English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 December 2012, 02:12   #1
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 946
Column Doubling with "no filter"?

I just noticed recently that WinUAE runs quite a bit faster when using "low-res" instead of "Hi-Res (Standard)" display mode, which is still OK for many games.

In fact, I can even run the Amiga 500 full speed on a ~700 MHz age old laptop of mine in this mode, which is very cool.

However, the picture is distorted in this case, unless I enable filters and use scale horizontal *2. Well, on my old laptop, using filters makes WinUAE extremely slow. I attribute this to some crappy intel onboard gfx chip.

Now, WinUAE already includes a line doubling option that works very well, without any filters enabled. Is it possible to include a "column doubling" mode similar to "line doubling" just to get rid of the screen distortion in "low res/no filter" mode. This could have almost zero computational overhead, couldn't it?

EDIT: Please move to wishlist topic... thanks

Last edited by rsn8887; 09 December 2012 at 02:31. Reason: EDIT: Please move to wishlist... thanks
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 09 December 2012, 09:21   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,086
The picture is not distorted, it is like you asked it to be. In "Hires (normal)" mode and using a lores Amiga screen mode, every pixel is doubled (as you want it to be). If you select "Low-res", this doubling does not take place.

If you want to use "Low-Res" you also need to select a low resolution on the top of the page. In combination with Line Mode "normal" you get a good low resolution display.
thomas is offline  
Old 09 December 2012, 20:56   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsn8887 View Post
EDIT: Please move to wishlist topic... thanks
Done.
prowler is offline  
Old 10 December 2012, 08:25   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,075
Thomas already answered it perfectly.

Lores/hires equals horizontal no-doubling/doubling. Neither just doubles resolution, doubling also includes full interlace support just like hires adds hires resolution support.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 December 2012, 20:01   #5
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 946
Ah I get it now. Thanks for the help! Of course I did not think of turning off line-doubling when switching to low-res. After doing that and using a smaller fullscreen resolution it works nice on my old laptop now!
rsn8887 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
CD32 Image-Name-Bug: "...(bla)[!].zip" -> "...(bla)[" / "...[test].zip" -> "...[tes" cfTrio support.WinUAE 8 18 December 2012 16:31
How do you make a filter setting "stick" to a configuration? ral-clan support.WinUAE 0 11 September 2011 20:51
"CreateDevice failed" error with Direct3D filter on Maren support.WinUAE 20 02 February 2010 19:23
Problems with "Thespywholovedme", "Flood", "Shinobi" sareks support.Games 12 03 May 2006 14:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06687 seconds with 13 queries