English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 November 2020, 10:26   #1
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
Arcade machine using an AMIGA CUBO CD32

As requested here in the Tiny Bobble thread I´d like to showcase one of my projects (Photos will be attached later):

In 2014 I stumbled across a CUBO CD32 on eBay. This machine is a Commodore Amiga CD32 with an attached Jamma adaptor for the use in an arcade cabinet. C.D. Express, Milan, Italy was the manufacturer.








After attaching a Jamma breakout cable I managed to revive this piece of Amiga history.


Two years later – in 2016 – I had the chance to get a vintage arcade machine from a friend of mine. The cabinet came from a gambling house and was pretty much torn apart.


I reconnected all wires in the arcade cabinet and installed the CUBO CD32.


So now I had a wonderful Amiga Arcade companion in in my collection.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpeg
Views:	450
Size:	45.9 KB
ID:	69693   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpeg
Views:	452
Size:	69.2 KB
ID:	69694   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpeg
Views:	455
Size:	84.1 KB
ID:	69695   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpeg
Views:	455
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	69696   Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	455
Size:	144.1 KB
ID:	69697  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	448
Size:	223.4 KB
ID:	69698   Click image for larger version

Name:	7.jpg
Views:	444
Size:	81.1 KB
ID:	69699   Click image for larger version

Name:	8.jpg
Views:	457
Size:	121.1 KB
ID:	69700  

Last edited by Twanger; 15 November 2020 at 10:50.
Twanger is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 10:26   #2
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
But of course, this wasn’t the end. I pretty much didn’t like the look of the cabinet and was looking for a more Amiga-like look.
Luckily I found someone (also a Amiga fan) to manufacture a custom marquee.











But this wasn’t enough – the cover around the joysticks and he front bezel still disturbed the new look.
Another Amiga-user was so kind to design those parts corresponding to my drawing.





Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	9.jpg
Views:	437
Size:	77.8 KB
ID:	69701   Click image for larger version

Name:	10.jpg
Views:	435
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	69702   Click image for larger version

Name:	11.jpg
Views:	430
Size:	32.1 KB
ID:	69703   Click image for larger version

Name:	12.jpg
Views:	421
Size:	36.9 KB
ID:	69704   Click image for larger version

Name:	13.jpg
Views:	429
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	69705  

Click image for larger version

Name:	14.jpg
Views:	430
Size:	121.1 KB
ID:	69706   Click image for larger version

Name:	15.png
Views:	425
Size:	259.6 KB
ID:	69707   Click image for larger version

Name:	16.jpg
Views:	429
Size:	76.8 KB
ID:	69708  

Last edited by Twanger; 15 November 2020 at 10:47.
Twanger is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 10:27   #3
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
Adding this plexi bezels the cabinet was finally in the suitable Amiga design.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	17.jpg
Views:	430
Size:	75.5 KB
ID:	69709  

Last edited by Twanger; 15 November 2020 at 10:48.
Twanger is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 10:28   #4
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
to be continued...
Twanger is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 10:40   #5
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
to be continued...
Twanger is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 10:43   #6
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
to be continued....
Twanger is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 11:04   #7
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
Is anyone interested in the CUBO games or are they already available somewhere?
Twanger is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 11:07   #8
Adrian Cummings
Mutation Software

Adrian Cummings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sconnie Botland :)
Age: 55
Posts: 492
Interesting thread cheers!
Adrian Cummings is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 11:14   #9
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
Thanks. I will add more info and pictures later.
Twanger is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 11:57   #10
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 33
Posts: 1,322
I did too purchase a CUBO CD32 ages ago (just the board), thinking I would someday find a CD32 for a decent price... Didn't happen yet CD32 prices have been totally crazy since the TF328 came out.

Does it allow you to also play standard CD32 games using the stick and buttons?

That would be rad
jbenam is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 11:57   #11
Wachi
Registered User

Wachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Madrid
Posts: 121
Thumbs up

But this is fabulous, congratulations for this great machine.
Wachi is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 12:10   #12
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
Does it allow you to also play standard CD32 games using the stick and buttons?
Sure, that´s what´s most important for the Arcade!
Twanger is offline  
Old 15 November 2020, 12:11   #13
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
I did too purchase a CUBO CD32 ages ago (just the board), thinking I would someday find a CD32 for a decent price... Didn't happen yet CD32 prices have been totally crazy since the TF328 came out.
Just use the CUBO - you don´t need another CD32
Twanger is offline  
Old 16 November 2020, 10:07   #14
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 33
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twanger View Post
Just use the CUBO - you don´t need another CD32
I just have the PCBs, they didn't came with the CD32, otherwise I'd have ripped off the sticker and I would now have a CD32 in my living room

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twanger View Post
Sure, that´s what´s most important for the Arcade!
Excellent, now I have one reason to keep it
jbenam is offline  
Old 16 November 2020, 11:08   #15
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 4,907
this is superb. Fortunately you don't have just cubo games to play with
jotd is offline  
Old 17 November 2020, 09:50   #16
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
I just have the PCBs, they didn't came with the CD32, otherwise I'd have ripped off the sticker and I would now have a CD32 in my living room
Could you post some pictures of your PCBs. Are they exactly the same like mine?
Twanger is offline  
Old 17 November 2020, 16:50   #17
Bren McGuire
Registered User

Bren McGuire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 141
This is amazing! But what games can you actually play in this setup? Most Amiga games require, stupidly, keyboard controls.
Bren McGuire is offline  
Old 17 November 2020, 21:35   #18
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 4,907
My RUGCD cd compilation (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ighlight=rugcd) has tons of games that work without keyboard (including pause, quit...) thanks to CD32load
jotd is offline  
Old 18 November 2020, 00:11   #19
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bren McGuire View Post
This is amazing! But what games can you actually play in this setup? Most Amiga games require, stupidly, keyboard controls.
First of all you can (of course) play all those CD32 games. Furthermore there a lots of great games that don't require a keyboard (tiny bubble, giana sisters, ...).
If that's still not sufficient: just add a keyboard (I did. It's hidden in the cabinet). But normally I don't need it.
Twanger is offline  
Old 18 November 2020, 00:13   #20
Twanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: near Munich, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
My RUGCD cd compilation (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ighlight=rugcd) has tons of games that work without keyboard (including pause, quit...) thanks to CD32load
Very cool, thanks!
I'll give that a try, too.
Twanger is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD32 Cubo Dastardly Amiga scene 13 24 July 2014 19:10
CD32 Cubo F1ReB4LL support.WinUAE 38 20 January 2013 02:34
My Amiga Arcade Machine KevG Retrogaming General Discussion 5 20 December 2010 16:52
Cubo Cd32 nnever2000 Amiga scene 14 12 September 2007 05:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11337 seconds with 14 queries