English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2013, 14:28   #1
phx
Natteravn
 
phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 2,496
Crash when using IEEESPMul

I remember that I already ran into that problem nearly 20 years ago, but I'm not sure where it came from.

I am trying to do a simple single-precision multiplication using mathieeesingbas.library:
Code:
OpenLibrary     = -552
CloseLibrary    = -414
IEEESPMul       = -78

        code

start:
        move.l  (4).w,a6
        lea     MathSingBasName(pc),a1
        moveq   #37,d0
        jsr     OpenLibrary(a6)
        tst.l   d0
        beq     .exit

        move.l  d0,a6
        move.l  #$437f0000,d0   ; 255.0
        move.l  d0,d1
        jsr     IEEESPMul(a6)

        move.l  a6,a1
        move.l  (4).w,a6
        jsr     CloseLibrary(a6)
        moveq   #0,d0
.exit:  rts

MathSingBasName:
        dc.b    "mathieeesingbas.library",0
The program crashes with a Line-F exception, and further analysis shows the the library's LVO -78 points to $fcac16, where I find this code:
Code:
00fcac16 001a 001c                OR.B #$1c,(A2)+
00fcac1a fe5e                     ILLEGAL.L
Looks like it is pointing to trash. Why?

I tested that using UAE with an 68040 and enabled FPU emulation. The ROM is V40.68 for A4000. But the same happens with V40.68 for A1200 (just the address is different: $fc1b92 in this case). SetPatch V40.16 is installed. But same problem without.

With a 68020 or 68030 CPU and 6888x FPU there is no problem.

Is IEEESPMul buggy for 68040/060 in V40.68? Was it fixed by later SetPatch versions?
phx is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 14:33   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
I had this problem once too when I changed my Lightwave converter to use the math libraries if no FPU was found. SetPatch 43.6 fixes it! Looks like these routines have been removed from the ROM to save space or something.
StingRay is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 14:36   #3
phx
Natteravn
 
phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 2,496
Ok, thanks. So I remembered right and it is a known bug.
phx is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 14:38   #4
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Yes it is. As far as I remember it only happens with 3.1 ROMS.
StingRay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
audiomasterIV crash clueless support.Apps 4 27 June 2010 22:52
Assassin SE v1.1 crash Retroplay project.WHDLoad 6 23 June 2010 20:47
1.0 Crash Methanoid support.WinUAE 0 20 June 2005 23:08
WHDLOAD crash AMIGAZ support.Games 6 11 November 2004 14:13
crash?? Unregistered support.WinUAE 2 31 May 2001 14:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:11.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16362 seconds with 15 queries