English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 June 2010, 03:41   #1
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Removing the IDE Wait on Kickstart 3.1

Hello there my fellow forum chummies,

I am here tapping again with yet a touch of insomnia with hope that you can help me solve this problem once and for all..

As some of you may know I have an A4000, I am quite lucky to say that she is equipped with a Cyberstorm Mk2 060 + the CyberSCSI 2 as well.

All is good and she has plent of ramto play with at the moment.

I have a OS3.9 Classic Workbench with both Boing Bags 1 and 2 installed and she is running a dream via 640x512 (interlaced).

Now she is running from SCSI an 18.1GB 68pin SCSI HDD, and is very quick in its action and activity.... however... the initial booting is killing me..

The wait Kickstart 3.1 implements for IDE devices to respond is an absolute abhorrent waste of time. nearly 30 seconds (feels longer) before the CyberSCSI is enquired and starts the SCSI boot sequence.

I have tried (and built my own) IDE Terminator and it works well however I dont want to loose the IDE, I just DONT want to boot from it, is there a way or a modification I can do to the KickROM that will reduce this epic wast of a wait to somthing like 4 or 5 seconds?

Also the pointless - epileptic fit inducing IDE LED activity strobing /flashing is too much, there must be a better way than pluming IDE pins 3 and 5 via 47k resistors to pin 39???

I humbly appreciate any ideas, and I look forward to sharing my A4000 build log with you all =)
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 June 2010, 04:01   #2
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,623
Check out for the solution over here:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ight=ide+delay

Good luck!
gulliver is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 04:30   #3
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
What about a CD-ROM or even a DVD unit on the IDE chain, my friend?
rkauer is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 06:18   #4
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,623
I am thinking, I dont know if possible, but maybe there is another possibility:

You could burn a kickstart rom without ide support removing scsi.device from the kickstart build, and then after your computer completely boots from scsi and have workbench completely loaded, use loadmodule and load the A4000 scsi.device to have ide support enabled.

So from now onwards your Amiga should quickly boot from the CyberSCSI.device, with no delay, and when you think suitable/necessary use loadmodule to load the ide support.

I hope it works
gulliver is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 09:20   #5
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
Add a battery & memory to store the boot priority (in the early-startup)



A good hack for you, Zetro !
Cosmos is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 09:28   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,675
Remove scsi.device from your kickstart ROM, then use it disk based if you really want to use the IDE bus for something. (why? just get scside adapters and plumb everything to the scsi bus)

Or get a CSmk3 that has an idekiller built into the firmware.
Jope is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 12:40   #7
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
just decrease the boot priority on the ide drive to lower than the scsi one simples

well simple if it works, would love to test
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 13:22   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
just decrease the boot priority on the ide drive to lower than the scsi one simples
If there is no IDE drive, there is nothing for which you can decrease the priority.


I would just plug one of those to the IDE controller: IDE Flash Module 40Pin 512MB
thomas is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 13:46   #9
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
but I read it that he wants to keep the ide available

obviously if there is no HDD attached to the ide it cann`t be done hence your nice option thomas

would still like to know if this approach would work
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 14:55   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
would still like to know if this approach would work
What approach? Plugging a HD or flash drive to the IDE bus?

Yeah, that will work. CD-ROMs often won't remove the IDE delay..
Jope is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 15:16   #11
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
the

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
just decrease the boot priority on the ide drive to lower than the scsi one
approach
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 15:26   #12
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
the



approach

If you have something conntected to the IDE bus which has a boot priority, then there is no delay anyway. Also, if you don't want to boot from IDE, it has a lower priority already.

So to answer your question: no, the boot priority does not influence the delay time. Not because it would not work, but because it does not apply.
thomas is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 16:08   #13
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
thanks,
i know haveing something in the ide port skips the 30 sec wait (over simplified but you know)

one day I might have the hardware to play with, I wish i wish, I wish
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 17:44   #14
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Another option is simply use a HD or CF Amiga-partitioned but without a bootable partition.

Delay killed and another mass storage device inside the Amiga.
rkauer is offline  
Old 15 June 2010, 07:44   #15
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,348
Does this delay occur even when no IDE controller is present? My A2000 takes forever to start up.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 15 June 2010, 08:07   #16
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,623
@Hewitson

As lon as there is a scsi.device module inside the kickstart rom, that will happen, it doesnt matter if you have a controller present or not.
gulliver is offline  
Old 15 June 2010, 13:53   #17
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,675
It will not delay the boot in a500/a2000 where the ide controller is not found.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 June 2010, 14:11   #18
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
It will not delay the boot in a500/a2000 where the ide controller is not found.
Ah, is this the answer to Zetr0's question? If he doesn't mind attacking a few tracks on his motherboard...
Charlie is offline  
Old 15 June 2010, 14:35   #19
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Ah, is this the answer to Zetr0's question? If he doesn't mind attacking a few tracks on his motherboard...
No, it was an answer to Hewitson's query. I gave my opinion to Zetro's problem in post #5 to this thread..
Jope is offline  
Old 15 June 2010, 14:48   #20
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,661
I see these options for the OP:

1- pure hardware solution: connect something to the IDE controller which prevents the driver from waiting for responses, be it a terminator or an actual IDE device, for example a CF card reader

2- combined hardware/software solution: make your own Kickstart ROM without scsi.device or with a patched scsi.device. Or add some flash ROM solution which replaces/patches scsi.device. Deneb USB comes to mind.

3- software only solution: put the 3.0 ROMs back in and use Blizkick or the like to load a 3.1 ROM with patched/replaced scsi.device

I don't think there are many more choices.


Edit: option 2 includes the upgrade to a Cyberstorm Mk3 or PPC which offers to disable the IDE driver in its firmware.
thomas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASM: Wait for Vertical Blank Asman Coders. Tutorials 59 22 July 2017 00:10
Completely Removing IDE-FIX Express Files illy5603 support.Hardware 2 15 August 2009 02:11
timed wait using CIAs jotd support.Other 3 23 March 2008 14:55
HD won't boot now..wait failed returncode? Amigan25 project.ClassicWB 2 08 June 2007 18:21
Wait a sec - what about Macs? Computolio Amiga scene 10 02 June 2004 07:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08846 seconds with 13 queries