English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 June 2017, 00:21   #721
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Oh man I missed the stream, I forgot you were down under!
I skipped to the end, made me all giddy! Hope it works
Akira is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 00:26   #722
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Oh man I missed the stream, I forgot you were down under!
I skipped to the end, made me all giddy! Hope it works
Down under.. :P Glasgow is many things but not down under lol
plasmab is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 00:35   #723
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Down under.. :P Glasgow is many things but not down under lol
I don't read the boxes under people's avatars and for some reason I could have sworn you lived in Australia xD

I sent you a PM!
Akira is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 00:41   #724
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I don't read the boxes under people's avatars and for some reason I could have sworn you lived in Australia xD

I sent you a PM!
I spent alot of last year in Australia. :P
plasmab is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 03:02   #725
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
TF Live - CD32 Design Part 1
TerribleFire

[ Show youtube player ]


TF Live - CD32 Design Part 2
TerribleFire

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by matthey; 24 June 2017 at 16:21.
matthey is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 20:29   #726
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 627
Does this board have a rom to support IDE? I don't think the cd32 kickstart has that.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 21:33   #727
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
Does this board have a rom to support IDE? I don't think the cd32 kickstart has that.

If it doesn't then a new ROM will be needed. Seems insane to put a ROM socket on the board when there is a perfectly good one on the CD32 already


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 22:04   #728
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Just checked and the CD32 ROM has a scsi.device (40.60) in it. I'd ask people to refrain from declaring something true before actually checking.
plasmab is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 22:12   #729
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Just checked and the CD32 ROM has a scsi.device (40.60) in it. I'd ask people to refrain from declaring something true before actually checking.
I'm going by the statement made here: [ Show youtube player ]

around the 3:40 mark.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 22:26   #730
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Expansion board for the CD32

Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
I'm going by the statement made here: [ Show youtube player ]



around the 3:40 mark.


Yup. But that dev board does not appear to emulate gayle. My board uses the TF530 logic which does. Without a proper Gary/Gayle ID the driver will not find the IDE interface and will not attempt to use the drive. I know this because i've built this sort of thing before.





Its possible the CD32 ROMs have buggy scsi.device's in them but then a custom kickstart is still easier to make than adding more components to a board.



Again .. its easy to check this with WinUAE. Yup the A1200/A600 Gayle interface was polled by the CD32 ROM under WinUAE (not uae.device). So it looks like its fine and the dude in that video was just unlucky.

plasmab is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 22:55   #731
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,048
Pretty sure it was known the SX1 / SX32 didn't have rom chips but had IDE so the CD32 rom must have been capable.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 02:00   #732
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 138
I realise the TF CD32 expansion board is just a quick self challenge project but for a practical board wouldn't a vertical card be better than a horizontal card needing a riser board? A CF slot would be an alternative to the IDE header, if space is tight drop from 8MB to 4MB saving two RAM chips. I don't know what availability of the MCA connector is like but if it's not a problem (and this would half the total requirement of them anyway) this could be a much cheaper solution.
IanP is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 02:09   #733
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Nobody wants that though. It takes up too much desk space. A console should be self contained. Personally i'd do anything to avoid having to solder an MCA connector for every board.... long live edge connector form factor!
plasmab is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 02:59   #734
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 138
I think you have mis-understood what I'm suggesting. It wouldn't take up any extra desk space. The components are just directly on a "riser" style board perpendicular to the CD32 motherboard instead of using a "loop back" plain riser board and separate expansion board above the CD32 motherboard.
IanP is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 03:12   #735
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanP View Post
I think you have mis-understood what I'm suggesting. It wouldn't take up any extra desk space. The components are just directly on a "riser" style board perpendicular to the CD32 motherboard instead of using a "loop back" plain riser board and separate expansion board above the CD32 motherboard.
That would work but its not something that would interest me or most of the people i've spoken to. However anyone is free to refactor my boards and if you keep them electrically the same my firmware updates would work.
plasmab is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 16:38   #736
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
CD32 board now 100% routed. Just need to understand some DRC issues
plasmab is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 18:05   #737
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Board Ordered.
plasmab is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 18:43   #738
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
I give you the TF328



Order submitted with dirtypcbs. Knowing their cycle they'll send that to the board house later today.
plasmab is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 18:56   #739
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 886
Friggin Awesome Stevo !
supaduper is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 19:24   #740
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 684
Will you be selling these as a finished product ready to use?
-Acid- is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello and help identifying my expansion board! edd_jedi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 04 April 2010 13:52
Can anyone identify this RAM expansion board?? PowerPie5000 support.Hardware 66 02 August 2009 14:04
WTB: A1200 Expansion Board robheaton MarketPlace 17 11 June 2009 10:49
an expansion board toolkit --might be useful to you giannis_vassili support.Hardware 1 14 June 2008 21:51
Wanted: A1200 expansion board Freckle MarketPlace 0 30 August 2004 17:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.18258 seconds with 16 queries