend was this dirty* Paul_s Hardware pics 18 28 February 2009 21:26
Dirty Rotten Cheat Echo Amiga scene 6 29 March 2003 15:40
Dirty Cash MACKIE request.Old Rare Games 3 19 January 2003 01:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09428 seconds with 13 queries