English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2018, 00:10   #1
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 594
D/Generation CD32 save/load issue

I'm playing the whdload install of D/Generation CD32 on a CD32 and noticed that the save and load features to the NVRAM don't work, but playing direct from the disc is fine.
Is there something I can do to enable this?
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 23 July 2018, 13:00   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,042
The readme says that it saves to HD (in data/DGEN.nvd). On AGA version it saves to data/SAVE.DAT. I don't know how NVRAM works. Maybe you need a HD to save.
daxb is offline  
Old 23 July 2018, 14:42   #3
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 594
Thanks. I missed that part in the readme and just assumed it was using NVRAM.
I'm playing from an SX-1 with a cf card running WB 3.1. I noticed there was no DGEN.nvd file, so I created one in the data folder. However, when I try to save, I still get the message "Previous Save Locked".
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 23 July 2018, 15:33   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,042
Delete the created file and start the game again. Save a game and see what the message shows. If saving was successful after quit the game the save file should be in data dir.
daxb is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 04:35   #5
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 594
I deleted the file and still get the same error. When I run the game through WinUAE, I get the same error as well.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 11:25   #6
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
Saves won't work on ANY whdload slave from a CD32 (unless you have a writable disk). Trying to write on write-protected drive does nothing IIRC. Or is it whdloadcd32 ?

WHDLoad doesn't support NVRam or nonvolatile.device.
jotd is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 13:20   #7
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,042
I don't know how WHDLoad32 works, but he has a CF with OS3.1 and start the game from there (if I understand it right). So saving should work in some way at least.

Maybe try some other game and save a game or highscore to see if that works.
daxb is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 16:38   #8
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 594
Other WHDLoad games seem to save highscores and data just fine (Emerald Mine, for example), and my winUAE setup is A4000 based (68040, 128mb, a4000 roms).
I mount the CF card in winUAE to do all the heavy lifting, then plug it into the cd32 to run on real hardware.

It seems maybe this version I have doesn't work. Does saving in this game work for anyone else?
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 21:18   #9
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
Ah ok. There were similar issues with pinball fantasies. The save dir probably doesnt exist. I ll have a look if i dont raise a mantis issue
jotd is offline  
Old 26 July 2018, 03:57   #10
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 594
Thanks for taking a peek at it!
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 26 July 2018, 23:36   #11
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
Yes there were several problems. I have zoned a new installation. Can you test this ? (read the readme, reinstalling is recommended but you can bypass it by updating the slave and the savefile if it's copied in SAVES/DGEN as "1")
Attached Files
File Type: zip DGenerationCD32.zip (4.2 KB, 14 views)
jotd is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 06:16   #12
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 594
I tried installing fresh as well as just just updating the slave, but both ways still give me the locked error.

If it matters, I'm trying to save through the game menu with the cd32 RWD button.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 10:27   #13
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
I tried installing fresh as well as just just updating the slave, but both ways still give me the locked error.

If it matters, I'm trying to save through the game menu with the cd32 RWD button.

could you enable FILELOG tooltype and send what's in T:FILELOG after trying to save & quit?
jotd is offline  
Old 28 July 2018, 22:32   #14
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 664
@JOTD: you may try my newly implemented nonvolitle.s, it doesn't need any directories
Wepl is offline  
Old 28 July 2018, 22:54   #15
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
Yes, I'll try that. But it works for me here. I had to disable "Delete" and use a delay to avoid several saves/flashes when saving using Alt-S. Basically the saves work for me.

I'd really need the output of FILELOG.
jotd is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 04:09   #16
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 594
Sorry, I have not been able to get FileLog to work for some strange reason.
When I set the tooltype, I run the game, try to save, then exit out of the game with the PrtSrc key. There's no log file in T: or the progdir.

The weird thing is the tooltype disappears after I run the game. I tried setting "FileLog/S" and nothing logs out then either, but that tooltype will remain after I run the game.

Running ClassicWB 3.1 with whdload 18.2.5735
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 10:11   #17
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
Run like

Whdload dgen.slave preload filelog
jotd is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 13:18   #18
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
There's no log file in T: or the progdir.

The filelog is stored in the C: directory (".whdl_log").
StingRay is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 22:55   #19
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
The weird thing is the tooltype disappears after I run the game.
probably it was never saved, maybe icon is write protected?
Wepl is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 14:48   #20
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 594
Thanks.

The logs should be using the slave in this thread.

degeneration.slave is the fresh install from disc,
dgenerationcd32.slave is existing install.
Attached Files
File Type: zip dgenlog.zip (9.3 KB, 11 views)
th4t1guy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Universe Save/Load issue malko support.Games 19 09 January 2018 16:20
D\Generation CD32 save problem mk1 support.Games 3 29 July 2009 14:43
Beneath a Steel Sky CD32 WHDLoad install - cant save/load? doufas support.Games 4 11 May 2008 09:39
Save/load game in Simon The Sorcerer CD32 Ironclaw support.Games 3 31 May 2006 16:01
D-Generation won`t load on Real Amiga Jamie support.Games 3 07 April 2002 12:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15593 seconds with 14 queries