English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 December 2009, 20:05   #1
clueless
Guessing my way round
clueless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: England
Posts: 159
a600 ram expansion problem

I have a Marpet Developments: M604A that came with my 600 when i bought it. I must admit I was fiddling and removed the 4 little ram boards. One of the plastic clip holder thingys broke, and since it hasnt worked. I was playing around again today and found that applying pressure to the board in the brocken socket i can get it to work, so i just need to secure it at that angle. Looking at it, gluing directly to the 8 chips on the board behind it - something like 1 blob of glue on the front of each chip would do it. Is there any issues with this? Would super glue do it? is that a big no-no? Epoxy better?
Thoughts?

Edit: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/marpet604
clueless is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 20:22   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 7,997
Cable ties?

Don't use too much epoxy in case the simms get oxidized in the future and you need to remove them to clean them out.
Jope is online now  
Old 23 December 2009, 20:26   #3
clueless
Guessing my way round
clueless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: England
Posts: 159
Cable ties wouldnt work. There would be no heat problems or anything like that with epoxy? it would be directly on the front of the chips
clueless is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 20:36   #4
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 64
Posts: 786
I would think that fitting the ram up to the one that has the broken tab and then using a hot glue gun on both sides of the memory stick that is loose would do the trick, allow it to cool and fit any other memory sticks and then possibly ensure there is no chance of movement by adding 2 strips of tape around the board covering ends of the memory (avoiding the actual connector).

From what I have also read, these boards can work loose from the 600, that is one of the reasons I never got one.
Allen1 is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 21:08   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 7,997
I used to have a Marpet, didn't experience too many problems with it. I sold the A600 + the board to Photon, who I believe had some stability issues and swapped the marpet out.

Hot glue is a good option to hold the stick down, and it isn't permanent.
Jope is online now  
Old 24 December 2009, 09:06   #6
clueless
Guessing my way round
clueless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: England
Posts: 159
Thanks for your help guys, going to attempt this today.
clueless is offline  
Old 24 December 2009, 10:04   #7
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 64
Posts: 786
In my previous post I mean glue both ends of the memory stick ie where the locking clips are or in the case of the broken one was Only do that on the duff holder and wrap some tape all around the memory and circuit board for stability so the memory stick can't move, each tape would be at ends of the memory holder and go over all 4 sticks and around the board similar to using a couple of cable ties but a lot thinner.
Allen1 is offline  
Old 24 December 2009, 14:30   #8
clueless
Guessing my way round
clueless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: England
Posts: 159
glued it and it works. wow, managed to fix something!
clueless is offline  
Old 24 December 2009, 17:08   #9
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 64
Posts: 786
I am pleased you got it sorted, the newer versions of the memory holder had metal retainers fitted and stopped this sort of thing from happening. Some folk would have just said it is broken and not even attempt to sort the problem out, its good to see that in places like this we are all willing to give things a go, unless the repair really does need professional help. That sounds just like me ie I need professional help
Allen1 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recommended A600 ram expansion psygnosis Hardware mods 7 12 June 2013 03:10
A603 RAM expansion for A600 d0pefish MarketPlace 0 22 July 2011 12:11
WTB: A600 1mb ram expansion PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 4 10 February 2010 22:23
FS: A600 1mb RAM expansion €20 Smiley MarketPlace 6 20 September 2009 23:17
Looking for A600 RAM Expansion Fingerlickin_B MarketPlace 9 10 November 2007 09:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07126 seconds with 15 queries