English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2018, 10:49   #1
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
A500 cp2 need help

I need to perform nibble rotation as fast as is possible. Can someone help me?

from:

a-b-c-d
e-f-g-h
i-l-m-n
o-p-q-r

to

a-e-i-o
b-f-l-p
c-g-m-q
d-h-n-r

is it possible to do it faster than 68000 with blitter?

Thanks to all
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 10:53   #2
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,186
Don't we all wish that chunky to planar conversions were blitter accelerated? If it were possible, interleaved bitplanes would be interchangeable with chunky modes quite quickly! Isn't that what you're trying to do?

Edit: I see it is just a typo in the title of your post. That is why I ask.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 11:00   #3
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
Don't we all wish that chunky to planar conversions were blitter accelerated? If it were possible, interleaved bitplanes would be interchangeable with chunky modes quite quickly! Isn't that what you're trying to do?

Edit: I see it is just a typo in the title of your post. That is why I ask.
I don't need to perform full cp2, but exchange only nibbles
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 11:38   #4
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
is it possible to do it faster than 68000 with blitter?
It's faster with the blitter than with the cpu, for example my OCS c2p is blitter only. You might need to have a scrambled chunky buffer for optimal performance though.

Taking a look at Kalms' cpu+blitter c2p's might be a good place for you to start.
britelite is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 11:40   #5
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by britelite View Post
It's faster with the blitter than with the cpu, for example my OCS c2p is blitter only. You might need to have a scrambled chunky buffer for optimal performance though.

Taking a look at Kalms' cpu+blitter c2p's might be a good place for you to start.
Thanks. I need only to exchange nibbles, not full c2p: Any helps?
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 11:43   #6
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
Thanks. I need only to exchange nibbles, not full c2p: Any helps?
You could post here how you're currently doing it, and I'll be happy to give some pointers on how to improve it.
britelite is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 11:45   #7
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by britelite View Post
You could post here how you're currently doing it, and I'll be happy to give some pointers on how to improve it.
Thanks for your help. I would like to have a good help from you and others, instead doing it again. I need this operation just cos want to test a possible way to do cp2, not for fast reasons, just to test...
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 14:29   #8
chb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: germany
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
I need to perform nibble rotation as fast as is possible. Can someone help me?

from:

a-b-c-d
e-f-g-h
i-l-m-n
o-p-q-r

to

a-e-i-o
b-f-l-p
c-g-m-q
d-h-n-r

is it possible to do it faster than 68000 with blitter?
You can use blitter merge (two blits with shift by 8 left resp. right for one source, mask 0xFF00 and 0x00FF) to get the following intermediate matrix:

a-b-i-l
e-f-o-p
c-d-m-n
g-h-q-r

then shift by 4 left / right, mask 0xF0F0/0x0F0F to get your result. So just the first passes of ordinary blitter c2p. Don't know if it is faster than with the CPU, but I'd think so.
chb is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500+ battery leak? Can it be fixed? And an A500 issue... lesta_smsc support.Hardware 14 12 October 2018 20:41
A1200 PSU suitable for A500 and A500 Plus Bushstar support.Hardware 6 25 May 2018 13:31
5 Amigas (3x a500, 2x a500+), 70 boxed games, 7joysticks,3mouses,200unboxed: value? junglist MarketPlace 12 27 August 2014 16:45
For Sale: 2mb RAM Expansion for A500/A500+ PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 1 22 November 2010 01:10
Woul A500 plus ram expansion work on A500? JACK98 support.Hardware 1 04 May 2010 01:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:55.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.24199 seconds with 15 queries