English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 February 2014, 13:12   #1
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 813
Addams Family port/remake?

Dunno if this topic has come up before, searched and found no relevant thread (sorry if I missed something), but I just happened to stumble on a gameplay clip of Addams Family on Atari ST and what a big surprise! The game has actual backgrounds instead of the blackness in the Amiga version!

So, my question - request to anyone interested/able to do it, would it be possible to get those extra gfx from ST to our version without too much work?
vulture is offline  
Old 04 February 2014, 14:33   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Did you see how horribly that port scrolls? I for one rather have blackness than that garbage.
Akira is offline  
Old 04 February 2014, 14:51   #3
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 813
Yeah sure, but that's just usual ST crap, why couldn't we have our game as it is plus the extra bg gfx on our superior hardware?
vulture is offline  
Old 04 February 2014, 14:59   #4
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
Does seem strange but the background tiles arnt that nice. Its only a few tiles they left out I wonder why. They could have gone for something like Toki - Nice Platformer anyway.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 07:27   #5
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 813
Actually the ST version , from the clips and screen shots I've watched, seems to have all (or almost all) the backgrounds of the genesis version, which is much. And while some backgrounds are indeed not very nice, like those blue stuff on the outside, the indoor backgrounds are quite good imo.
vulture is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 11:23   #6
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
I would guess only a few tiles from each tile set are missing - Anyone got the Amiga and ST tiles?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 14:09   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
There is a reason why it wasn't put. You can't just think it's trivial because the ST has them.

Personally I didnt code the game and am not a coder, so I won't say why, but it is obvious that if they didn't include it it was for a good reason. Weren't the preview versions shown on mags with a background?
Akira is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 14:49   #8
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
There is a reason why it wasn't put. You can't just think it's trivial because the ST has them.

Personally I didnt code the game and am not a coder, so I won't say why, but it is obvious that if they didn't include it it was for a good reason. Weren't the preview versions shown on mags with a background?
It was normal practise back then to show screenshots from other formats. More than likely the backgrounds were left out due to time constraints and deadlines.
Steve is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 14:50   #9
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 625
Comparison here-

http://www.retro-sanctuary.com/compa...ms-family.html
hansel75 is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 16:41   #10
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
seems was not included because old amiga hardware was not capable to have solid backgrounds + good framerate
AGA yes is capable, you can see the difference for example in the game trolls, Oscar, brian the lion etc
Sandro is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 16:51   #11
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
seems was not included because old amiga hardware was not capable to have solid backgrounds + good framerate
AGA yes is capable, you can see the difference for example in the game trolls, Oscar, brian the lion etc
The A1200 wasn't available when this game was released.
Steve is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 17:07   #12
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
seems was not included because old amiga hardware was not capable to have solid backgrounds + good framerate
AGA yes is capable, you can see the difference for example in the game trolls, Oscar, brian the lion etc
I think adding in the backgrounds to the amiga version would of been quite easy to do if there was no parallax scrolling, most amiga platform games had backgrounds of some kind and weren't just black.

Adding parallax scrolling to them would be much more difficult, but not impossible in the right coders hands!
hansel75 is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 18:40   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
seems was not included because old amiga hardware was not capable to have solid backgrounds + good framerate
There are 10's of Amiga OCS/ECS games with full screen scrolling backgrounds. Aren't there?

The SNES, Atari ST & Amiga versions were all programmed by the same guy, James Higgins. (Who seems quite famous)

http://www.outofprintarchive.com/art...erPlay2-1.html

Maybe he wasn't quite at home Amiga programming?
alexh is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 19:23   #14
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 6,997
I'm perplexed the Amiga version didn't have the background, as it would have been no more effort to have it there, the game would still have to save, clear, restore blocks in any case, so it wouldn't have been an extra overhead to have one.

However, looking at the ST background is a misnomer, its shit and its horrible, it doesn't scroll, its static, only moving up and down, it looks downright bizarre frankly the way it doesn't move.

I suspect that inspite of Gary Braceys assertions that the Amiga quickly became the lead machine between it and the ST, this one was probably done on the ST first, and they simply ran out of time on the Amiga version, there was a problem and it was simply released as is.

The ST version is a shitty push scroller and the Amiga version is a proper 8 way scroller.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 06:18   #15
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
Apart from what Galahad said released as is. I could only think you could save a few bytes with maybe less map data because no background and few less tiles(the backround tiles).
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 08:56   #16
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,787
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
My version of this story : the team behind addams family started on amiga the programming. But they had to stop, and then came back, but this time on super nes. I remember reading about the coders/graphists that "no, no it won't work on amiga, so we let down the idea". Just to see afterwards that the ST release HAS the background !! When we know the ST has no abilities for that.... The true reason is that the ocean guys were mainly ATARI ST lovers BEFORE being coders, and if i remember more, (can't find back where i read it, but they CANNED the parallax, with a story of the amiga slowing down too much, or something like that... rubbish excuse!)
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 09:12   #17
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
My version of this story : the team behind addams family started on amiga the programming. But they had to stop, and then came back, but this time on super nes.
They started work on the Atari/Amiga and went to SuperNES that is in all the articles. (The One Amiga Issue 42, Pages 28-30)
alexh is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 10:16   #18
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,143
Here's the direct link to just the 3 pages from The One preview of Addams Family.

I think the ST version is utterly awful. I would rather have the smooth scrolling Amiga version without backgrounds than the push scrolling garbage that the ST has.

However, they could have done something in the background, either have no parallax but include the graphics, or have a reduced parallax area if that really was going to slow the game down. The game doesn't even throw much around the screen, and the screen is only 256 pixels by 200 anyway!
Codetapper is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 11:46   #19
sokolovic
Registered User

sokolovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Marseille / France
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
but it is obvious that if they didn't include it it was for a good reason.
Mmmm... I'm not sure... Not a technical reason I think... Maybe a matter of time and money I guess...
sokolovic is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 12:44   #20
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
seems was not included because old amiga hardware was not capable to have solid backgrounds + good framerate
Wtf? Even the C64 can easily do that.
Hewitson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Addams Family Demo Kitty request.Demos 6 05 April 2011 05:54
Addams Family Graphics glitches MethodGit project.WHDLoad 8 16 April 2007 08:52
Flood II & Addams Family V1 7-Zark-7 project.aGTW 0 18 September 2005 17:30
Addams Family - Full Version Request jcmoorehead request.Old Rare Games 7 14 August 2003 13:02
English version of Addams Family dreamkatcha request.Old Rare Games 14 17 March 2002 13:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08911 seconds with 14 queries