English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 July 2018, 14:33   #1
hexaae
Registered User
hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 42
Posts: 1,091
PPaint screen update and WinUAE

WinUAE 4.0.1b5 (but the glitch was present also before)

I've noticed this strange glitch when switching (ONLY) from PPaint 1920x1080 8bit screen -> another screen:
[ Show youtube player ]
As you can see and hear there's a strange horizontal gfx glitch and audio delay... This is not present when switching between other Amiga screens (e.g. WB and ChaosPro in the video).

Is this normal? Because I've recently experienced also strange crashes with memory corruption leading to GURU crashes after I worked with PPaint for a while (and sometimes needed to switch to WB screen or ALT+TAB to Windows)…. Tried also to disable Multithreaded RTG and Clipboard Sharing but didn't solve the glitch (and the doubt of strange things happening to video memory). With very old 2.5.1 from a quick test launch I hear the audio lag when switching from PPaint screen, but there was no horizontal glitch visible...
hexaae is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 July 2018, 16:14   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,550
Make sure you use identical config. If you use config created with later version, old version will use defaults (in best case) if config option is not supported in old version. Save config with old version and use it with new version.

And as usual: find the (beta) version that introduced the difference. (which may or may not be normal).
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 July 2018, 18:10   #3
hexaae
Registered User
hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 42
Posts: 1,091
The glitch started between 3.6.0b7 -> b9.
I can test 3.6.0b6 which works fine, then from b7 to b9 (probably due to experimental DX11 support) these betas crash badly on boot. Starting from 3.6.0b10 it can boot fine again and the glitch is visible…

EDIT: I can confirm that also 4.0.1b5 works fine in DX9 without the glitch, visible only when using DX11
hexaae is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 18:40   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,550
If it only happens in D3D11 mode, it probably is some display driver side-effect. (D3D is re-initialized each time resolution changes)

Does it happen if you use exact same resolution and color depth in WB and in PPaint?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 July 2018, 18:50   #5
hexaae
Registered User
hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 42
Posts: 1,091
You're correct: using WB in 1920x1080 8bit I can't see the glitch with 4.0.1b5. I use 32bit BGRA for WB as default and PPaint supports 8bit only.
Good, so it has nothing to do with mem corruption I've experienced… even though I can reproduce GURU if I play for 2-3 min switching Amiga screens after using PPaint, but maybe is some bug in PPaint itself or my Amiga cfg and bg running commodities etc… mmmh
hexaae is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PPaint bugs with WinUAE hexaae support.WinUAE 10 02 July 2018 09:27
PPaint crashes & problems with WinUAE hexaae support.WinUAE 9 25 April 2009 14:09
Slow screen update when in fullscreen _Steve_ support.WinUAE 0 31 January 2008 22:48
[Bug] Screen doesn't update in 32-bit window RealNC support.WinUAE 2 25 August 2007 10:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06282 seconds with 15 queries