English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2011, 09:19   #1
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
Sensible world of soccer 95/96 & 96/97

Hi guys and gals!

New here, and this is my first thread

Have just installed an HxC SD Emulator in my old 500 with extra ram. Now i'm searching for a working copy of Sensible world of soccer 96/97 in adf format. ALL the copies I find won't run on either the UaE or my real 500. I get guru meditation. Is it even possible to run 96/97 on my A500, i thought it should work...

I'm also searching for a copy of either 95/96 or Euro Champ edition. Have both working but all releases come with a sound bug, whenever you call out the manager to re-arange your team the sound goes all wonky. And it stays wonky until halftime or someone scores a goal, gaaaah.

Bought the emulator to take the ol' 500 out of retirement and mainly to play SWOS 95/96 or 96/97 with me mates. But the hassle of finding 100% working adf's is making me go
N-Ed is offline  
Old 21 February 2011, 02:18   #2
gingerbeardman
Registered User
gingerbeardman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 56
I've also had a nightmare with this. It's the same problem when trying to run SWOS 96/97 on UAE on Wii or PS3. But SWOS 95/96 plays OK, strangely.

This cracked version works:
http://chomikuj.pl/misaki/gry/adf/se...soccer+96+-+97

Good luck
gingerbeardman is offline  
Old 22 February 2011, 19:06   #3
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
Cheers mate, I'll convert this and have a go in the SD Emu. But I ain't holding my breath hehe
N-Ed is offline  
Old 22 February 2011, 19:18   #4
gingerbeardman
Registered User
gingerbeardman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 56
Good luck, all I can say is it works for me
gingerbeardman is offline  
Old 22 February 2011, 20:03   #5
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbeardman View Post
I've also had a nightmare with this. It's the same problem when trying to run SWOS 96/97 on UAE on Wii or PS3. But SWOS 95/96 plays OK, strangely.

This cracked version works:
http://chomikuj.pl/misaki/gry/adf/se...soccer+96+-+97

Good luck
But the link was for 96/97 I think, cant make it work
Tried another 95/96, but still that horrible sound when calling out the manager to change the formation
N-Ed is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 00:16   #6
gingerbeardman
Registered User
gingerbeardman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 56
Hmm, strange. The 96/97 from the link works for me.

How far do you get with it?
gingerbeardman is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 10:22   #7
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
Maybe I haven't got enough hardware to run the game? I think it said something in the line of "Return failcode 20".

What are the hardware req for 96/97? I have an A500 with the "normal" memory expansion, maybe thats just not enough.

Have anybody else had problems with the sound issue, mentioned above, in the 95/96 or Euro edition?
N-Ed is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 13:49   #8
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,556
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
this might help

http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?...occer+&x=0&y=0
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 14:39   #9
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
Yeah I've seen that page before, but I can't really tell if this game works with my A500... Thank anyway

But I guess my question is: Has someone here played 96/97 on an A500 with extra memory?
N-Ed is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 17:22   #10
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 511
It was written for any Amiga with 1MB RAM. So if your memory extension is working properly, it should run fine.
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 18:13   #11
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
Ok, that sounds promising. How can I tell if the mem is working properly? Loaded workbench, but all I can see is "885416 free memory"...

Thanks in advance

Hmmm with that "much" free memory i guess the ram expansion is working... Still no luck with this darn game.

Last edited by N-Ed; 23 February 2011 at 18:26.
N-Ed is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 19:31   #12
tuki_cat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Posts: 17
This is a very unscientific way to check if the extra ram is working but.......

If you load up Lemmings before the intro starts a splash screen appears that tells you if the extra ram has been detected!
tuki_cat is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 20:08   #13
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
That's a splendid idea, will check later tonight.

Thanks, I like the unconventional ways
N-Ed is offline  
Old 24 February 2011, 08:29   #14
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
Splash said, "additional ram found and is being used"(or something in that line). So I've got the extra ram, but it's still a no go for 96/97, and 95/96 still has that horrible sound issue
N-Ed is offline  
Old 24 February 2011, 11:50   #15
tuki_cat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Posts: 17
I'm using UAE4all on the dingoo handheld, I was using kickstart 1.3 from the A500 and it wouldn't run. However, it runs fun with kickstart 2.04 (A500+ I think), this might be the problem. Seeing as 96' - 97' came late in the Amiga's lifetime it may not have been backwards compatible.

Does anyone know for sure if this is the case?

Last edited by tuki_cat; 24 February 2011 at 12:20.
tuki_cat is offline  
Old 24 February 2011, 13:40   #16
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 62
Posts: 3,925
It runs on WinUAE with the 1.3 kick, HOL says it's ECS/OCS, so I guess it should work.

I'm not sure how the HxC SD Emulator works. Can you load in different kickstarts or is it hardcoded?
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 February 2011, 13:46   #17
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
It runs on WinUAE with the 1.3 kick, HOL says it's ECS/OCS, so I guess it should work.

I'm not sure how the HxC SD Emulator works. Can you load in different kickstarts or is it hardcoded?
HxC does not care which kickstart chip I run with. But to be on the safe side i'm thinking about buying either a 3.1 Chip for my 500 or maybe just buy a 1200 right away. Hopefully a 1200 will appear here on the swedish market shortly and at an ok price. I'll try with WinUAE when I get home, I could not start it on an 500 last time around, but I'll try it again...

Last edited by N-Ed; 24 February 2011 at 15:37.
N-Ed is offline  
Old 24 February 2011, 21:00   #18
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
Can make the game run with 2.04 and 3.1 in UAE but not with 1.3, am I missing something?
N-Ed is offline  
Old 25 February 2011, 09:32   #19
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 62
Posts: 3,925
If you let me know which adf you're using, i'll give it a try.
Arnie is offline  
Old 25 February 2011, 10:10   #20
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbeardman View Post
I've also had a nightmare with this. It's the same problem when trying to run SWOS 96/97 on UAE on Wii or PS3. But SWOS 95/96 plays OK, strangely.

This cracked version works:
http://chomikuj.pl/misaki/gry/adf/se...soccer+96+-+97

Good luck
Tried it with this one for example, can check which else when I get home from work. Right now I'm happy that my company hasn't blocked this site, YET

E.A.B.
N-Ed is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sensible World Of Soccer 96/97 atchoo support.Games 7 12 February 2012 15:13
PC WORLD calls sensible soccer the best soccer games of all times! pbareges Retrogaming General Discussion 11 28 June 2010 09:25
Sensible World Of Soccer mai HOL data problems 33 04 April 2009 13:06
Sensible World of Soccer 96/97 kristiant request.Old Rare Games 5 25 November 2006 17:13
Sensible World of Soccer 94/95 Sheri request.Old Rare Games 2 11 April 2002 17:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09101 seconds with 13 queries